We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Loved this hotel. We stayed one night in an exec room on the 17th floor which was superb. Don't be put off by the location as it is easily accessible from Central Station by the 12 and 25 trams (get a 24 hour ticket for 7.50 euros). All the staff were really helpful and friendly, particularly the reception staff. The swimming pool and spa are brilliant.
The only criticism I have is the service in the exec lounge on the 22nd floor which was non-existent. Glasses and plates were left strewn on tables and the wine dispensers were not replenished. Another point, service at breakfast was a bit chaotic. I appreciate it was Saturday morning and most people seem to wait until the last hour of service but I am sure this is the case in most hotels and I think more staff were needed, especially another egg chef as the one was under quite a bit of pressure.
We got this hotel on a deal at a reduced rate so were happy with this but had we paid the full rate I would not have been.

Room Tip: Exec rooms on the 17th floor fabulous with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW22613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,579
    563
    145
    56
    30
See reviews for
312
923
108
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

What an amazing location! Towering high above Amsterdam this bar offers what must be the best view in the city.

On the 23th floor (hence the name) of the Okura Hotel you'll find an absolutely fabulous bar.
The ambiance, the service, the drinks and the cocktails are simply perfect!
And then there's the view. The bar boasts an almost 180 degree view over Amsterdam, right from the 'Zuid-As' business district to the harbor north of the city.

Don't expect to find a cheap drink or bite at this venue, but then again; excellence comes at a price.

Shame no one offered to collect our coats.
And I think it's outrageous a hotel dares to charge €4,- an hour for parking when you spend well over €40,- on two glasses of champagne. That just doesn't show a sense of hospitality.

Besides that, the place is an absolute hotspot for a chic night-out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times, and whilst it's decentralised location isn't the best, it certainly ticks the boxes for service and facilities. The Okura tip-toes between luxury and business and tries to maintain attraction for both tourists and conference go-ers. And on the whole it succeeds. Call me a sucker but the heated toilet seats in the bathroom are fun, and if you use the executive floor - the lounge is great for scooby snacks and free booze! Breakfast is a pretty palatial affair but best consumed when you have a bed and breakfast deal - at 32 euros per head its one of the more expensive buffet breakfasts you can find!!

The tram stop is just round the corner and gets you into the main tourist drag in 10-15 mins. the airport is easily accessed from either Amsterdam central (followed by the number 25 tram) or walk round the corner to the Rai.

Overall...It's pricey but great. I've stayed in the Dam a few times and this is definitely the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at the Okura. It's a little but of a trek into the centre (25mins on tram) but the rooms are great. I would stay however without breakfast option unless you get a deal 32 euros for a buffet brekkie is crazy

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalktoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice location on the side of a water way. For me it was an excellent location. Reception staff very welcoming and a quick process to check in and out. Room spec was good with a good working area and plenty of power. Comfortable sized room with a view out over the city. I would certainly go back again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Our first time here was a five night stay. A great restaurant (2Stars), beautiful suites, quiet location. Free Internet that generally worked. Room air conditioning was not effective. Staff were. Not close to city center, but very easy to access via nearby tram.
Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed here for 2 nights in September and I was quite happy with everything. the location is a bit out of the way, but in a lovely part of Amsterdam. You can get to the city center with a tram in 15 minutes. tickets are available in the hotel or at the tram.
my room was on the 15th floor and the view was great as there not too many high buildings around, room was big enough with lots of TV channels to pick from. Service was great and the room was very clean.
only downsize was the elavator which were simply too slow so sometimes you had to wait for 15 minutes to get up to your room, but this was not a major issue. would I stay here again? I certainly hope so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing