We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #154 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were extremely small with very little space to move around. Thank goodness we aren't big people. The bathrooms are definitely for 1 small person and the shower arrangement was not very efficient as there ended up being water everywhere. Our room was an inside room so no view to speak of but we were on the quiet side of the building. Decor was modern and clean. Loved the artwork throughout the hotel. Staff was excellent, very helpful. I would say it was pricey for the size of the room. Our family booked 3 rooms. Best thing about the hotel was its location right in the middle of Old town and walking distance to everything. Very convenient to shopping, groceries, restaurants and main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We appreciate your comments and were happy to learn that overall you enjoyed the experience and that our staff lived up to your expectations.
Indeed some of our rooms are small but for those who require more space we suggest to book a superior room against a small surcharge.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    377
    163
    61
    47
See reviews for
90
460
73
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in a huge room overlooking Dam Square - but the size and view were the best bits.

The room we stayed in wasn't fully double glazed so the noise from the street below woke me every night, particularly the last night when lorries and cranes were dismantling the Winter Market at 4am!

Amenities are average, would have preferred milk sachets to the powdered creamer for tea and coffee, also the duvet was very thin and clumpy so we were both cold (couldn't find a blanket). Bathroom was good with a huge bath and non-steam mirror. The TV also seemed to have a good selection of channels with some fairly recent films.

Staff seemed friendly and let us borrow an umbrella when it was raining.

Overall an average hotel but the location is so good! Just would have liked a little more sleep...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I regret to hear that you were disturbed in your sleep by the noise caused by the dismantling of the
Wintermarket during the night. All our rooms are 100% sound-proff but unfortunately the exceptional noise of cranes and trucks in front of your room cannot be filtered competely out.
Usually the climae control can heat the room up to a comfortable level but if you would have ringed the Front-Office desk they would have brought additional blankets to your room.
I hope to see you back on another occasion and hope that that occasion will not coincide with the dismantling of the Wintermarket again.
With best regards

Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Being a 4 star hotel, we expected alot more. On arrival they demanded a 100 euro deposit, as we had scrimped and saved every penny for our holiday we didn't have a spare 100 euros and my partner did not have money on his debit card, they then blocked 50 euros on my debit card which I'm still unable to withdraw. The room on first glance looked great, but without looking too hard we noticed the walls in the bathroom were completely filthy next to the toilet, the wall next to the tv was very dirty also. Whilst having a nap in the room (with the do not disturb sign on) we were rudley awoken by a loud knocking at the door with the man demanding we answered as we had been smoking in the room. We had not smoked in the room at all and they didn't seem too apologetic when they had realised their mistake. Amsterdam is a wonderful place and we hope to return soon but we will certainly not be booking with this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emmafxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
First of all I apologize that you were disturbed while having a Do Not Disturb sign and no apologies were made. As some guests seem to believe that they can smoke cigarettes or worse soft-drugs when they turn that sign on, we sometimes interupt if the smell of smoke is in that area.
As I do not know which room number you had I annot investigate what happened so that the bathroom was not spotless. We are very keen on cleanliness so this should not have happened and I regret the inconvenience caused by this.
I regret that we shall not have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a pricey hotel, when you look at the rooms. We stayed in the double room and there was hardly space for us to move, leave placing our bags. The only good thing about the hotel is it's location. Very close to all the tram stops, the Dam Square and the Central Station. The Wintermarket was just outside the hotel, which was awesome!

Room Tip: Check out their foursqaure specials when you check in. We got free breakfast for our checkin on four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arorareshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We regret that we did not meet your expectations and are sorry for this. You mentioned that the rooms are pricey but rates vary according to occupation and are not more expensive than the comparable hotels in the vicinity. And of course our location is one of the best in town.
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The lowest price category rooms for two were really small. Was surprised for the price we paid. The decor and amenities are quite modern. However, the lack of cleanliness ruined it a bit for me. Cups for the tea/ coffee station were dirty, grime in the corners of the chairs, hairs in the linen and towels which weren't mine, and room service didn't even bother to wipe the floors (one of the reasons why I choose the hotel was 'no carpet' so it's cleaner...).
Staff was nice and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Cleanliness is something we value very high and I wonder what went wrong with your room. I sincerely apologize that we failed and will ask you to contact me about further details (Room number and dates of your stay) so that I can investigate this matter. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations .
Yours isncerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed there for few nights with a group of friends in July. It faces the Dam Square and right opposite to the department store De Bijenkorf. What could I say? It couldn't be more convenient, for sightseeing, shopping and even restaurants in Negen Straatjes are within a stone's throw away. Staff were all very friendly. I could seriously consider stay there again when I go to Amsterdam next time!

Room Tip: Worth every penny to have bigger room if you're stay for few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Although your stay was already over 6 months ago, I still value your review and am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in amsterdam. We certainly would like to welcome you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night during an overnight layover. The rooms were clean and satisfactory, and the hotel was situated in the heart of Amsterdam. Some of the staff were rude and unhelpful. My experience might not be characteristic of stays at this hotel, but it was unpleasant enough to cause me to book elsewhere for my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It was good to learn that you found our property good value for money but I was amazed that you had an unplesant experience with our staff. I have send you a request for further details but have not received any answer yet. I sincerely apologize that some of the staff was rude which is not what most of the reviewers experience fortunately. I regret that you will not return to our property in the future.
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,828 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing