We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Reem M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at Okura Oct 2013 for five days and found it an oasis of luxury. Great room, excellent service, attentive and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast. Easy access to/from airport by shuttle bus. Close to all must see sights, even walking distance for the brave. A real 5.star experience, light years ahead of the NH Barbizon Palace claiming the same rating.

Room Tip: North orientation and high floor gives nice overview of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A very nice hotel in the Amsterdam City centre with easy access to the tram. The hotel can be reached by shuttle bus from schiphol airport. The rooms are decent size but great attention has been put in the details, night lighting, comfortable bedding, an extensive pillow menu and bathtub that sits next to your bed.

I enjoyed my stay and will definitively return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kurswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Overall, we had a very good experience in this hotel. The level you expect on a 5 stars. There were a couple of mistakes in service, they forgot the room service breakfast we ordered. However, they reacted very quickly and brought it in straight away and didn't charge for it. So in the end they tried their best to cover the fault. The amenities were good and the attention given by the reception, concierge and bellboys was very good. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariacaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend in may 2014. Fantastic clean hotel. Excellent front of house staff and cleaners were excellent. One issue we had was the tea and coffee not being replenished but everything else was perfect. We got a really good price that we were all happy to pay and feel the whole experience was positive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbiekelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Took a gamble for a couple coming together after being "in the field".....After over combined 40 years experience mainly living in hotels...this had to be one of the worst experiences we had. Rooms small. Extra for gym- 15 Euros each in a five star hotel?. Japanese restaurant staff, especially the leadership seemed to have no understanding of client service. When my husband and I said we were excited to be at the restaurant, it had been discussed with certain diplomatic missions....The person seemed to take great offence, said he was another nationality and stormed off. Food took a long time. Champagne ordered- glasses were empty for 10 minutes. So I poured the champagne myself.

Room Tip: But have to pay and extra 30 Euros. We started going down the road to Omelegg to have a good hearty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RFP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear RFP B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for addressing your comments during your stay. We regret you did not experience the quality and service that we are know for, but we trust that you were happy with the compensation offered. We certainly hope you will visit us again despite of the occurrences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful. Great staff, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds, and a Nespresso to make the day start off well.

Just as well is being in a local neighborhood with local cafe's instead of tourist central. I borrow a bike from a friend while here but the hotel has some available as well and I highly recommend them for getting around since you're a bit farther out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuincyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,010 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,276 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £149 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing