We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel but too much street noise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but too much street noise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights a room on the 1st floor. Hotel is in great location but the street noise is so bad that even ear plugs didn't help! Staff were friendly, our room was large and had good beds and good airconditioning. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath. The breakfast was a good basic continental breakfast. Would recommend a room not on the street frontage. You can walk from the main train station.

Room Tip: go up higher than the first floor and have a back room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    363
    170
    31
    15
See reviews for
104
348
65
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We arrived into Amsterdam with no accommodation - we went online and managed to book this property through Booking.com. The beds were the best/comfiest + cool additional pull-down single bed. The room was a tad bit small but us three ladies managed with ease. The bathroom was quite spacious but the shower was really tiny though. We were very happy with the free wi-fi and continental breakfast (with cold cuts and cheese). We only stayed for 2 nights but it felt like we've been there for a while. The staff were the best, a special thanks goes to Danielle and Hossain for making our stay that much better. Great location amongst all the tourist and shopping action! The taxi from the airport could only drop us a fair bit (but a comfy walk) to the hotel, however, on our departure, BW staff organized a taxi for us that picked us up not more than 10 steps from the hotel.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property on our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesorlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The great advantage of this hotel is its central location: located in a small ally just 2 minutes walk from the Royal palace in Dam Square, and 10 minutes walk from the Amsterdam central train station. There are tram lines, small restaurants, coffee shops and bars near by. The hotel is medium sized (3 floors with few tens of rooms), clean, pleasant and smoke free.
We had a back yard room that was very quiet, (unlike the noisy Dam Square hotels).
The room was clean, medium sized, with basic décor. The beds are wide and long (suitable for tall people) and very comfortable, we had an excellent sleep quality.
There is in room complementary tea/coffee, free Wi-Fi, flat TV, extra folding bad, (on the first glance we thought that it is another closet…) and a safe.
Breakfast was included in the price, basic but satisfactory, with free coffee to go and apples (An apple a day keeps the doctor away…).
The stuff was very friendly and helpful.
On the down side:
We did not enjoy the shower: top shower head, not adjustable, poor water pressure, (we were on the 3rd floor) and no hand shower.
There is no car parking in the hotel, and no direct access by car, we had to drag our suitcases for ~150 meters from the point were the taxi dropped us.
Bottom line:
All and all you get a fair value for your money, (Amsterdam hotels are not cheap…) and this hotel is convenient, pleasant and recommended for tourism of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Take a back yard room, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We only stayed here 1 night but wish we had stayed longer in Amsterdam. The hotel is less than 15 minutes walk from the main railway station, but only 1 minute from Dam Square (the main square of Amsterdam and surrounded by shops, restaurants, sights). It is also only 10 minutes walk to a main canal and Anne Frank House.
We hope to return to the city and would definately stay here again. The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to add some hot/cooked items to their cold buffet breakfast which is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the quiet side of the hotel if you're a light sleeper as one side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetroter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked into this, two rooms at short notice, and were impressed with the rooms and reasonable price for summer and city centre.

Comlaints: The teabags in my room were encased in some sort of armoured foil and I would rather have UHT milk than a powdered creamer.

The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about. It is my custom when travelling to ravage the breakfast buffet and skip lunch - not this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

It's a pretty basic, no frills hotel near the Dam and easily accessible to the trams and train. No ironing board or fridge, but it was great to walk into our room on the 2nd floor with window open, Sunny, fresh air and nice view of the cathedral. You do hear the chatter of the busy street just below and inhale deeply and life is good:). It was clean, housekeeping singing happily (!) and the most pleasant and helpful staff I have ever come across! Breakfast was just right and like most good free breakfasts, get there early enough for the best selection.

Room Tip: We overlooked the cathedral and front side of the busy street, but loved the whole ambiance. Next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have previously been in 4 different hotels in Amsterdam and this has been by far the best of them all. Great location, very good breakfast with excellent service. Hotel is non-smoking, rooms have flat screen tv´s and they are clean and spacious. Only downside was that there is no refrigerator in the room, also we had some minor problems with the wifi. Would recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#138 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing