We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New ground floor is a major improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #103 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now (for business), and I'm a happy returning customer!

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, one of the reasons I keep coming back :).

Nicely decorated rooms with a lovely shower.

Restaurant serves good food, which is a nice plus too.

The ground floor just had an update, and I must say it is stylish. Nice job!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our renovation of the ground floor has been completed. We have introduced a new and unique welcoming concept and a new restaurant concept. I hope to welcome you again in our new restaurant: FLOORrestaurant lounge.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited Amsterdam last year during August and stayed in Mercure for 3 nights. The stay was very comfortable and the location of the hotel was ideal. The staff were very humble and professional. I would like visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the city but is a nice walk to the metro station ( a little over ten minutes), from which you can get to just about anywhere. The service was wonderful. We forgot our adapter in the room and they mailed it to us! They also honored our request for a room facing the canal side. It was clean and quiet, and away from the bustle of downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014 and found hotel clean and comfy, though hotel lobby is under renovation these days. Staff was courteous and helpful. Could check in at 2 pm only though I reached hotel at 10 am. Waited in the restaurant till that time. Hotel is well connected to central amsterdam through Overamstel Metro station which is at a walking distance. Though coming back to hotel after midnight is not possible via Metro as Metro runs till midnight only. The recoruse available is Bus No. 533 which runs every 1/2 hour till six in the morning from central station. You can catch the same from the bus stop situated in front of the night club "Escape"/opposite "Smokey's" as well. The Metro Ticket is valid for Bus and Tram as well. Hotel's Restaurant is open till midnight and serves breakfast 6 to 10 on weekdays and 6 to 12 on weekends. That's again is good to catch some more sleep after late night clubbing on weekends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karan_Manoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel - everything was wonderful. The staff are very friendly. Good location with easy access to the metro. Very clean hotel with outstanding breakfast served until 12! Nice and quiet for an undisturbed sleep. Good value for money - highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank catherine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently with 5 of my friends, we were in amsterdam to celebrate my friends 30th birthday, we checked into the hotel on the friday night and unfortunately the member of staff that dealt with us behind the desk was extremely rude and unhelpful, however the rest of the staff we spoke to over the weekend were very polite. We stayed in 2 triple rooms, one of which was very clean and comfortable, however the second triple room was not catered for 3 people, instead it had 2 single beds and a fold out single bed which was extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast in the hotel was very nice but overpriced for 22.50 euros. Ups and downs with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCorbett86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear sir/miss,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was so happy the view and the staff very good and clean i advice every body to book this hotel i love it its near the river and high i love it and the rooms are clean and big enough and the food is good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Mahmoud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,899 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,963 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,998 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £67 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing