We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local neighborhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Over the Atlantic
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great local neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful. Great staff, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds, and a Nespresso to make the day start off well.

Just as well is being in a local neighborhood with local cafe's instead of tourist central. I borrow a bike from a friend while here but the hotel has some available as well and I highly recommend them for getting around since you're a bit farther out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    543
    140
    54
    29
See reviews for
297
889
104
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked a one night stay on their Executive Floor last summer and it remains truly memorable and we are hoping to return one day again.
A stunning room with an amazing view from both the bedroom and bathroom - very luxurious and grand and we fully enjoyed the Executive Lounge facilities as well.
Dinner at Yamazato - sitting in front of the sushi chef - is an experience that should not be missed and the breakfast the following morning was (as expected) very good indeed!
The one thing that we enjoyed the most is the "Asian Hospitality" which we encountered throughout the hotel.
The main reason for us staying was that we wished to dine at Yamazato, now for the next time we will stay there for their great service and rooms and will try one of their other restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fannrem, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

From check in (tuesday) to checkout (saturday) I was treated like a king. No, I did not stay in a suite, but in superiour single on the 14th floor. From the doorman via the reception to the cleaning personal. Not to forget the bartenders. I liked the soft, large towels which there were lots of in the bathroom. Just 10 minutes walk to the RAI exhibition area. Love to come back. Almost forgot to mention a fantastic breakfast :)))

Room Tip: Highest possible floor, view to the channal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights to start our holiday. This hotel is situated on the edge city but has easy access through public transport and close enough to walk if the weather is good. The service and rooms are five star and the hotel does have a homely feel about it rather than the sterile approach that exists in other hotels. We stayed here for three nights to start our holiday The staff have a lot to do with the great feel this hotel has. The hotel food was excellent. Hope I am back in Amsterdam soon so I can stay here again

Room Tip: I am not sure that there would be a bad room but we requested a higher floor to the rear that overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a great experience at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam.

This is a very high end hotel with prices to match. It's not close to the city center or nightlife, but it's an amazing and relaxing place to stay within walking distance of the RAI and a quick walk to a light rail line that goes right to the city center. Never had to wait long for a cab at the hotel either.

The front desk staff is fabulous. Always well staffed, never had to wait, I don't think I walked by once during my stay without someone at the desk making eye contact and saying hello. Despite the hotel being full, the person I checked in with on my first day said "Hello Mr M" each time I saw them.

Multiple high end restaurants in the hotel, but with prices to match. If you don't want to spend 30+ Euro for the buffet breakfast (which was delicious by the way) there are a number of great local places within walking distance. I didn't try the more famous hotel on the top floor, but friends who went said it was quite a cullinary experience.

As my luck would have it, the hotel was completely full when I checked in so they upgraded me to a Jr Suite. Nice big room on the 12th floor with one long wall of all windows looking out over the city. This is the only tall building in the area, so the view is great. Giant soaking tub in the bathroom with bath salts, nice robes and slippers, full sized room safe that fit my 17" MacBook Pro. The only thing missing was a decent radio/speaker for listening to music. The TV input bar had a headphone jack and after some finagling with settings I was able to listen to music through the TV.

The airflow in the hotel was amazing. Constant flow of fresh air through the room. I opened a window at one point just to see how cold it was outside and felt an rush of wind outward due to the negative pressure from the internal airflow system. Always left the room smelling fresh, despite my falling asleep and leaving my room service tray in the room overnight.

The hotel was extremely quiet as well. Thick well insulated windows and thick heavy solid doors that close completely combined with a location on a canal set off any major roadways made for a blissfully silent sleep. Bed was extremely comfortable with lush bedding to match.

We had a one day sales meeting in the hotel before a conference at the RAI, conference facilities were great as was the lunch buffet we had during our meetings.

Another friend who had come from New Zealand didn't like it as much, said it was "too corporate", but he had a much smaller basic room on a lower floor so I might have just lucked out. He has more experience with "Asian" style hotels in his part of the world but coming from the US, the attention to detail and guest comfort at this hotel were a welcome change.

If it fit in my budget, would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Okura hotel is perfect hotel near RAI,
Very clean hotel and nice view of amsterdam from 15 floor.
Price is high but good valve.
Near metro and team station
With walking distence to bus tram station.
Break fast was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Despite of being away from the city center, I found this might be an advantage of being away from the crowded area
Truly, it has a beautiful entrance and lobby, fantastic rooms, will equipped and ver clean, staff are very welcoming and helpful, the concierge people are very knowledgable about the city an its attraction
Do not miss going to the top floor to see the all of Amsterdam an do not miss their Japanese restaurant

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SALEISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing