We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #115 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here 2 days on my trip and here is my review about this hotel
- Big room (double) and big view from the window
- But outside have nothing to play, very boring in afternoon and its also far from the center
-Good breakfast buffet, the salami is very delicious for me
- The reception is good at many language and know how to make us comfortable

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    949
    312
    74
    54
See reviews for
228
794
92
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Most of the staffs were friendly and helpful .
Some couldnt smile which is I consider it as a culture shock for me..
hahahaha..
But I really love this hotel.
The GM also very friendly and helpful and handsome :p
It was a pleasant 4 nights in Mercure.
U can go to the city by the boat that parking in the riverside of Mercure at 10 am.
And back to the hotel by boat again.
They have the brochure and the route so please read it carefully.
The breakfast also good, but i wish more variations.
But for fruits and seeds as health food seeker it was wonderful breakfast for me !
I met an Indonesian staff also every morning named Ibu Sari, she was very very friendly and helpful too, not only to us as the same Indonesian, but i saw her treat every guest with proper greeting and sincere smile too :)
And one person in the front office, i forgot her name, Melissa or who, she's I think an Indian decent, she was very lovely too.
I met the housekeeping staffs and the gardener, they were amazing too.
I appreciate them.
Thank you so much, it was such a pleasant stay in Mercure.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.
Thank you for making me feel like home in Amsterdam.
Thank you and please keep up you good work !
Love from Bali, Indonesia <3

*Tap water is drinkable*

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaqkOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Although a little out of the city centre, there are train stations close by and only am10 to 15 minute walk away. At first it seems that there are no other amenities close,to the hotel, we did walk over the larger bridge over the Amstel river and came to a local neighbourhood with a Main Street containing supermarkets, restaurants, cafés and a laundromat - about 15 minutes walk. This street also has a tram going to the centre of Amsterdam. Hotel rooms were big and very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
268 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Located at the side of Amstel river its a nice and clean htl.Very quite and a bit far from the city center.For bussines people its OK also for groups.Rooms are nice and as higher as you are you have better view.Staff is good and helpful.For breakfast you have many choices.You can walk about 500 meters to the metro stop which takes you to downtown in aprx 10 min.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, the hotel are clean, the room big enough, and the service are good. the hotel located in the side of Amstel river, and the hotel also provide a river cruise tour from the hotel to Anne Frank huis at the reasonable price (only 5 euros). The hotel provides free driks at minibar, free internet and also a bathrobe, (I didn't know if these facilities applies for all room type or not, maybe you should ask them first). But even the name of the hotel is Amsterdam city, its location are far from city center. If you want to use public transportation from schiphol, you better take a train to RAI convention. and then you take Metro 50 or 51 to Overamstel station (only 2 stops from RAI). But from the overamstel station you must take a walk around 500 m and pass under the rail bridge until you find Joan Muyskenweg street, the environment are not nice since it have no shelter (if rain) and lack of information (almost nobody there), but you can see the hotel from the distance, so you won't get lost. that's why we suggest if you bring a luggage, you better take a cab instead of train or bus. it's only cost you 31 euros (nett) from the hotel to schiphol no matter what the traffic.

Room Tip: Please choose the room which facing the Amstel river, don't take the room facing another buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarBearJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you expect this is in the city, the answer is no. If you expect a walking distance from city centre, it is not. But it is a nice, spacious hotel, if you are prepared to walk a bit, and take Metro..then a good choice. Good free wifi, good breakfast, and nice bathroom.
Presently the metro line to Overamstel (Line 50) is not working, hence, you need to take line 54 until Duivendrecht, then bus 58 (in the loop-station to Joan Myskenweg...from the bus stop, on your far right, you already can see the hotel, standing tall, next to the river side. Go straight, turn right at the junction then walk another 500m I think.

Room Tip: Upper floors, River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoongSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 1 night due to a flight change over. Hotel is close to Airport and about 15 euros to downtown. Subway is about a 10 min walk and this is the way to get around. Hotel is newer and very clean. Lots of tour companies use this Hotel so check in and out can be a hassle if you are at prime times. Breakfast 2 for 1 price is very good as is the selection. Rooms are on the small size even if you upgrade they are small. Very quiet location and the quest load using the lounge is very low. Service in Lounge area is spotty. For the price and what you get including distant location from downtown this hotel is still a great deal. Rooms were well equipped, clean, but small. Front desk people were very helpful and were not in a hurry to take the time to explain on how to get around. Overall for a first time to Amsterdam I would use this Hotel as a starting point until you get orientated with the city. good value for the dollar.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to the biggest room they have, I think it is a suite especially if staying for more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing