We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for the first time having visited Amsterdam many times before, but usually stayed in the center. Excellent hotel, excellent service. I will definitely go back.
I recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    555
    142
    54
    30
See reviews for
310
909
106
636
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had an opportunity to stay for 4 nights at this property for a business conference and I am glad that I stayed here. The Hotel is great & the staff are great. Front desk team always smiling & willing to help!!! The breakfast is excellent and so are the rooms. The Japanese restaurant " Sazanka " is excellent and for a vegetarian like me , the staff went a step ahead to make vegetarian food to make me comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2009Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I think it would be unfair to rate this hotel below average, in essence it is a solid establishment with good standards and a few substantial flaws which did not help make my experience a remarkable one.
A few considerations:
1. This is a BUSINESS hotel with capital letters - I would not recommend it for a leisure holiday. Location wise it's a good 20 mins drive from the town centre. More important in my view you really get the vibe and the treatment you would expect from a business establishment, rather than a pampering relaxed chilled experience.
2. As a result of the above the structure of the hotel (e.g. room lay out, business facilities) is very functional. The staff is also very practical, very polite slightly less informative than I would have expected but in essence the treatment I received felt very impersonal (and I am not mad keen on small boutique hotels myself).
The BAD:
- Air-con: I was upgraded to a business room on one of the highest floors with floor to ceiling windows and just a smaller window near the bed. Comprehensibly the window near the bed could not be open for safety related reasons. That's only fair but for 3 days I struggle to keep the room temperature at a comfortable level, with continuous ups and downs. By the end of day 3 all I could think of was a breath of fresh air.
- Room Service: Not poor, but not good value for money either with a limited selection to choose from. Having the option I would recommend dining in one of the hotel's restaurants where the fine dining experience is much more impressive.
- Impersonal: the overall experience felt exactly like that. For 400 euros a night I would expect the service to go the extra mile but it was not the case. No member of staff was ever rude, but no one was overly nice either.
- Internet connection was not as fast as expected
The GOOD;
- Very clean: rooms are done twice a day
- Spacious: I stayed at this hotel twice, the first time I was not upgraded and stayed in the most basic room which was still spacious by European standards.
- New: all facilities are in very good conditions
- Restaurant on the premises are very good (but room service is not)
In summary, not a memorable experience to write about, would return on business if it makes sense but it would not be my preferred choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMinnie_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mrs Minnie_UK,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive and negative experience with us. Your comments enable us to further improve our product and the service we are known for. Should you wish to further discuss your experience, please feel free to send your contact details to feedback@okura.nl so we can contact you. We hope to have the opportunity to make your stay with us in the future a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Having stayed in Amsterdam quite a few times in your typical picturesque smaller hotel by the canals, I booked this Japanese chain hotel out of necessity. I am glad I did, since it has all the amenities I thought difficult to find in such a city. Like a full spa with big swimming pool hot tub and steam/sauna facilities. And on top of that the rooms are quite larger than you would expect. The modern amenities and comfortable beddings were well received and enjoyed.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We had a room only, was definitely 5 star. Had a lovely bar up top which was expensive but definitely worth It just for view. Restaurant was very expensive. Me and hubby had a spa session as was anniversary so had a great massage, that was reasonable priced. Staff was also very attentive.
Reception concierge was brilliant, giving you local advice and what tram to get. The room was very clean, bathroom was great. Room had its own coffee maker. Would highly recommend. Was 15 min team ride from main part of town. Would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wien
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

we spent a long weekend at the beginning of 2014 in this hotel and had a wonderful experience .
a big room -de luxe - with view over the gracht ; very quiet location for people who don't love the noise of the inner city just ten minutes by tramway from the museum - 25 minutes walk -.
Daily exchange of very high quality bed linen , very large bathroom with large shower and modern badthub.
The TV quality could be upgraded but we didn't miss it being very busy with museum visits in Vangogh and Rijk and running around in the old city of Amsterdam

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbianconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hotel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World is well located both for tourism (main museums) and business purposes. Wherever you go inside the hotel you will always find the Japanese atmosphere of Quality and Calm which is very relaxing. The layouts are spacious and the designs and coulors used in the different decorations are very successful. The hotel has an excellent offer of high quality restaurants.

Room Tip: The Hotel rooms are located in a tower, higher floors are quieter and have a beautiful view of Amste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing