We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #81 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights from 23 Aug in Room 114 which is a Standard Room and as everybody comments the beds are probably the most comfortable hotel beds you will ever find.
The problem we had was the constant noise of running water which started very early morning before 7 am and continued throughout the morning making sleep impossible despite the quality of the bed.
On the second morning we reported the problem to Reception and they said they would report our complaint.
No result. Nothing improved.
When we checked out on the 26th the Receptionist asked for our room number and then informed us how much City Tax we owed.
Normally when checking out of any hotel you are asked if you have enjoyed your stay and were there any problems.
Nothing
May I suggest that a member of the Management spend a night in this room because in its present state it is not fit for purpose.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Ellington7,

First of all I would like to thank you for your honest rating here on TripAdvisor.

I do sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us.
Whilst I can assure you that any neglect experienced in this instance would have been as a result of thoughtlessness rather than intent, please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.
I do sincerely hope you will not judge us on this unique situation and trust you will agree that the experience made is not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care.

Once again, thank you very much for expressing your experience with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    924
    370
    144
    80
See reviews for
228
1,249
104
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

stunning hotel, fantastic service, location was fantastic, rooms furnished beautifully.perfect location 15 min tram ride to city centre night life just a short walk away an absolute must highly recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in junior suite, it was fantastic. double room wasnt as good worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Shirley D,

Thank you so much for you kind review!
I am very happy to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay and that you recommend the Park Hotel.

I would love to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I had a 5th floor room overlooking the Hobbemastraat and it was great for me as a single traveler. The location was great, as it allowed me to easily catch the land rail or a short walk to several museums. The bed is soft which might bother some, but I had no problem. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarksterInFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Dear MarksterInFL,

We are delighted to know that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel. As you noted our central location is one of our strengths.

We really hope you will make it back to Amsterdam to host you as our guest again.

Warm regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

FABULOUS HOTEL!

First time traveller to Amsterdam. 4 day stay. Chose this hotel because of location and turned out to be a brilliant decision.

Location of this hotel is great for sightseers. 5 min walk to Rijkmuseum and the Vondelpark. 10 min walk to Van Gough museum. Directly across the road is Hard Rock Cafe/Irish bar and Casino and behind that are streets of cafe's restaurants. There is also a canal boat stop opposite the hotel (which we used) and a day ticket for that (€20 per person) enabled us to hop on and off any of the canal boats to explore further a field attractions such as the street market (clothes/local foods), red light district, china town, maritime museum, Anne Frank house. The canal boats are a nice relaxed way to see Amsterdam and there is a bit of audio information as you go round. Takes approx 90mins to do a full circle on the longest route. Boats are mostly covered with see through roof's so ok if raining and have a toilet. Trams are fine if you need to get around quicker and don't want to walk or lots of people hire bicycles but looks a bit hairy if you're not familiar with Amsterdam's roads.

Booked this hotel with flights via Easyjet - very simple booking online and very reasonable price (£230 per person for 3 nights)

Airport transfer was fine via local bus service (every 15 min) Cost €5 and takes about 30mins so not necessary to get an expensive transfer if wanting to keep the costs down. (Taxi quoted €37 one way, could have booked via Easyjet for €50 return) . Hotel is a 5 min slow walk from the nearest bus stop. You could also get the train from airport to Central station and then a tram (cost €9 per person total one way ) but not really any quicker from door to door.

Staff excellent throughout our stay. Efficient, pleasant and extremely helpful. They have lots of local information which helped us to plan our days and make the most of a short stay. Tickets for some attractions are available from the hotel (at same price) but mean you go in a shorter queue than if you buy a ticket at the venue. We did this for Van Gough museum and it worked well.

Hotel has a nice reception area with a library corner if you have any time to kill. Room was excellent ( no. 534). Quiet room - even with the window open during the night. At the end of a corridor so no noise from passing guests. Very clean. Daily room valet. Ensuite shower room nicely kitted out, two sinks and a very good shower. Bed was huge and like sleeping in a cloud (if you like a soft bed) with duck down bedding. Well equipped room - TV, desk, armchairs, minibar, a good hairdrier, one UK plug socket (useful if you forgot your adapter) and several EU sockets.
Free wifi and LAN cable.

Didn't use room service but price for this was very reasonable - sandwiches and lite bites for around €6.

Only minor gripes ( to give a balanced review) was the cost of a breakfast which was €18 per person (if booked in advance, more if not) so we chose not to eat at the hotel but at one of the many coffee bars nearby. Not much of a view other than rooftops from the window of the room we were in but that was not important to us for this type of trip and did not detract from the quality of the hotel.

Incidentally, a word of warning re Anne Frank's house - worth booking this online before travelling if you can. We did not manage to get entry to this as the queue's were 2-3 hrs for those without pre purchased tickets.

Overall an excellent stay all round likely will return to Amsterdam as so much to see and would use this hotel again without question.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if possible as other reviewers have mentioned that standard rooms are small. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear ElaineMulligan,

Thank you so much for this amazing detailed review!
I love to read how much you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and all the places you visited during your stay!

I am very happy that you are so enthousiastic and would like to welcome you back again soon at the Park Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and modern room, good location (to visit Amsterdam although not central), but if you are unlucky and get a room facing the street, this is so noisy.
Indeed, the hotel is located on a main way that goes around the city center and there is so much traffic (including trucks). As the rooms and windows are not sound proof and even providing poor isolation, I could not sleep well for 2 nights. I would have moved hotel if possible.
So, get a room facing the back side or go somewhere else....

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yvanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Yvanab,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and rating your stay at TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to learn of your concern and I would like to apologize for the disappointment you have expressed in regards to the noise you experienced in your room.
We are planning to do some renovations this and next year. Together with the renovations we are planning to put double glazing in all the rooms.

Please, next time you experience some form of discomfort during your stay contact the Service Desk so they can try to move you to another room of provide you with another solution.

I do sincerely hope to welcome you again at the Park Hotel!


Warm Regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Reading other reviews, it sounds like there are better appointed rooms than the room we were in. We had rooms in the older part of the hotel, rooms 109 and 309. They were very small, which we are used to in Europe, but the configuration made it difficult for two people to maneuver around.
Rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable, window was small looking out to a parking area...but quiet.
The location is great, close to a great park, Van Gogh museum, restaurants. We could have taken the tram or rented bikes but we chose to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Although our rooms were small (109 and 309) they were quiet. Other travelers have commented that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLDedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Dear SLDedmonton,

It was a pleasure to note how you have enjoyed your stay in Park Hotel. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We kindly thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased to know that you have spent such an enjoyable time with us. A part of our hotel is situated in an monumental building and that can have an effect on the size of the room. Please contact the staff of the Service Desk for your next stay so they can make you a nice offer for an upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

A fantastic stay in a fantastic hotel. A very comfortable room well decorated and equipped. From the very beginning I was impressed with the hotel organising my transfer from the airport, a smooth check in with time to spare before bed to enjoy a drink from the living room bar, complete with a macaroon. The MOMO restaurant provided a wonderful self serve breakfast in the morning and in the evening it transforms into a very nice looking restaurant and cocktail bar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Dear ExeterGemini,

Thank you for all the kind words you wrote about your stay at the Park Hotel. I feel truly happy when reading such compliments!

I would be delighted to welcome you back here in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Suzanne
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing