We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #152 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Before our visit to the De Roode Leeuw I read the reviews on Tripadvisor. I agree with some comments our room at times was noisy even though we had double glazing and the windows were shut and the dip in the bed didn't make for a very comfortable nights sleep, however those things aside we did have a wonderful 2 nights stay at this Hotel. All members of staff were pleasant and very helpful whether on reception or in the restaurant. The room was a little on the small side but we had everything we needed and the room and bathroom had obviously been recently refurbished. The location near the Dam Square is excellent for any trips you may want to make and the trams stopped right outside the door. We didn't use the trams as everything we wanted to see and do was on the doorstep and within walking distance. We found a wonderful bar/pub called De Wildermanns which sold some fantastic ales and for those of you who like your beer is a must visit.
So the location of this Hotel is fantastic and it is busy outside, so don't complain that it is noisy it is only to be expected. We paid a visit to The Rembrandt Museum and enjoyed that very much. All in all I can recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 108 and is at the side of the hotel, maybe not the ideal room if you are after a good v...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Your comments were appreciated and reflecting the reality . I was pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you discovered the pub bearing by name although there is no relationship.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed there 3 nights at easter and it was very comfortable. We received an upgrade in the junior suite which was "wow"! Next to the hotel was a fun fair but we didn't notice much noise. Staff was very kind and helpful. It is located in the centre and close to everything you want to do in A'dam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

You were lucky to receive an upgrade to a Junior Suite which made your stay still more enjoyable. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam at our property.
We hope this will be a reason for you to return in the future
With best regards

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed here for a three night break and the location is the hotels best feature. The rooms that we had were small and basic. They were clean and modern but the room was really too small. The bathroom had a shower and toilet and the wash hand basin was in the bedroom as the shower room was too small for it! The bed had a good quality mattress but the bed sloped inwards from both sides so we ended up both in the middle of the bed! Not great for a good nights sleep. The room had air con which was great. There was a lot of noise outside at night which impacted on sleep but we were very central so can't complain about this. The hotel has the slowest ever lift! Amsterdam still as beautiful as ever and don't regret booking here as got a good deal but wouldn't stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

A historical building has some disadvantages such as rooms in all different sizes and a slow lift and one room with the wash basin outside the bathroom, which I understand was the room you occupied . But we do have superior rooms of a larger size which have also a bathtub and an espresso machine. We regret that you won't use us again and apologize that we could not meet your expectations
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here from April 11th - 13th in room 103, perfect view and really lovely room which was spotless, it was close to all the cafés which was the only reason for us going to Amsterdam in the first place.
Staff were great and checked us in 5 hours earlier which was a bonus as we arrived at 9.30am and our room wasn't supposed to be ready til 2pm.
McDonald's right next door and KFC for all your midnight feasts.
Overall the hotel location was perfect, room was fabulous no complaints & we will deffo be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahlouisesmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

You came to Amsterdam for the café's and indeed our city has a lot of them. From traditional "brown"café's to more trendy ones. it was a pleasure for me to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and I hope to see you back in the future\yours sincerely

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was much smaller than I had expected but being in the center of the city its to be expected. The only thing that we did not like were the beds. Coming from America we are used to box springs and firm mattresses. The mattress was very soft and as it was really two twin beds put together my wife and spent the night rolling into the center of the bed. She had no complaints as she saw it as bringing us closer together. LOL. I on the other hand felt the quality of the bed everyday when we woke in my back. Other than that it was nice and I had no other complaints. Regardless of the bed, I would probably stay here again if I returned as it was conveniently located close to everything you would want to do in Amsterdam.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Edmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Location is really the plus for this hotel. Rooms are tiny but has been renovated recently. Id you don't plan to stay in yourroom during your visit, this hotel is for you. Staff is nice and very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank CBO06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We thank you for your review. Indeed, some of our comfort rooms are not very big but for those who want a bigger room we offer our superiors as alternative against a small surcharge.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcome you again
With best regards

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. We had two meals enjoyable meals during our stay and the wine was very reasonable for a central city hotel. The location is excellent and is only a short walk from central station - there was no need for a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and its location and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#67 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#95 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,887 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £127 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing