We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #104 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay here while on a "city break" to Amsterdam. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast plentiful. I would like to know more about the history of this interesting old building.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read about your positive experiences at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

I will share your comments with my staff who will be delighted to hear that yet another guests is satisfied with their stay. I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    1,010
    327
    78
    56
See reviews for
251
846
95
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Excellent hotel, we had a very clean and comfortable modern room. Our double room had a huge bed and we slept very well with no traffic noise disturbance despite being opposite a busy motorway. Very nice bathroom with rain shower that was so good it made it hard to get out of! Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also excellent with a large selection of cereals, fresh fuits, cold meats and cheese, cooked breakfast and pastries. Breakfast was open from 6:30 - 12:00 which was great for late risers. The hotel is only a short walk away from Overamstel metro station where you can travel to Amsterdam Centraal in about 10 minutes and you are able to buy single, 24hr or 48hr passes at the hotel reception. If returning late to the hotel a taxi was around 25eur from the city centre. Over all this hotel had everything we needed and was very good value for money. The only disadvantage is being far from the city center but it was worth it relative to how much cheaper it was to central hotels we found and i would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

Next to that I was pleased to read that your room was up to your expectations. It is one of most important aspects of the hotel, that our guests get a good night sleep and that the room is clean.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed here during a visit to Amsterdam in October 2012. We requested a good view (we where able to watch the Marathon road race one morning from our bedroom window) and large room which we where given and this was clean,modern and very comfortable.
This hotel isn't in the centre of Amsterdam but is easy enough to reach on the tube service from Central station.
The Sauna and steam room are available free of charge and are also clean and modern but its a pity the hotel didn't have a pool and jacuzzi which you could relax in.
If you require breakfast you have to pay extra,it isn't cheap but is of excellent quality and a very large variety of choices. Probably only worth the money if like us you have a good appetite in the morning.
Overall a very pleasent stay in a comfortable,clean and affordable four star hotel. If you dont mind staying a little outside the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a nice view,either to the front or over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffofbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our services towards our guests.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation if fairly closeby and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even Vespa scooters.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffets. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffets in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

From Schipol it's one stop to Zuid station (3 Euro) then 2 stops on metro (get unlimited pass from tourist info) to Overamstel (very easy). A brisk 5 min walk or 10 min with luggage to hotel. You can see it in distance from Overamstel. Hotel is clean, beds v comfy and a great shower.

Good selection for breakfast (cereal, cooked breakfast, cold meats, Pastries etc) and kept us going until afternoon. I thought the metro was quicker than tram to centraal station but you can also get tram 25 from hotel and gives you more flexibility than metro. I would definitely stay here again.

Tips: get unlimited pass (metro, bus, tram) approx 20 Euro for a 4 day pass from tourist info at Schiphol.
This doesn't include train from airport though but saves any hassle later. Much cheaper than taxi. Give yourself 45 mins - hour hotel to airport door to door. Also the offline Tripadvisor city guide was v handy!

Helpful?
7 Thank BU7NS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read your experiences where up to your expectations.

Every day we strive to serve our guests even better. Your review will definitely motivate my staff. Next to that I was pleased to read about your positive experience about our breakfast buffet.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashdod
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Excellent hotel from the point of view of comfort, room, clearness, sleep, TV programs, Wi-Fi internet, restortan, breakfast, staff.
Disadvantage - far from the city center. You need walk for abour 15 min and travel or by metro or by tramway the same time.
The hotel is good solution for tourist group and car traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey_MAshdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our services towards our guests.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation if fairly closeby and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even Vespa scooters.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Clean and comfortable without being anything special. Breakfast was very good, a wide choice of cooked food, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. The restaurant is very good and not over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Sharing your experiences enables us to improve our services towards our guests. We are located in the outskirts of Amsterdam but with several transportation options it is very easy to access Amsterdam.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffets. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffets in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

An OK average hotel.

Had a very disappointing experience with the sauna room, which is advertised on the in-house TV channel, but was not even turned on when I wanted to use it.

Otherwise quite OK, but nothing to write home about.

Restaurant and bar OK, although the Wild Boar steak was not worth the approx. 25 EUR. All in all, convenient because the hotel is so close to the Amsterdam RAI for the trade shows and such. Other than that, nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Sharing your experiences enables us to improve our services towards our guests. We are located in the outskirts of Amsterdam but with several transportation options it is very easy to access Amsterdam.

Currently our hotel has a gold certificate in Green Key. To preserve energy we turn on the sauna on request. During your next visit at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel if you would like to use the sauna, please contact the reception and they will be happy to answer any questions.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam aan de Amstel.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing