We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed her for 1 night, I got a good deal from lastminute.com with this being a topsecret hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room a good size, latge bathroom with bath (with tv in the wall) and big shower. The breakfast was great and I also used the spa which was very nice.
After checking in we got a taxi outside the hotel Dam square which was a bit expensive at 20 euros (it was only 10 on the way back). Internet was not free either, other than that, everything was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    583
    149
    56
    30
See reviews for
318
956
108
659
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed a couple of nights and this was a fantastic hotel I must say. Very friendly and efficient staff, well appointed rooms and handy location.

The bar on the top floor was very modern yet with a relaxed atmosphere.

First rate hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AV_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Having been short listed for the World Demolition Awards 2011, we stayed only the one night for the award ceromony. Set in the heart of Amsterdam by the side of a a canal it is very convient.

The company booked a number of rooms for the event, all report the rooms to be modern, clean and tidy with clean fresh linen, although small for the price.

One couple within our group were given a free upgrade and reported this to be very good, the extra space making a big difference.

Being in the heart of Amsterdam the bars and Cafes are close to hand should you wish to view the city and its sights: Unfortuantly our tight schedule prevented much exploration or sightseeing.

The Awards were held in baquetting hall within the hotel and saw around 300-400 delgates from all round the world attending. Catering for that many people is always difficult and the hotel coped well.

The food was nouvelle cuisine style, set over 4 courses. Quality, flavour, texture and presentation of the meal was excellent, if not to everyone's taste. Divation from the set menu was by request only, but this ensured the meal was delivered professionally.

In conclusion: The Okura is a high quality hotel offering and excellent service: But dont expect to get this level of cheap - you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: An upgrade make a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemolitionEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Where to start?
Arrived via the Connexxion minibus from Schipol, a 20 minute drive. Didn't even have to open the door to get out! Porter took our bags and directed us to check-in. Unfortunately we were early and our room wasn't ready, so the concierge stored our luggage and the gentleman at reception took my phone number to call when we could check in. He also supplied us with a map and directions. The lobby was beautiful with amazing flower arrangements and stylish, minimalistic furniture.

When we were able to check in the porter took great pains to explain how to work all the technology and the coffee machine. About half an hour after check in, the Housekeeper knocked to make sure we were happy with the room. We were in an executive room on the 17th floor with stunning views and a luxurious bathroom. We also had access to the executive suite, which offered a selection of complimentary soft and alcoholic drinks, nibbles and fruit, again with great views.

The cocktail bar on the top floor was small but stylish, and as has already been mentioned, makes a mean bloody mary. There is no dress code.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants but there are plenty of decent eateries within half a mile. We chose the Oceania Chinese, which was decent but extremely expensive!

The bed was divine - firm yet soft. Had a brilliant nights sleep. Breakfast was fabulous - the usual cereals, pastries, croissants, cold meats and cheeses, crispy bacon, creamy scrambled eggs, sausages, grilled tomatoes, etc. Fried or poached eggs are cooked to order. Staff were extremely attentive and very helpful, topping up my freshly-squeezed orange juice and bringing fresh coffee.

With regards to location, the hotel is about a 20 minute brisk walk outside of the city centre, in a very pretty neighbourhood. This suited us very well as we could easily walk in and out of town, yet were far enough away not to be disturbed by any late-night partying. If you don't fancy the walk, you can get a no25 tram to the city centre, or a no12 tram to the museum district. A taxi from Leidseplein cost 10euro.

This is an expensive hotel, but we got an incredibly good deal via a "Top Secret" online booking. I loved every minute of our stay and felt like an A-lister the whole time we were there. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Upgraded to a superior room which was superb. The staff were very helpful at all junctures.
Best of all the bar on the top floor has stunning views across the city, is stylish and serves a mean bloody mary.
I was only there for 1 night but can recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: book with VISA for a deal on upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWrightster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Not the cheapest hotel in Amsterdam but with 2 Michelin starred restaurants (the Ciel Bleu having 2 itself) and great service it really is an oasis in such a vibrant city.

Room Tip: The higher rooms give great views over the canals and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The food is outstanding. Rooms are comfortable, beds moderate in firmness, typical European comforter for a bed covering.

Cleaning is V E R Y pricey. 9.75 Euros for a shirt (About $15 US), yes "A" shirt. If you have to do laundry, a landermat is about 4 blocks away. Out the hotel, 3 blocks right, one ore right. 6 Euros, wash and dry for a load.

Excellant gym, sauna and pool. Attendant in attendance who is also a physical trainer.

Room Tip: Places to eat close by, hotel food id good, expensive, but good. Then again, with the US dollar wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,311 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing