We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #30 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights to start our holiday. This hotel is situated on the edge city but has easy access through public transport and close enough to walk if the weather is good. The service and rooms are five star and the hotel does have a homely feel about it rather than the sterile approach that exists in other hotels. We stayed here for three nights to start our holiday The staff have a lot to do with the great feel this hotel has. The hotel food was excellent. Hope I am back in Amsterdam soon so I can stay here again

Room Tip: I am not sure that there would be a bad room but we requested a higher floor to the rear that overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a great experience at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam.

This is a very high end hotel with prices to match. It's not close to the city center or nightlife, but it's an amazing and relaxing place to stay within walking distance of the RAI and a quick walk to a light rail line that goes right to the city center. Never had to wait long for a cab at the hotel either.

The front desk staff is fabulous. Always well staffed, never had to wait, I don't think I walked by once during my stay without someone at the desk making eye contact and saying hello. Despite the hotel being full, the person I checked in with on my first day said "Hello Mr M" each time I saw them.

Multiple high end restaurants in the hotel, but with prices to match. If you don't want to spend 30+ Euro for the buffet breakfast (which was delicious by the way) there are a number of great local places within walking distance. I didn't try the more famous hotel on the top floor, but friends who went said it was quite a cullinary experience.

As my luck would have it, the hotel was completely full when I checked in so they upgraded me to a Jr Suite. Nice big room on the 12th floor with one long wall of all windows looking out over the city. This is the only tall building in the area, so the view is great. Giant soaking tub in the bathroom with bath salts, nice robes and slippers, full sized room safe that fit my 17" MacBook Pro. The only thing missing was a decent radio/speaker for listening to music. The TV input bar had a headphone jack and after some finagling with settings I was able to listen to music through the TV.

The airflow in the hotel was amazing. Constant flow of fresh air through the room. I opened a window at one point just to see how cold it was outside and felt an rush of wind outward due to the negative pressure from the internal airflow system. Always left the room smelling fresh, despite my falling asleep and leaving my room service tray in the room overnight.

The hotel was extremely quiet as well. Thick well insulated windows and thick heavy solid doors that close completely combined with a location on a canal set off any major roadways made for a blissfully silent sleep. Bed was extremely comfortable with lush bedding to match.

We had a one day sales meeting in the hotel before a conference at the RAI, conference facilities were great as was the lunch buffet we had during our meetings.

Another friend who had come from New Zealand didn't like it as much, said it was "too corporate", but he had a much smaller basic room on a lower floor so I might have just lucked out. He has more experience with "Asian" style hotels in his part of the world but coming from the US, the attention to detail and guest comfort at this hotel were a welcome change.

If it fit in my budget, would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Okura hotel is perfect hotel near RAI,
Very clean hotel and nice view of amsterdam from 15 floor.
Price is high but good valve.
Near metro and team station
With walking distence to bus tram station.
Break fast was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Despite of being away from the city center, I found this might be an advantage of being away from the crowded area
Truly, it has a beautiful entrance and lobby, fantastic rooms, will equipped and ver clean, staff are very welcoming and helpful, the concierge people are very knowledgable about the city an its attraction
Do not miss going to the top floor to see the all of Amsterdam an do not miss their Japanese restaurant

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SALEISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were staying at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam on May 3rd thru May 6th. We had a great stay and loved everything – great views a warm welcome and comfortable bed, who could ask for more.

We enjoyed very much our days in Amsterdam and hope to come back to the Okura hotel soon. You will be on our must stay again list!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved every minute of our stay.
Restaurant service was perfect, both the sommelier's were wonderful.
Food out of this world! Expensive (sort of), but well worth it. Definitely try another Okura hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xpeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here as wanted to stay in a different part of Amsterdam. To get there we got a metro from central station to Amstel station then a tram and the tram stop was close to the hotel. Situated in a quieter part of Amsterdam in the de pijp district some lovely little cafés and boutique shops in the surrounding streets as it the Albert Cupt market.
Our room was on the 15th floors with views over the city (could see the rijks museum in the distance) we had a superior double - quite small in size but large bathroom with glass wall so you could sit in the bath and look out into the room etc.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as was prices quite highly however we had drinks up on the 23rd floor and drinks in the lobby bar which were both enjoyable.
We also used the spa and had a massage on the last day which was lovely. The only thing to mention is the spa isn't on the same floor as the tea room and treatment room. But a great perk was having a glass of prosecco and small chocolate cake after our treatment.
If your looking to stay in a modern clean hotel with excellent customer service and don't mind being a little further out from the centre. Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kati_17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £147 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing