We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Went on a Holland America cruise and spent fly over night here. Wow! I'm used to staying at 2 and 3 star hotels with Rick Steves tours, this was something special. Great view from a large room. Very nice breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooth-fixer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    583
    149
    56
    30
See reviews for
318
956
108
659
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I just got back from a 3 week Northern European Cruise with Holland America. We flew into Amsterdam and spent one night at the Okura before starting the cruise. Since the night was part of a "package" we didn't pay for the hotel directly, but I checked out what it would have cost us if we'd reserved on our own, and it wasn't worth the price, particularly when the hotel is located in the southern part of the city, a long distance from the main part of town in the north, and far from any major sites. Unless you love to walk, you'll end up taking public transportation or a taxi (there were many lined up at the entrance and several were Mercedes!). The were no restaurants close by, other than the HIGHLY priced ones located at the hotel (meals started at 70 Euros!). We walked around that afternoon looking for restaurants and finally found some, but they were all closed due to late July being "holiday" time. We searched for an ATM to pick up Euros but there were none at the hotel or in the direct vicinity. We ended up finding some food at a small deli several blocks away from the hotel and eating in our room.
Most of the Okura clients appeared to be Japanese businessmen in expensive suits. We felt under-dressed in our jeans and t-shirts. The hotel lobby is tastefully decorated in expensive, elaborate glass vases, tables and light fixtures.
The hotel staff were very cordial. One man at the front desk spoke English well and was a big help the 2nd day, calling the airlines for us, because we were waiting to hear about our checked luggage which had been left in Chicago and was supposed to be delivered to us.
Our large, attractively decorated corner room was on the 10th floor with panoramic window views of the city and canals (the hotel is situated on a canal which is quite picturesque with benches where you can sit and people watch). The room was clean, although the rug had a couple of dark spots where something had been spilled in the past. We noted that the hotel's website describes some amenities that only certain more expensive rooms must have. Ours had the basics, which was all we needed.
The shower tended to go hot/cold, which was annoying. The linens were good quality and heavy, there was a stocked mini fridge and wet bar in the room that had booze, soda, and snacks for sale, and the bed was quite comfortable.
Overall, the best part of the stay was the room's view. We took some good photos. Otherwise, for the price, if returning we'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We took our 16 Year Old Son & His Friend - to celebrate my 50th. Birthday!
Niether my wife or I could fault anyhting - and we have been lucky enough to have travelled all over the world.We ate Japanese on the first night and French
( 2 X MICHELLIN STARS) on the second night - My Birthday. The view from our corner room was "Breathtaking" (15TH FLOOR). It was a very nice, big, well equipped room.
The food was outstanding and we will be returning to Amsterdam and this hotel again when we do. The boys were able to do their own thing - even late at night as the city has a "very safe" feel to it. Getting around is easy - walk, take a tram, passanger bicyle ride or take a taxi - whichever you can afford or prefer. An Excellent Short Break !!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopakevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

A lovely hotel worth a stay. I stayed there with 2 other colleagues and all three of us enjoyed the hotel location and the great service. All the staff were wonderful and professionals with a permanent welcoming smile. Food was good and accomodating of my colleagu's very fussy eating habits.

Definitely recommended for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdonholidayopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ollyholiday
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just like all other Okura Hotel's, this one was stunning.

Amazing service, amazing room, several beautiful Michelin Star restaurants and a bar on the 23rd floor with stunning views.

I was attending a conference at the Amsterdam RAI, and it was easily within walking distance. The local restaurants and bars were fairly average, but if you wanted to go in to the heart of the city it was only a 15euro taxi ride away.

The leisure facilities were 15euro's a day which aren't included in your stay, which was the only let down.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Superb hotel; the lobby of the hotel has just been renovated as we heard and I have to say it is absolute fantastic and of international standards. The room was spacious, luxurious and stylish decorated; seperate bath tub and shower cabin, extra television in the bathroom and the beds are just great! Dinner in the Ciel Bleu is an absolute must-do! Rated 2 star by Michelin this restaurant belongs to the top of The Netherlands; great food and hospitality and the staff are driven professionals who only go for the best. Do not forget to visit to bar on the 23rd floor, it has been rated the best cocktail bar in The Netherlands and is a real hot spot! Breakfast in the brasserie in the morning was a retreat; a full buffet and a chef in the restaurant to prepare a la carte items upon request. We will definitely come back to this hotel with their friendly and hospitable staff!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beelennicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed two weeks ago in this wonderful hotel. The newly renovated hotel lobby is looking great. We also had some drinks in the bar on the 23th floor, great service, nice view. The dinner in Ciel bleu was of exceptional quality! The restaurant manager knows exactly what he is doing. The room was clean and the interior was good looking, nice detail are the curtains which opens automaticly when you enter the room. We have never seen such a great bathroom, including TV! It's nice to relax in he healthclub. The ladies at the reception were friendly and helpfull. We stayed in a lot of hotels in Amsterdam, this was the first time in Okura and we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerjanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,846 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,311 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing