We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #152 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here around Christmas 2013. We were a short walk from the train station and in a great location. Shops close by, the Christmas Markets were on, and just on our door step! Lots of tasty food and drink most of the day and evening.
We were able to book the canal trip on one of the evenings (through the hotel) and it was great. We walked about 15 minutes and were right on the canal.
The room, although small, was warm, had good faciliaties and was clean. The staff were all really helpful and pleasant. Would stay there again if we found ourselves in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will get it. Ours was a corner room and really quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
The Wintermarket was certainly a great success and we were pleased that you enjoyed is as much as you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit but cannot guarantee that there will be a Wintermarket again next year as our authorities seem reluctant to grant a permission again.
Yours isncerely

Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    379
    164
    62
    47
See reviews for
92
466
73
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited this hotel for a break for our honeymoon, the hotel was brilliantly placed for getting around Amsterdam, the bed was comfy and the room was immaculately clean and well presented.The shower wasn't great but for a large hotel it was more than adequate.

Our room was on the first floor and looked out over Damrak and onto Dam Square, there was no excessive noise as was quoted on some of the reviews I had read.

I hadn't visited the Dam for years but was pleasantly surprised at how clean and tidy it was kept, it puts London to shame!!

Would definitely visit this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I was happy to learn that we contributed to a pleasant honeymoon journey and you enjoyed your stay. You stated that Amsterdam is cleaner than London. I just returned from a business trip to London but do not agree with you. In the areas I visited the London streets were also very clean.
We hope to welcome you again in the future

Yours sincerely

Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just back from spending two nights here and was very impressed. The staff were friendly and accommodating allowing us to book in four hours early and looking after our bags after we'd checked out so we could see some final sites. Location is fantastic, literally a five minute walk from the Royal Palace and within easy walking range of other sites. The restaurant was pricey but worth it as the food was excellent and the service friendly and quick. The room was comfortable and clean and we could barely hear the trams outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We thank you for your review and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future

Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great location for all things Amsterdam. Just a few blocks from the train station, plenty of metro stops, just a great place for getting around. And everything Amsterdam is known for is easily within walking distance. Area around hotel is safe for families. I would definitely stay here again or recommend to family or friends. Just don't bring any open food into the hotel. We came in eating a sandwich and standing next to the desk clerk was the manager on duty and he came unglued. Blocked our way before we could get through the door and just about threw us out of the place. We went outside and finished. We came back in and asked the girl at the desk what the deal was and she said that we can bring food to our rooms, we just can't be eating it on our way there! Other than that, great location, good place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unlimitedworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. As to the matter of bringing open food to the hotel, we had to take measures and ask our guests to consume open food outside the hotel. This was certainly not the case with you but some guests in the past came in with strong smelling food and others spoiled it in the hotel so that was incommodating other guests. We count on your understanding.
We hope to see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were extremely small with very little space to move around. Thank goodness we aren't big people. The bathrooms are definitely for 1 small person and the shower arrangement was not very efficient as there ended up being water everywhere. Our room was an inside room so no view to speak of but we were on the quiet side of the building. Decor was modern and clean. Loved the artwork throughout the hotel. Staff was excellent, very helpful. I would say it was pricey for the size of the room. Our family booked 3 rooms. Best thing about the hotel was its location right in the middle of Old town and walking distance to everything. Very convenient to shopping, groceries, restaurants and main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We appreciate your comments and were happy to learn that overall you enjoyed the experience and that our staff lived up to your expectations.
Indeed some of our rooms are small but for those who require more space we suggest to book a superior room against a small surcharge.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in a huge room overlooking Dam Square - but the size and view were the best bits.

The room we stayed in wasn't fully double glazed so the noise from the street below woke me every night, particularly the last night when lorries and cranes were dismantling the Winter Market at 4am!

Amenities are average, would have preferred milk sachets to the powdered creamer for tea and coffee, also the duvet was very thin and clumpy so we were both cold (couldn't find a blanket). Bathroom was good with a huge bath and non-steam mirror. The TV also seemed to have a good selection of channels with some fairly recent films.

Staff seemed friendly and let us borrow an umbrella when it was raining.

Overall an average hotel but the location is so good! Just would have liked a little more sleep...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I regret to hear that you were disturbed in your sleep by the noise caused by the dismantling of the
Wintermarket during the night. All our rooms are 100% sound-proff but unfortunately the exceptional noise of cranes and trucks in front of your room cannot be filtered competely out.
Usually the climae control can heat the room up to a comfortable level but if you would have ringed the Front-Office desk they would have brought additional blankets to your room.
I hope to see you back on another occasion and hope that that occasion will not coincide with the dismantling of the Wintermarket again.
With best regards

Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Being a 4 star hotel, we expected alot more. On arrival they demanded a 100 euro deposit, as we had scrimped and saved every penny for our holiday we didn't have a spare 100 euros and my partner did not have money on his debit card, they then blocked 50 euros on my debit card which I'm still unable to withdraw. The room on first glance looked great, but without looking too hard we noticed the walls in the bathroom were completely filthy next to the toilet, the wall next to the tv was very dirty also. Whilst having a nap in the room (with the do not disturb sign on) we were rudley awoken by a loud knocking at the door with the man demanding we answered as we had been smoking in the room. We had not smoked in the room at all and they didn't seem too apologetic when they had realised their mistake. Amsterdam is a wonderful place and we hope to return soon but we will certainly not be booking with this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emmafxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
First of all I apologize that you were disturbed while having a Do Not Disturb sign and no apologies were made. As some guests seem to believe that they can smoke cigarettes or worse soft-drugs when they turn that sign on, we sometimes interupt if the smell of smoke is in that area.
As I do not know which room number you had I annot investigate what happened so that the bathroom was not spotless. We are very keen on cleanliness so this should not have happened and I regret the inconvenience caused by this.
I regret that we shall not have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 368 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#97 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,869 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing