We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Heart of the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Ranked #140 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Right in the Heart of the Town”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We picked this hotel for two reasons: location and cost. The location is outstanding, about a 10 minute walk from Central Station, 1 block to Dam Square, 1 or 2 blocks to multiple tram lines, 3 blocks to the Red Light district, and lots of restaurants and taverns in the area. We discovered that September is a busy conference season in Amsterdam and that hotel rates go up, so most of the hotels that we would normally have chosen would have cost 2 or 3 times as much as we paid, so, recognizing that Best Western is essentially a good hotel, we went with it. It was a good choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. The carpets should be replaced or at least cleaned. The rooms on the street side are noisy. We (and our travel companions) had trouble getting the TV channels to work properly. The staff seemed perplexed and it seemed to be problems with wiring connections. We would go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 117 which is on the street side and our traveling companions were in 115 which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    393
    185
    35
    16
See reviews for
118
373
68
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in August for work. Is a 2/3 star hotel in a pretty central area of Amsterdam and although very basic and in need of a facelift, was pretty clean and provided a quiet night's sleep. Imagine a rough-around-the-edges Travelodge and you're not far off.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaguraCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location of the gotel is ideal to cover all the main points of the city. The staff is very polite and helpful. However our room in the second floor (don't rebember the number) needed a change of mattress and a deep cleaning of the carpet!!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianaPuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Depending on what you are looking for, this could be a great hotel for you in Amsterdam. It is not a 5 star luxury resort. It is a small, clean, well located hotel. The staff was excellent. They gave me great recommendations for a walking tour of the town, and stayed out of my way when I didn't want to talk to them. My room on the first floor was simple, but clean, and the Wifi worked.

On a side note, there is a great bar just down the street with a fine selection of Belgian beers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_from_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Dam Square hotel is ideally located just off the main square on a pretty narrow street with cafes and restaurants. It is a short walk to the shops, Amsterdam museum, station and the red light district.

It is perfectly clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. We booked Dam Square in at the last minute when our original hotel proved unpleasant. It was the same price but so much better in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocca1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location. It is an excellent location for walking and sight-seeing in Amsterdam. Dam Square is just minutes away, central station is a 15 minute walk or a $6 cab ride. The Red-Light District is just blocks from the hotel as are the canals and shopping.

The hotel itself is basic - small rooms but very comfortable. We had a triple room and it was sufficient. The air conditioning crashed the first night but was fixed by the next afternoon. The free breakfast is a nice perk. It is continental but does the job first thing in the morning. The free wireless internet was great with a strong signal.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early (9am) after an all night flight from Toronto and were able to check into our room and catch a nap before venturing out to explore. We took a cab from the airport and it was about 60 Euros with tip. You can catch a train for 4 Euros from Shipol Airport if you like - it is quick but a little akward with large bags.

There are lots of nice little cafe's and restaurants nearby with a wide range of ethnic food choices. We never had a bad meal, the food was great.

Just beware of cyclists - they don't stop for pedestrians, almost worse than New York City, ha ha.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Clean no frills small hotel, reasonable prices. Location couldn't be better, easy walk from train station, canal tours, major sites etc. etc. lots of places close by to eat and shop.

WONDERFUL STAFF! Husband, cancer survivor and has heart problems. When we arrived in Amsterdam he was not feeling good. We went straight to hotel, five hours ahead of official check in time. Explain this to the lady at check in desk and ask if we could get a room now, willing to pay extra for it. She said all the rooms were full the night before and cleaning staff had just arrived a short time ago. But she would see what she could do. The "Wonderful" staff worked to get a room ready in a very short time.

We can not find enough words that tell you how much we appreciated all they did to help us.

Everthing about the hotel was good. The location, very clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast with "healthy choices".

Neat Hotel, located in a historic building, built in 1650 which was a former liqueur factory.

This is where our children will be staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,384 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#153 of 368 in Amsterdam
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
609 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#97 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dam Square Inn

Property: Best Western Dam Square Inn
Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing