We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Awful, definitely not value for money””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
““Awful, definitely not value for money””
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Simple hotel. I don't think this can be a 5 star hotel. The horrible and annoying thing ? I had a prepaid tariff. I went out for lunch and 1 hour later I have received a message from my bank informing that the hotel was keeping 100 euros as guarantee. They didn't inform me in advance. It was unpolite and unprofessional. The staff is terrible. They could give me any explanation.

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel. Check the staff befor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank politeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for your comment.Please send your contact details to feedback@okura.nl so that we can contact you. Thank you very much. ~ The Hotel Okura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    573
    149
    56
    31
See reviews for
314
949
108
650
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The price was about right for the room, it was very large and deluxe as described.
The staff are polite and professional, but room service left a lot to be desired.
Ate at the ground floor restaurant, it was fine but nothing to write home about.
Only negative was location, quite a distance out, tram stop outside, took about twenty mins to centre.
Would stay again if someone else was paying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed only one night while in transit from South Africa and were very impressed with the Okura. The hotel is not "in the mix" of central Amsterdam, which we found to be a plus, since you could get everywhere by tram or walking, but it is a much quieter location and other tourist oriented hotels. For instance, on our way to South Africa, we stayed at another hotel in Amsterdam just off the Leidesplan and we got almost no sleep due to noise and some rowdy hotel guests. The Okura was bliss, in comparison.

The staff was very professional and responsive. We were able to get last minute reservations at a booked restaurant, thanks to the concierge. The next morning, another concierge and the doorman bailed us out when our prepaid shuttle to the airport (booked at Schipol, not thru the Okura) failed to show. Concerned about us making our flight, the concierge put us in a chauffered car to the airport, at the expense of the hotel, even though the no-show shuttle had not been booked by the hotel. Very professional and top drawer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passportsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I traveled to Amsterdam with my 12 year old daughter in July 2010.The hotel is very nice and our room was very spacious. I think charging extra for internet service was a bit much considering the price of the room. The hotel is not close to much, but it is close to the bus/tram/metro lines. The hotel itself is very clean, but the bar had an awful musty smell. The breakfast buffet was wonderful!

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank corty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We visited Hotel Okura Amsterdam in the beginning of January and really enjoyed our stay in this luxurious hotel!
We had booked a deluxe room and received a free upgrade to an executive room with a magnificent view over Amsterdam. We were surprised by the free Nespresso coffee in the rooms, the opportunity to watch a movie while enjoying a bath and the great service / special treatment we received during our stay.
The extensive breakfast buffet in the morning was everything we expected from a 5 star Hotel and was of good quality.
The shops and the Albert Cuypmarket were in walking distance and the tram which stopped in front of the hotel brought us directly to the Dam square.
We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and in the Okura and look forward staying there again soon!
Marian & Ton
Breda, The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian_0092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We found that charging extra for room service, internet and the gym greatly added to the cost of our stay. food and drinks are expensive. Found main japaneese restauarant diappointing

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

What a wonderful hotel on a perfect location: the Okura Amsterdam. A great room with a beautiful view over Amsterdam city, very friendly and helpfull staff making your stay even more relaxed, and within walking distance of a typical Amsterdam area. Public transport to city centre, musea just a minute away. However for dinner you better stay in the hotel, what an great culinary experience, I wish we could stay longer. Next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,812 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing