We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently went here with my husband to celebrate my birthday weekend. Right when you walk in the door, you are greeted with people ready to help you with your bag. When checking in, I told them it was my birthday and put me up in a fabulous room with amazing views of Amsterdam. A pleasant Happy Birthday card also awaited me in the room. We stayed in the Deluxe room which was a good size for a couple. The bathroom was big enough to fit a nice sized bathtub and shower. I was impressed by the high end faucets upgraded technological amenities in the room. We wanted to listen to the radio while taking a bath but couldn't figure out how it worked. The location was slightly removed from the city center which I guess they consider "Dam." But it was easy to take the tram number 25 to the hotel. The neighborhood itself is very trendy and walking distance to many cute cafes and restaurants. The use of the gym and pool (15 euros/person) I thought was a little over-priced as well as the breakfast buffet (29 euros/person). We unfortunately did not get a chance to eat at their restaurants but will the next time we go.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurricayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,538 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

First class in every aspect from greeting at reception, through condition of room and service levels throughout my stay.

probably the cleanest and quitest hotel I have ever stayed in worldwide in the last twenty years.

Room Tip: Any room on North East side has geat canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have been staying in Okura Amsterdam as a family for many times. Always the service and the quality of the establishment impress us. This is a luxury hotel in Amsterdam, public areas and rooms are decorated with a modern yet classy taste and future the latest technology. We have, always, taken the Junior Executive Suite, which is quite spacious and very nicely decorated. The bathroom is a great marble bathroom with a bathtub and a nice shower. A nice coach, two armchairs and a great desk. From the executive floors you have great views of Amsterdam. On the other hand, the executive lounge is tiny and dull. The hotel has a nice gym and a good size indoor swimming pool. They are now building a SPA. The location is not the greatest as you need to get a taxi to most of the tourist attraction. However, the restaurants of the hotel are simply great. Try all of them but our favorite is the traditional Japanese restaurant, Yamazato. I have eaten in many great Japanese restaurants in London, NY, etc., but for me the best sushi and the best Japanese restaurant in the world is Yamazato.

Room Tip: I recommend, an executive floor Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

The best hotel I have ever been. Very nice, really 5 star hotel. They did met my expectation. Rooms very well furnished, clean and big. Staff very professional and friendly. The only thing ... Breakfast was very busy, staff were under pressure running around, may more staff working on breakfast will help.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata18786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel only downside is that you have a 15-20min taxi ride into town

Great staff and a good choice of restaurants

The rooms were very nice and include a Nespresso coffee machine which is an added luxury at 7am !

All in all very nice but then you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

5 Star service from the minute you walk through the door. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist and porter who made us feel very welcome.
We a fantastic meal in their Japaneese restuarant(Sakana i think its called). This should be booked well in advance of arrival as it is very popular.
Breakfast buffet is well worth it with a selection to suit all nationailities.(They had porridge which I needed!)Lotte makes some excellent lattes!
We used it as a base for the Amsterdam Marathon which was excellent.
The top floor cocktail bar is also worth a visit.

I will use it again onmy next tripto Amsterdam and would highly recommend it.

Only small issue I had was trying to get the air con in he room to work efficently.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from the Okura hotel amsterdam. The staff are helpful and it is generally a nice place to stay. However after leaving the hotel we realised one of our belongings had gone missing, We contacted the hotel as soon as we could and were told the item was not there and were TOLD we had taken it with us and lost it. Which is rubbish as it had not left the hotel room.

This has given the hotel a very bad name in our eyes, who wants to stay in a place you don't feel safe and have to watch your belongings 24/7?

Now we have arrived home it does not seem to be a concern of theres....

Room Tip: use a safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oliver p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Can you please contact us via feedback@okura.nl?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,977 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £151 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing