We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible communication”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed here in August. As I checked out, I noticed I was not billed correctly. While I insisted that the bill should have been higher, the conceirge claimed there would be no additional fees and I was all set. One month later, I was charged twice as much. I left several messages and emails and not a single return. I was incredibly disappointed by the lack of professionalism and communication.

The hotel itself is mediocre at best. There is absolutely nothing remarkable about the building, the staff, service, or location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank veronica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear we did not meet your expectations. Could you please send us your contact details via feedback@okura.nl? We would like to get in touch with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband for our anniversary. When we arrived the check in staff were so happy and helpful and upgraded us to a suite. We were also brought strawberries and wine, which was a lovely touch. The room was unbelievable, so clean and big, the turn down service on an evening was also nice. The hotel is a bit far from the centre, but trams are easily accessible and the hotel and it's facilities certainly made up for it of you didn't fancy going out.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, myself and my husband are already thinking about coming back.
The breakfast room has just been refurbished, it opened today (2nd September) and is absolutely stunning. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and they cook eggs fresh for you....Bonus!!
PEFECT HOTEL.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing, but I would imagine all rooms to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

booked one night flying visit to amsterdam staying at okura as a treat before my grandaughter starts secondary school. Hotel was great staff great nothing was too much trouble beds comfy , breakfast great choice and plenty was not rushed to leave,room was lovely showers great . Room had fabulous views had a corner room so great expance of Amsterdam on offer, would definetly go back but at least 2 nights next time. Spa was very nice too!

Room Tip: we were on 16th floor in a corner room so great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yrregtrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel as a Top Secret, thinking you can't go wrong with a 5* .... and we were right, I would not chance a 4* with last minute but a 5 this shows you can't go wrong, this was an amazing weekend. The service was fantastic, the conceirge extremely helpful. reception were very welcoming and courtious.

Our room was an executive suite and it was huge, with great bathroom and huge shower. With free use of the executive lounge and health club - both exceptionally clean and very relaxing

After a night out we were a little late to the breakfast but even then they were very welcoming and let us have breakfast after the restaturant was supposed to have closed. Service here again could not be faulted.

We did try to book the 2 mitchelin star restaurant but had left it too late which is understandable, however the ever helpful staff contacted us on the Saturday evening to explain a couple were thinking of cancelling would we like their table? And we did, of course it was expensive but it was divine. If you have the opportunity and can book in time i recommend the amazing experience and menu.

We hired bikes from reception, they were so much fun and good quality, i'd receommend hiring bikes its the best way to get around!

The hotel recommended a fish restaurant for us where the lobster was delicious, and booked the table and taxi too - all very efficient.

We did unfortunately loose a wallet on our weekend, again reception could not do enough to help us, including the use of the telephone facilities free of charge to cancel cards etc. Whilst doing this we took up the chance to sit in the gardens with a coffee, even this was great service and the presentation again exceptional.

The hotel is on the ouskirts of the city but well worth a stay and like i said - hire bikes for a 10 minute cycle to the centre and canals and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a two night romantic break and got a good deal on a junior suite. It's a 40 minute walk away from the Central Station but that's not too bad when you break it up with a beer at a pub on the way and walking through Amsterdam is a lovely experience (once you learn to dodge the trams and the bikes!).

Service was excellent and the suite was very clean, comfortable and spacious. A cocktail in the bar on the 23rd floor is a must to experience fantastic views of the city.

The only disappointment was the very expensive breakfast but that wouldn't put me off from staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin210667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hotel Okura Amsterdam was a nice suprise. A little ways out from city centre, but in a nice neighboorhood. Staff was fantastic especially the concierge and front desk. Rooms was nicely done and very comfortable. Great outdoor sitting and dining area on the canal. Nice little shops and outdoor dining a few blocks over with a great gelado shoppe. All in all a pleasant suprise and would stay there again...no question.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duddie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,973 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £152 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing