We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too far out and staff very rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too far out and staff very rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour, therefore cannot comment on price.
A long way from the city – too far/expensive for a cab and about an hour on the tram.
We had two extremely bad experiences with catering staff. Firstly while waiting for service at bar we were ignored 3 times by staff walking by. When we requested seervice we told to “wait”.
Later that night we purchased a bottle of wine at the bar and took it to our table, a staff member who said he was the manager stormed up and without any questions ripped the bottle out of my grasp and said “you cannot drink that here” suggesting that we had bought our own wine into the restaurant.
When he finally allowed us to talk and we explained it was purchased in the hotel he refused to apologise. He was also one of the staff that ignored us earlier.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    447
    252
    79
    66
See reviews for
173
346
51
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We've booked the Tulip to explore Amsterdam for a few days. As we travelled by car, finding the hotel wasn't much of a problem. Due to the parking situation we decided to switch to the tram to go downtown. The 10 minute walk isn't much of a problem either, but you do see some shady figures walking there at night...

Anyway, our room was of good size, bed was good, bathroom with walk-in shower, so far all great. The window (onto a costruction site - this is no criticism on the hotel!) was dirty (stains all over it from people leaning against it with their foreheads). We mentioned this at the frontdesk and they promised to take care of it. Well, within three days they did not. We complained about it twice. It is not a big deal to us, but customer service shows in the small things... and calling up the cleaning personell to tell them to swipe the window in room xyz takes what - 30 seconds? The hotel wasn't overcrowded and front desk staff didn't look too busy.

Breakfast buffet was good, plenty stuff to chose from, ample space in the dining room.

For people who look for inexpensive accomodation and don't mit the tram trip to see Amsterdam do go ahead and book here. Should we return to AMS, we'll shell out a few more Euros and book somewhere else, nearer to the city center.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTH_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed here for 3nights with my boyfriend and 2 friends, our room was fine, great size, clean with nice showerroom. There are no stairs from 2nd floor up, which is a great fire hazard due to only way out being a lift. Our main concern was the lack of communication, we had all paid in advance through lastminute.com, fair prices and easy access. when we arrive though to our disappointment there was a deposit of 50euros to be paid up front, no warning of this was given. Told we would recieve it back when checking out, we complied with the policies of the hotel and paid, thinking it would be used for our taxi back to airport. Though the end of our stay came and with leaving early morning we just wanted our money and to leave, to be told "city taxes" had to come off the 50euro deposit, we were only given 42.68euros back. In my opinion this is shocking and could have atleast been given warning! Ask questions if you are going to stay here, but be ware you will not get a friendly reponse.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeratbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

I ask for a clean, comfortable, warm but not hot room with a decent shower. I like free internet, a bar and a restaurant. Ideally, there is a tram outside tthe door and that is the only shortcoming of this hotel. This hotel is in a lovely green part of Amsterdam but off the beaten track. Plan your route on public transport and you are fine. I am likely to use it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We booked this hotel as a last resort due to the city being over run with vistors to an International Broadcasting Exhibition. We took the tram as instructed on the directions we received with the booking which landed us in the Bronx. The instructions then said 'the hotel is 10 minutes walk from the tram' - ten minutes in which direction???

We finally found the hotel after asking dodgy looking locals (it's not in a nice area at all) and when we tried to check in the miserable lady on reception said they had doubled book many rooms including ours and that we would be transferred to another.

She wouldnt tell us how, when, where or even what the other hotel was called. We were told to wait outside and would be called when a taxi had come for us. We waited for a while with various taxi drivers asking if we were the next to be transferred but because of the lack of information given to us, we didnt have a clue. The afore mentioned lady on reception (Stefanie) rudely told us to wait outside and finally we got in a cab.

This ended up being the wrong cab and he tried charging us which we spent half an hour sorting out over the radio in a layby.

Once sorted we ended up at the Dorint hotel near the airport which was a 1000 times better and actually was the silver lining to our black cloud of an experience with the Tulip Hotel.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Avoid Amsterdam taxis at all costs too. Stay close to the centre (its worth paying extra) and use the excellent trams and trains instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramone1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

This hotel is not in the main CBD of Amsterdam but is a good hotel at the right price. The tram is only abiut 5 minutes walk from the hotel and takes about 20 minutes to the CBD. The rooms are a good size and breakfast is very good.
There was 4 adults in our party staying in 2 rooms with all the necessary facilities.
We were able to get a taxi from the airport for 31.00 euros where a shuttle was 15.00euros per person.
A 24 hour public transport ticket is available from the front desk for 7 euros which gives you access to trams, buses and ferries.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

I've stayed here many times just for the convenience. It's usually for one day so I put up with the horrible service at the reception. They never smile and they're not very helpful. The only department that's worth a compliment is one of the waiters during the night shift in the restaurant. I've eaten dinner there twice and he is the only one that actually smiles and seems to enjoy working there.

I've posted some photos so you can see the basic layout. However, I do agree with other reviewers:
- rooms are old and outdated, like the building and the neighborhood.
- this hotel is in basically a hostel.
- bathrooms are dirty and no matter which room you get, it always has a bad smell.
- bed isn't comfortable and the air conditioner works, but gives off an odd smell.
- there is wifi you can pay or if you have Ethernet cable, it's free

Now, the WORST part:
- the neighborhood is not safe at all. If you're traveling alone, don’t stay here.
- Your car is not safe. My car was recently vandalized, which was parked in the hotel parking lot. Both of my windows were broken and I had nothing visible to see inside of my car. I had to file a police report & they said the assailants probably watched me park the car. They probably saw that I was putting away my GPS and noticed that I had a different national license plate. The police also think there were 2 assailants as they broke both windows.
- the police even said Reimerswaalstraat, where the hotel is located, has one of HIGHEST CAR BREAK-IN CRIME IN THE AREA.

In all, I would say pay the extra 15 or 20 Euros a night and go somewhere else. I always knew this area wasn't safest so I took extra caution, but if they're standing around targeting the people parking in the hotel, then you have no chance.
Far worse, the receptionist don’t care. They acted like this happens every other day.
So, STAY SOMEWHERE BUT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjspurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#226 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Property: New West Inn Amsterdam
Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing