We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Good Service Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Service Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have been staying in Okura Amsterdam as a family for many times. Always the service and the quality of the establishment impress us. This is a luxury hotel in Amsterdam, public areas and rooms are decorated with a modern yet classy taste and future the latest technology. We have, always, taken the Junior Executive Suite, which is quite spacious and very nicely decorated. The bathroom is a great marble bathroom with a bathtub and a nice shower. A nice coach, two armchairs and a great desk. From the executive floors you have great views of Amsterdam. On the other hand, the executive lounge is tiny and dull. The hotel has a nice gym and a good size indoor swimming pool. They are now building a SPA. The location is not the greatest as you need to get a taxi to most of the tourist attraction. However, the restaurants of the hotel are simply great. Try all of them but our favorite is the traditional Japanese restaurant, Yamazato. I have eaten in many great Japanese restaurants in London, NY, etc., but for me the best sushi and the best Japanese restaurant in the world is Yamazato.

Room Tip: I recommend, an executive floor Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    550
    142
    54
    30
See reviews for
306
905
106
634
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

The best hotel I have ever been. Very nice, really 5 star hotel. They did met my expectation. Rooms very well furnished, clean and big. Staff very professional and friendly. The only thing ... Breakfast was very busy, staff were under pressure running around, may more staff working on breakfast will help.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata18786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel only downside is that you have a 15-20min taxi ride into town

Great staff and a good choice of restaurants

The rooms were very nice and include a Nespresso coffee machine which is an added luxury at 7am !

All in all very nice but then you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

5 Star service from the minute you walk through the door. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist and porter who made us feel very welcome.
We a fantastic meal in their Japaneese restuarant(Sakana i think its called). This should be booked well in advance of arrival as it is very popular.
Breakfast buffet is well worth it with a selection to suit all nationailities.(They had porridge which I needed!)Lotte makes some excellent lattes!
We used it as a base for the Amsterdam Marathon which was excellent.
The top floor cocktail bar is also worth a visit.

I will use it again onmy next tripto Amsterdam and would highly recommend it.

Only small issue I had was trying to get the air con in he room to work efficently.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from the Okura hotel amsterdam. The staff are helpful and it is generally a nice place to stay. However after leaving the hotel we realised one of our belongings had gone missing, We contacted the hotel as soon as we could and were told the item was not there and were TOLD we had taken it with us and lost it. Which is rubbish as it had not left the hotel room.

This has given the hotel a very bad name in our eyes, who wants to stay in a place you don't feel safe and have to watch your belongings 24/7?

Now we have arrived home it does not seem to be a concern of theres....

Room Tip: use a safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliver p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Can you please contact us via feedback@okura.nl?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I spent 11 nights during a business trip in Hotel Okura. I was given an executive room in the 22nd floor with a great view at a very good corporate rate. My overall experience was very good. Room was notably spacious, stylish and spotless clean (see pics). Breakfast is delicious and served daily precisely from 7:00am. Executive room is very nice with refreshments available from 7:00am to 10:00pm. Staff are very friendly especially the Japanese men who stand sometimes near the elevators. Public transportation is 3 minutes away (Cornelis Troostplein tram stop). It is out of the city center. However, the tram gets you there in 18 minutes from Cornelis Troostplein to the Dam. Walking takes 30-40 minutes.

I took out one star because of the following two reasons:
1) Complementary wifi and ethernet was extremely slow. I was told by the guest relations lady to choose the premium service for 12 euros/day. However, I was under the assumption that fast internet connection is a given in a 400 euros/day room.
2) Housekeeping is extremely slow in responding to cleaning the room. I repeatedly had to call them to clean the room after having left for several hours without the room being cleaned (cleaning sign was on).

Room Tip: Go for the 22nd floor. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSTERDAM
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Third stay at Okura,since all rooms are now restored it is an excellent stay. We liked the see-through bathroom and the spacious bathtub. Breakfast was included so I can't comment on value for money, but it was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pierres166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing