We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel with a price to match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay. Beautiful and elegant, very friendly, helpful staff and well-appointed rooms. You pay for quality like that of course, but for me it just tips over the edge of a reasonable price. Room rates are one thing, but it's the price of things like drinks in the bar that sting.
I'd still go back and recommend it to others, but with so many other reasonably priced mid-range hotels in the area it's hard to justify the expense.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank chrissleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and the room was fabulous. Very big and bright with lots of natural light. I had an exec room and there was tons of space. Comfy bed and pillows, amazing bathroom with an interesting toilet control panel! The hotel was a bit too far out of the centre of Amsterdam for me to want to return on a leisure trip but for business it was fine. Exec rooms gave lounge access which was handy for meetings but snacks were poor and service was terrible with plates/glasses piled up and food/drinks not refreshed often enough and never any staff around when you needed them.

Room Tip: go for an exec room to use the lounge and have more space and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spent only one night in this beautiful hotel, known to many but not to me yet.
We had a junior suite on the 18 floor, comfortable bed and amazing bathroom with the typical "Japanese toilette"....!
Breakfast is served in a very cosy restaurant where kind waiters/waitresses make sure you have all you need. They even cook eggs on the spot the way you like them.
A very positive experience to advice to everybody!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefania100871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Fantastic hotel the rooms were really nice, in fact everything about it was luxury. We were just on a city break and maybe we would not go as luxury next time as we never really used the room.
It was a little bit out from the City centre - at least a 25min walk, easy enough though on the way there, a little more difficult getting home :-)
We went to the bar which was supposed to be superior but we found it over priced and pretty dull to be honest.
We did not try the restaurants but maybe if we stayed for longer we would have made full use of the hotel. For a short weekend id probably opt for a cheaper hotel close to the city, For a long weekend and pure luxury then this would be my our first choice!

Room Tip: Higher floor - Better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at Okura hotel over the weekend. Knowing Amsterdam quite well but never having stayed at this hotel, we didn't know what to expect. The stay really exceeded our expectation. Great hotel, amazing rooms, very nice staff and good food. Breakfast was amazing! I was amazed that the superior Japanese service (which I experience on my business trips to Japan) is actually possible in western Europe. Overall, my satisfaction with service in Amsterdam at hotels and restaurants was quite low but after the stay at Okura Hotel, I have completely changed my mind. Staff is very good and helpful (even with two little kids), superior beds, great views, fantastic food and especially, every little detail was taken care of. I am really looking forward to spending christmas in Amsterdam this year as I will stay at Okura.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are fatastic, really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Was very impressed with the type of service friendly hotel staff and all with genuine carrying attitude. even in breakfast room still good service and even a cook that made omelets. Hotel has very good restaurants with Michelin stars. Rooms are well maintained had an upgrade to a small suite on the executive floor. few of the city was very nice and a very comfortable bed. Spa is small but again still there is a friendly staff available and all well maintained. will certainly go back.
Again was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centurion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Total luxury - amazing rooms, great staff, beautiful hotel, lovely spa, and good food! Couldn't have had a better stay. The location was a little far from city centre but it was worth it to have the extra nice hotel. It's worth walking around the neighbourhood for good dinner locations as the options at the hotel are VERY expensive and there are great local non-touristy options nearby. Definitely recommend this hotel, it's worth going to Amsterdam just to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascade0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,041 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £150 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing