We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the "Standard Room" when booking online!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #28 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of the "Standard Room" when booking online!”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We booked a 3 night trip to Amsterdam through expedia and were very excited to see a 5 star hotel come up for £265pp. This worked out at roughly £120 per night for the hotel which seemed like a great bargain for a 5 star hotel. However were really disapointed when we arrived to be assigned a very shabby and retro looking hotel room which in some areas was quite grubby. When we complained we were told that the hotel was being renovated and only 50% had been completed, we were on a floor of rooms which hadn't been renovated, hence the price. This wasn't made clear when booking and as we were expecting 5* luxary (regardless of price) we were suprised at the standard of the room. We were particularly shocked to discover that the normal price of the room we stayed in had we not booked online was over 400 Euro's which would have been ridiculously high.

On a positive note, the hotel did move us to another room, not a renovated one but a junior suite which was still on the unrenovated retro side, as it was so large it felt like adequate compensation. The rest of the hotel is lovely with a nice terrace bar overlooking the canal and a cool cocktail bar on the top floor.

One last piece of advice, dont order room service for breakfast, its overpriced and not very good. The hotel is also a good 20 mins on the tram from the centre of town so if you're looking to be in the centre of things its not ideal. Its is walking distance (or 10 mins on tram) from the museum quarter though which was ideal for us.

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    574
    149
    56
    31
See reviews for
314
949
108
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Booked late deal via expedia expecting a great 5 star hotel - though it has the facilities of a 5* and the recently refurbished lobby/bar(s) are very attractive the standard room we booked was not only shabby and outdated but was not cleaned to the standard I would expect of a 5* hotel (dirty windows etc). We complained and were advised that the hotel was in the process of being refurbished and we had not paid the full rate (thankfully!) despite this our concerns were addressed and we were moved to a junior suite (same issues but marginally nicer!) Overall rooms that have not been refurbished are more like 3* and location is a little removed thus taxis and trams are essential if you wish to visit the centre.

Food is expensive - we had room service breakfast as were unprepared to pay 29 euros for a buffet breakfast but even at 6 euros the breakfast (scrambled eggs and sausage) was cold and rather revolting!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Booked a winter arrangement for two nights inclusive breakfast in a deluxe room. We had a big corner room with a large bed, a big bathroom with big bath, Shower, toilet , two sinks and a tv . Everything in the room works with one electric panel : the curtains, airco, lights, .. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is far away from the center ( 15 - 25 minutes walking ) So you can better take a taxi. The breakfast is not that good that you would expect in a 5 star hotel ! Also the parking is very expensive 35.00 euro / 24 hours ! In the hotel is a delicious Tepanyaki restaurant : Sazanka !

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Went on a Holland America cruise and spent fly over night here. Wow! I'm used to staying at 2 and 3 star hotels with Rick Steves tours, this was something special. Great view from a large room. Very nice breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooth-fixer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I just got back from a 3 week Northern European Cruise with Holland America. We flew into Amsterdam and spent one night at the Okura before starting the cruise. Since the night was part of a "package" we didn't pay for the hotel directly, but I checked out what it would have cost us if we'd reserved on our own, and it wasn't worth the price, particularly when the hotel is located in the southern part of the city, a long distance from the main part of town in the north, and far from any major sites. Unless you love to walk, you'll end up taking public transportation or a taxi (there were many lined up at the entrance and several were Mercedes!). The were no restaurants close by, other than the HIGHLY priced ones located at the hotel (meals started at 70 Euros!). We walked around that afternoon looking for restaurants and finally found some, but they were all closed due to late July being "holiday" time. We searched for an ATM to pick up Euros but there were none at the hotel or in the direct vicinity. We ended up finding some food at a small deli several blocks away from the hotel and eating in our room.
Most of the Okura clients appeared to be Japanese businessmen in expensive suits. We felt under-dressed in our jeans and t-shirts. The hotel lobby is tastefully decorated in expensive, elaborate glass vases, tables and light fixtures.
The hotel staff were very cordial. One man at the front desk spoke English well and was a big help the 2nd day, calling the airlines for us, because we were waiting to hear about our checked luggage which had been left in Chicago and was supposed to be delivered to us.
Our large, attractively decorated corner room was on the 10th floor with panoramic window views of the city and canals (the hotel is situated on a canal which is quite picturesque with benches where you can sit and people watch). The room was clean, although the rug had a couple of dark spots where something had been spilled in the past. We noted that the hotel's website describes some amenities that only certain more expensive rooms must have. Ours had the basics, which was all we needed.
The shower tended to go hot/cold, which was annoying. The linens were good quality and heavy, there was a stocked mini fridge and wet bar in the room that had booze, soda, and snacks for sale, and the bed was quite comfortable.
Overall, the best part of the stay was the room's view. We took some good photos. Otherwise, for the price, if returning we'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We took our 16 Year Old Son & His Friend - to celebrate my 50th. Birthday!
Niether my wife or I could fault anyhting - and we have been lucky enough to have travelled all over the world.We ate Japanese on the first night and French
( 2 X MICHELLIN STARS) on the second night - My Birthday. The view from our corner room was "Breathtaking" (15TH FLOOR). It was a very nice, big, well equipped room.
The food was outstanding and we will be returning to Amsterdam and this hotel again when we do. The boys were able to do their own thing - even late at night as the city has a "very safe" feel to it. Getting around is easy - walk, take a tram, passanger bicyle ride or take a taxi - whichever you can afford or prefer. An Excellent Short Break !!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopakevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

A lovely hotel worth a stay. I stayed there with 2 other colleagues and all three of us enjoyed the hotel location and the great service. All the staff were wonderful and professionals with a permanent welcoming smile. Food was good and accomodating of my colleagu's very fussy eating habits.

Definitely recommended for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdonholidayopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,814 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing