We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel very well situated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #155 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel, situated in the center of Amsterdam, close to all interesting places.
We took a superior room and for European standards, the room is large and very cozy.
A gret place ti stay when you are in Amsterdam.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Annath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I was happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay at our property and the central location, only 10 steps from Dam Square.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just a short walk down from the station and on Dam Square this hotel is in a great location. It's clean and functional but not luxurious. Despite booking several weeks earlier and requesting a double superior room we were allocated a twin room on arrival that was small and if superior I would hate to see the economy version. We did however get an upgrade for our remaining two nights to a junior suite overlooking the square, which did conform to the superior description that we had booked. Very clean throughout with an excellent bathroom, security is also very good. Overall an enjoyable stay once we had got over the disappointment of having our request for a double room ignored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Unfortunately it is not always possible for us to give a double bedded room, when this is requested. That's why we always mention that this type is only available according to availability. Unfortunately some bookingsites forget to mention this. Nevertheless, I was happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could fulfill your wishes by upgrading you to a Junior Suite. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
With best regards
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

a clean caring hotel right on t e edge of Dam Square but well insulated from the noise of the street below. Friendly staff welcome you to their lovely hotel and look after your comfort. this was our second stay and they welcomed us back and we were so pleased top be back it was like a homecoming.

when i return, as i know i will, i will stay again and feel at home

Room Tip: we had the comfort rooms which were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsaybrewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that a third visit will follow soon.
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located on the main street running from Amsterdam Central Station which is a 5 minute walk away, the hotel is perfectly sited for exploring the City. The rooms are reasonably sized with a comfortable bed. The free wi-fi is particularly welcome.

Despite being on the main street, there was no noticeable street noise in the room despite being at the front of the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Indeed, our location is the best in town and Amsterdam is a wonderful city.
We hope that you will plan another visit in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Amsterdam--De Roode Leeuw. We had a spotless, superior room with plenty of space, a very nice bathroom, minibar (really cold), comfortable beds and a fabulous breakfast. The hotel staff was always helpful and polite. The hotel has tram passes available for sale (you don't have to hunt around in the shops) and lots of suggestions for things to do. The location is almost at the Dam, which is the center of the old city, and just across the street from the best known department stores in town. We asked for, and received a room near the back which was away from street noise. Close to ATM machines, tram stops, restaurants--what more could you ask for? We would stay here again and hope to have the opportunity to do so soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back to avoid noise from construction near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are flattered by your nice comments but are still trying to improve. As from september we shall have our glasfiber network in place allowing our guests to enjoy a still faster internet connection for free. This will allow them to view movies streaming on their mobile devices and a lot more.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The economy rooms are very small, but nice and clean. Our room was facing the backyard so no street noise from Damrak. The service in the lobby was very good. And the location of the hotel is great, just next to Dam Square!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matkailija1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Many thanks for your review. Indeed the economy rooms are small but that's why those rooms are also the cheapest we are having. Nevertheless, the equipment is the same as you will find in the other rooms with the expception of the coffee machines and make-up mirrors in the superior rooms. We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and sights to see in the heart of the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We got a room with 2 single beds and it was clean and quiet. We went for King's Day and the staff was kind enough to give us a quiet room so we could sleep at night and not be disturbed by the noise outside and we did sleep well. The room itself and the bathroom were quiet small and tight but for the money and location it was a good deal. The only drawback was that showering in the bathroom inevitably got water all over the floor since there was no shower curtain or door between the shower and rest of the bathroom.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not on the street side because there is heavy traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We appreciate your comments. In fact some of the bathrooms are getting quiet wet when showering and we try to find a solution for that. King's day is the busiest day in Amsterdam with a huge crowd visiting our city but outside that period there is no heavy traffic in front of our hotel besides the streetcars. Due to the double glazing even the rooms at the front are quiet provided that the windows are closed well.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 372 in Amsterdam
677 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#94 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,905 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £124 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing