We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel in fantastic central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great hotel in fantastic central location”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

iv recently been in amsterdam and im very happy to say that i stayed at this hotel.before going there i trawled on here for hours trying to find the right hotel and im glad to say that i did.i bought the break away to amsterdam for 3 nights for my husband and i for his 30th birthday and was looking for a good hotel in a central location.i had been to amsterdam myself a couple of years previous and had stayed in a hostel that was miles away fom anything that we wanted to see or do and so i didnt want to get caught out again.the hotel itself is literally a 2 minute walk to dam square and is pretty much central to any other area that you would want to see.its 10 min walk to centraal station.we walked the whole time we were there and neither of us would be big into walking.
the rooms are standard,if not a little old fashioned-but most of them are in amsterdam,unless
your willing to pay massively for them.our room had everything that we needed,tea coffee,iron tv etc.my only small complaint would be that it was s little noisy in the morning time.breakfast wasnt great for me but my husband loved it.lots of differrent types of cold meats,yoghurts,cereals,toast tea,coffee,croissants etc
i really would highly recommend this hotel if your only going for a short while and dont want to have to get trams everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smileen1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    375
    177
    32
    16
See reviews for
110
359
66
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Msk
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two night. It takes 10 minutes to go in the hotel by walk. The street is small and there are a lot of people but they did not make a noise. Staff was helpful. There is tea maker in the room. Wi-fi internet was good. Room was clear, bed is comfortable. Bathroom is good and clean. Breakfast was modest, but not bad. Minus: hotel took 50 euro guarantee fee.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4apa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This Hotel is a real gem, it is very clean and great value and best of all only a few yards for Dam Square in the Heart of Amsterdam.Staff were also very friendly and made its a very pleasant stay.Only a 5 to 10 min walk from Central Station which links you to the Airport. Would defo recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gempodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Best Western Dam Square Inn in downtown Amsterdam is nicely located within walking distance to the Main Train Station and with train access to points around the city and close access to canal cruises, shopping streets. The reception staff are always helpful and nearby are a number of good restaurants and pubs. Check out the all-you-can-eat Sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDXfrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel was right in the center of city just 5 minutes walking from city rail station connecting Airport and Europe. Tram connections, Canal cruise, shopping street, restaurants, Tour departures too were very close. Staff was very helpful and kind. The room was very small, but our overall stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: Take higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Bad service, bad attitude, bad quality... :(
I used to love this hotel, but I will never come here again. The cleaning lady broke my laptop, denied it and then the manager blamed me for leaving my laptop on the room's carpet. So I wouldn't go there if you plan to leave valuable belongings in places where the hotel thinks it is ok to break them. Of course, no compensation for my broken laptop was offered. I used to go there a lot and it really saddens me to be treated this way.

Room Tip: DO NOT put anything on the floor (including your suitcase), they are NOT responsible for any damage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam on 2 January so the streets of Amsterdam were filthy! There was litter everywhere! We walked from the Central Station to the hotel (about 2.5kms) not bad and instructions on how to get there worked, but when we arrived in our street we were shocked that that was where we had to walkled down - quite dodgey! Once found the hotel wasn't as bad as the rest of its surroundings. The rooms are quite old fashioned and carpets are dated. There were two single beds pushed together - which I hate (hardly romantic!) and no curtains - it was winter and the sun only rose at 9h30 but still it made the room cold and unfriendly. Towels were the size of my bath mats at home and could hardly wrapped around me. The buffet breakfast was just cereal, youghurt and toast.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#149 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dam Square Inn

Property: Best Western Dam Square Inn
Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing