We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
BEVERLY HILLS
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

In the past five years whenever we we went to Amsterdam we stay in this hotel for several reasons:
It is very clean,it's been remodeled recently, the staff is wonderful and they have very good breakfasts.
There is one issue with this hotel and that's the location. For us it's been a bonus since we are very active people and we walked every day to Dam square which is the city's main attraction, and we wanted to be away from noisy streets around the Dam. But if you want to be on Dam square then this is not for you. I also have to mention that the tram#25 takes you from Okura straight to Dam in 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    589
    151
    56
    31
See reviews for
325
973
111
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for a corporate event - its a beautiful looking hotel and a good location - however the reception staff were off hand and unfriendly - and they also wanted to take 100 euros off my credit card per evening we were booked in there - so wanted 300 euros from me which would only be refunded 5 working days after I'd checked out - which is ridiculous -especially as our booking was on account anyway. I was upgraded and my room was nice with a great view although not worth anywhere near the 570 euros it was quoted at. (though it was lovely to be upgraded!) The television remote was temperamental with only a few channels as were the light switch and air con. Nespresso machines were a nice touch but you had to constantly ask for extra sugar/milk if you wanted to use it more than once. To top it off 2 of our party got food poisoning from room service - one of them seriously. Apparently no-one else complained so they won't do anything about it. Our bill for our meal was also rounded up by an astonishing 60 euros!!!!!! which one of our unsuspecting delegates signed for in good faith - they have also failed to rectify this. The reception areas might be luxurious but having checked out a few hotels in Amsterdam this weekend -the rooms at the Park and newly opened Mint hotels are much nicer and better located and far better value for money. I should also mention that on top of 195 euros for a standard room you also pay amsterdam tax, 29.95 for breakfast (which really isn't worth it!) and an extra 15 euros if you want to use the gym - not a cheap stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evoluptua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london!
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I just came back from the okura amsterdam yesterday, had a lovely stay

Rooms- i had a standard room, which was nice, huge tv, mini bar and a view over looking the canal which was nice.

There was some mould on the shower curtain, so didnt use the curtain at all,also in the bath was some grey dented stains, these were the only 2 problems, the freebies were topped up,the rooms kept clean, my room was a little bit old fashioned, so i think the room needs an upgrade, the lamps were quite shabby, but for the price i paid it was good.

Breakfast-which was included in my package: can i firstly just say Kim, is a credit to the la camelia, so helpfu, friendly and very attentive! you should keep her! also juan was just as friendly and nice.

The selection was very good, had some weird things like salad and soup, but as they have a lot of japenese guests its understandable.

They had crossaints, donuts,pastries, cold meats, cheeses, diffrent breads, fruit, strawberries grapes etc, yogurts, smoothies, granola and a lot of cerals, they also do pancakes which were good, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, tomatoes etc, muffins, it was a huge selection!

They do ask you for a deposit, which is 100 euros per night of your stay, which was not mentioned when i booked, this is hotel policy, i am now having trouble getting them to take my money off hold, even though i am back in the country, they do not answer my e-mails, this is very sad as everything else in the hotel is of the highest standard.

The thing i liked most was to get the lift to work you had to use your key card, which is a great idea, all in all this is a good hotel.

Just get the traam from central st, number 25, when you get off at cornelis troopstein, it even says okura hotel, the area that the hotel is in, is lovely, it is a 4 min walk to the shops, the is a grocery store calld AH, you must try the thai place for food, i dont know what its called but its a dark red shop, there is also a nice bakery on the corner opposite a tram stop, the canal next door is nice and there are loads of coffee shops around.

The internet is expensive 6 dollars for 1 hour or 12 dollars for the day.

The pillows and linen are of a high quality and you can tell the difference.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_jamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for a business trip that was located at the RAI, which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. In between the RAI and the hotel are a number of good restaurants. The hotel was very nice and had a rooftop bar with outstanding views of the city at night. I would recommend that you request a corner room if that is possible. It is a little larger and it offers 2 views of the city rather than just one. I stayed in room 617. One down side was that there is an animal petting farm below, so if you sleep with the windows open, like I did, a rooster may wake you up early in the morning. They had a business center for printing and internet access. 15min internet for 5 euro. The staff were very friendly and I never had an issue with them during my 4 night stay.

The hotel is located on a quiet canal and is away from town. I walked from Dam square and it took me about 35 to 40 minutes to walk. It wasn't a big deal if you're not out of shape. The 25 rail line stop is about 5 minutes away from hotel and a 25 minute ride will put you in Dam square, which can be considered the center of downtown. 2.65 euro for an hour pass. You're about 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the Heineken brewery.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had a great stay in the excecutive suite, the room was spacious, well decorated, and very conveniant. The beds where very nice.

The hotel staff was very polite and helpfull. There is a choise of four restaurants, so a tast for everyone. Also the breakfast was supurp.

At night a visite to the coctail/ champagne bar on the 23th floor is a must. The coctails where very good and the view breath taking.

Overall we had a very nice stay and will be visiting soon again.

Thanks for everythiing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelsaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I should have realised when, on check in, I asked for a high floor and was told 'we don't have anything else at the rate you paid', that it wasn't going to be the best hotel experience. Full disclosure-the rate I paid was about GBP 300 per night, so hardly something for the front desk staff to sneer at.
As a female business traveller, one thing of paramount importance to me is a proper hair dryer. The Okura, believe it or not, still has the ghastly wall mounted wand monstrosities that waft lukewarm air but still manage to burn your hands-I haven't seen one of them in at least 10 years, and NEVER in what's held out to be a 5 star property.
Then there's the internet. Specifically the wireless internet, which the Okura has contracted out to Ibahn. 3 days, 7 phone calls (upwards of GBP 40 in mobile phone bills!)
and numerous charges to my Amex which have yet to be credited, and I had internet access for all of 30 minutes. And this is billed as a business hotel.
The room was fine, the bed was fine, the bath was fine, apart from the hair dryer. The air conditioning, unfortunately, didn't work properly, so, while some of my colleagues were complaining of being cold, my room was so hot and stuffy that it was impossible to sleep. Okura maintenance staff weren't up to the task of fixing it, and again, 'at the rate I'd paid' for the room, nothing else was available.
I can't remember the last time I had such uncaring staff, and such a poor experience.

Room Tip: Pay through the nose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminigirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a 3 day/night business event. It was a 5 star experience. The rooms were spacious and beautifully outfitted. Luxury linens and toiletries were provided. A large marble bathroom had both a shower, with two choices of shower head,s and a separate soaking tub. The service and food in every restaurant and bar was top notch. We called the front desk with a minor plumbing problem and someone was repairing the issue within 5 mins. The front desk staff and the concierge were very professional and helpful. It is a short distance outside the central area of Amsterdam but it was still walking distance to all of the major museums and sites. There is also a tram stop outside of the hotel if you are not the walking type.
My only complaint was the wireless internet was unstable and my service was spotty. The technical support for the internet was a connection to a service in India which was not exactly "service". The business event may have overloaded the wireless internet capabilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambermusiclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,881 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
707 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing