We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #165 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was extremely small just room to walk around the bed and struggled too pent the shower room door as the bed was about a foot away from it. The hotel itself was clean,the staff polite and a great location. Stayed on the fourth floor, sounded like a few children running back and forth on the roof above.
Air con smelt musty when it was put on. Powdered milk for tea was not very nice. All in all a reasonable stay, but would have been better if the room was a big bigger.

Room Tip: The room was not as shown online, much smaller than expected, not much room to unpack clothes, no dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We regret that the size of your room somewhat contributed to your stay being not as perect as it should be. May we suggest that you book a room of another type we are offering in the future. The difference in rate is not that big and if you need more space we are able to provide it and if you prefer liquid milk with the coffee maker in your room instead of powder there is no problem. Just call our front-office and they will be happy to bring you some milk cups or even fresh milk from the restaurant.
We hope to see you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my 21st birthday. Great location for our first visit, within walking distance from the train station to the red light district, coffee shops, shopping centres and fast food chains as it's right by Dam square but no noise complaints. The room was spacious and clean, overall a good hotel and the central location of Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw gave us more time to see the city and made a great base for in between all the touristy stuff. ***

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RAWright_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

It is true that the location of our property is unbeatable right on the spot where Amsterdam was founded centuries ago. It is with pleasure that we learned that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on the occacion of another birthday in the future

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 4 nights in early May. This hotel had an excellent location off of Dam Square, within close walking distance to the train station, the Anne Frank Museum, and the Red Light District. The room was on the small side (as most rooms in Europe) but was clean and comfortable and fine for our stay. Wi-fi was complimentary. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, which disappointed us at first, but ultimately worked in our favor since there were some amazing breakfast places nearby. We would stay here again, no question, for its location and value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, breakfast is not included in all rates but , like you mentioned it, there are plenty of possibilities within some steps, from Starbucks to Delifrance.
We look forward top welcoming you soon again nd thank you for this review.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was my second time staying here and was a little anxious when i noticed the building works taking place outside my room window... however, no noise and no disruption.

The room i had, was clearly upgraded in comparison to my last visit. The bedroom was warm and quiet, though smaller than the last one i had. The bathroom had been modernized and was superb.

The staff as per last time, were great and friendly.

All i can really say past this is, the location is simply superb with being so close to the train station (4mins walk), pubs & restuarants and general entertainment in the area and as such is great value for money as a result.

Room Tip: pay just a little bit more for a higher level room, it makes a big difference in space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

All our rooms have double windows so even during the works which took place, you could be assured of a good sleep at night without noise.. The upgrade of our street is finished in front of our hotel so there are no works anymore.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Partner booked this as a birthday treat. First time I have been to Amsterdam. He requested a room with a view, and did we get one! Own double balcony above the restaurant, overlooking Dam and Dam Square. When windows were shut, no noise could be heard. Was nice to stand on balcony and people watch.

Room was massive, and very beautiful. Wooden floors, nice firm bed and bedding. TV, Coffee Maker, Alarm clock with iphone dock, Internet access. Funky door controls to add Do Not Disturb signs. Massive bathroom, with wonderful shower and bath. Only disaapointment was no light above the sink so dark when trying to shave.

Staff were very friendly and helpful (apart from one guy, who came across quite miserable). Would definitely recommend and look forward to staying there again sometme. Same room please!!! :-)

Room Tip: Room 101, was amazing! Great view, noisy if window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobPG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

It was a pleasure to learn that you had a nice stay at our property. Apparantely you had one of the Junior Suites at the front so it makes it easy to figure out for me which one needs more lights above the sink. I apologize that one employee looked miserable. We do our utmost to give a happy time to our guests but also to our staff so I hope next time he will look happier.
We look forward to your next visit
With best regards
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I visited Amsterdam last month for a conference. The hotel's main draw is its location. It's next to Dam Square and the shopping belt at damrak & a short walk to the red light district.

I had a standard room with a king (actually queen) size bed. That cost me €205/night. The room was reasonable in size which resulted in a very small toilet. So much so that the bathroom door could not be opened completely with the bed in the way. There was no shower door or curtain which meant the toilet was flooded every time I had a bath. Thankfully I was alone. If my kids were with me, I dread to imagine the state of the bathroom after they finish with it.

The TV screen was too small for the distance it was placed from the bed. Otherwise the room was well equipped with a minibar & safe.

Most interestingly, the room I had was sloping! I had a sense after being in the room for a day. So I took a can of coke from the minibar and placed it on the floor at one end of the room. True enough, it rolled quite briskly to the other side.

The lift was small and extremely slow. I guess that is to be expected in an old hotel like this one. The breakfast of scrambled eggs bacon, cold meats, cereals, yoghurt juice and toast was adequate but the same everyday.

The jewel in this establishment is the staff. Courteous, polite, helpful. Always with a smiling face. They do their best with what they have.

I guess I would consider returning to this hotel the next time I visit Amsterdam.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank RedDotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

103 years of history also show in our building. Although all our safety and IT equipment in the back-of-the-house is state-of -the art, the building shows its history. For decades after the opening in 1911 our guests had to share bathrooms on each floor until it was decided that private bathrooms were a "must". Giving each room a private bathroom must have been a headache for the architect with the result that some rooms have small and some huge bathrooms.
One lift is also a restriction we are facing. We were one of the first properties to install flatscreen TV's but the size of TV's for consumers has grown since so in September of this year, all rooms will reveive new flat screen TV's of a bigger size together with quicker internet connections and a better coverage and a huge number of TV channels. This will remain FREE of charge.
Your experience with the sloping floor amused me, although it is a serious matter. Sloping floors are very common in Amsterdam as the houses are standing on (wouden) poles in a swamp underground. This is why you will notice many houses in Amsterdam leaning against others. I was happy to learn that the staff made a great impression and I hope we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The bed was soooo comfy. The location was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the one young man on the day shift (forgot his name unfortunately). Pricey but probably no more so than other hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We thank you for your review and were happy that you enjoyed the bed. Good location is one thing but a good nightrest another. I shall forwrd your complients to our staff
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#88 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,976 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £126 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing