We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful large antique orange doors,great location, quiet room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bourges, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful large antique orange doors,great location, quiet room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Great location, Central to train station, Buses, canal tours, major sites. Nice lobby, good breakfast. Our room had no view, but was very quiet (As we requested) and had good Wi-Fi. We had three in our room and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    363
    170
    31
    15
See reviews for
104
348
65
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a change of plans during our holiday and had to find a hotel at extremely short notice in Amsterdam - we received an excellent rate for a very comfortable room in walking distance of the train station. We have an 8 year old and booking directly with the hotel he was free in the fold down third bed in the room, which was a bonus for us.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was very modern and well appointed with everything you need. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was extensive. We had an inside courtyard room and it was very quiet.

The position is down a small side street which had character. The downside for us was the number of people smoking directly in front of the hotel and at all the tables on the small street. The hotel itself is completely nonsmoking but the street was so narrow it was hard to avoid. I know this is not an issue for many people but it was for us.

I would have given this hotel five stars as the staff, rooms, breakfast and room rate were all excellent, however, because of location as a family hotel I don't think it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Given that hotels in Europe are generally not as well-appointed as those in Asia and considerably more expensive, the Best Western Dam was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were more than adequate and clean and of course the hotel's central position in the city is a huge bonus. The reception is friendly and very helpful. Having arrived at 7:00 am we were able to leave our cases at the hotel till checking-in time. It is a 10 minute walk from Central train station and right in the heart of Amsterdam. The continental breakfast laid on in the small but cosy restaurant is excellent and it set us up for the day.
I would certainly recommend this hotel especially at the price we paid of 150 euros a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff extremely helpful and courteous. The location couldn't be better and we were able to walk everywhere without having to use trams as it is sooo central - the lane is also picturesque. Very quiet and able to sleep with open windows as no noise whatsoever - unusual for central location and also no noise within the hotel itself. Beds very comfortable and nice clean and functional en suite. Breakfast was absolutely fine - first time we have had continental in 15 years as opposed to cooked, but did the trick and much healthier. would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we were clueless about what we were doing or where we were going but we walked to Dam square from the Central station (about 5-10 mins) and from there found our hotel quickly and easily (2mins from Dam Square)

Food was excellent and room was amazing. The location was excellent - 2 mins away from the heart of the action yet quiet and peaceful for sleeping and relaxing. The beds were comfortable and huge! The buffet breakfast was excellent value. Staff were well mannered and helpful and spoke excellent english - almost better than us!!

The only downside was that the lift was kinda small but hey if thats the only downside then thats ok by me!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabydollVonHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharr4813
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just stayed here and were quite pleased with the hotel. Hilka was very helpful for all our needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very adequate.
The location was right next to Dam Square and yet it was very quiet at night.
We were able to walk to many places right from the hotel. I would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shar4813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in Amsterdam. We were able to walk the short distance to the hotel dragging our luggage (shades of Venice)! Our hotel was in the very center of things right off Dam Square. We were able to walk to all the sites, feel part of everything going on & still get a good night's sleep for a reasonable price. Our room was at the front of the house & quite spacious compared to some of the interior rooms. During the day we could enjoy the street sounds but things closed up early in the evening so our sleep wasn't disturbed. The beds (twins pushed together as a king) were so comfortable we found we were sleeping 10 hours / night -- unheard of! All the staff was terrific & had no difficulty with working in English. We enjoyed the complementary breakfasts each morning to start our day off well. I found the small elevator frustrating sometimes but it is insignificant given the overall service in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheReids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear TheReids,

Thank you so much for your positive review.
You have given us the best compliments we can get you really made our day!
The 10 hour sleep is the best compliment!
We hope to see you back in our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#138 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing