We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Tropen does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Ranked #136 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“NH Tropen does the job”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Just back from a weekend break staying at the NH Tropen with 11 friends.
Great location just outside the city. Easy to get to from Centraal Station by Tram 9 or Bus 22. Taxi's cost between 11 & 20 euro depending on time of day etc. As usual, do not forget to check before hand.
All our rooms and beds were a good size. All very clean and tidy. The hotel reception staff were very, very helpful and friendly. They arranged the 2 mini buses back to airport without any fuss. The buses cost 65 euro for 6 people, so saved a lot of time going back into the city. All 12 of us would go back, no problem at all.
Behind the hotel is the park, but more importantly.....across the road directly from the hotel was the local high street with a few good bars selling decent beer from smaller breweries etc. We quite liked the Spar90 bar which served Hertrog Jan beer. Just 10 minutes walk from the hotel is the Brouwerij't IJ brewery pub on Funenkade 7. Turn left out of the hotel towards the canal then turn right. Look for the large windmill and the pub is beneath it. Tours at various times are available, but the pub shuts around 2000hrs most nights, so get there earlier.
If you are in a group and looking for things to do, try booking the beer bike tour of the city. I will say no more, just search the world wide web thingy.
Hope this review helps. Enjoy. Tony

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    395
    148
    46
    21
See reviews for
70
377
36
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

NH Tropen is part of the NH-hoteles group. NH runs a lot of hotels in Amsterdam and this is one of the cheapest (for early bookers) because it's just outside the city center and located in a not attractive building. NH is mostly good quality so is this hotel. Rooms are well sized, bed is perfect and a very good breakfast. As it is one of the few high-rise buildings in the area you may ask for a upper floor room at the city-center side. Big save private parking for 20 euro a day. This is cheap compared to the 48 euro a day in city center.
To the downside: The hotel doesn't have airco which can be annoying on a hot summer day in July or August... Bathroom is a bit outdated (but clean) and the breakfast is expensive (15 euro). No free Wifi (Swisscom, didn't take it but I guess it's around 10 euro/24h)

Room Tip: Upper floor at city center side for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at NH Tropen. The rooms were small and bathroom was quite a squeeze but overall the room was very comfortable, clean and nice.

We managed to get a room with a view of the museum and it was lovely. The hotel is not very central but tram service is just at the door and main attractions are very easily accessible via public transport which is available 24/7 (bear in mind that public transport is extremely efficient here). It takes about 20 minutes to get to the central area and I would suggest that you get a day ticket or week ticket, depending on your length of stay, as it is more economical and allows you to travel all around Amsterdam.

Breakfast at NH Tropen was simple and is nothing lavish but quality of food and drinks were quite good. Although the breakfast service team weren't really bothered about service, the front desk staff were generally polite and friendly.

Being further away from the city center, this hotel is in a very peaceful location, ideal for those who are looking for a place to have a good rest and a good nights sleep. You will definitely be away from the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam night life but still within close reach. Convenience stores are available nearby.

Although the bed was comfortable and I slept well generally, there were some downsides to the hotel - I could hear the wind howling when it was windy and at about 5am there was repeated clanking noises (probably from the heating system when it is turned on) which was very annoying.

Check-in and check-out was very efficient but wi-fi was only available in the lobby for a limited time which was quite inconvenient.

I would highly recommend this hotel for those who are more adventurous and do not mind using public transport to get around. For those who are looking to party and crash, this is not the right hotel as you may have difficulty making your way back after a few drinks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Last minute trip to Amsterdam to see Take That. Wanted a cheap hotel for one night and that is what we got!

Arrived at the hotel just after midday bit they let us check in early with we were very pleased about. They asked for a credit card deposit even though we had paid online for our room but when we explained we didn't have a credit card they wavered this despite us offering cash.

Room was good and a nice size. Bed was on wheels on a wood floor which was a bot annoying but by the time we got back in the early hours I didn't care although my other half complained about the pillows being small. Plenty of storage space and a digital safe which was handy, Bathroom and toilet were separate and clean with plenty of towels. When we came in a stupid o'clock in the morning the man on reception was very friendly and super helpful. I was very impressed with the service!!

The hotel was a bit out of the way but public transport in Amsterdam is brilliant as are all the public transport staff..... 200% better than in London! Number 9 tram passes through every 5-10 minutes and takes you through the centre to the station and runs until 12.30am when you can hop on the number 357 nightbus.

On the whole it does what it says and I would say give it a g!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumof51411983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The NH Tropen Hotel is adequate, but does little to exceed expectations. The hotel. located in the East area of the city, next door to the intriguing Tropenmueum and lush Oostpark, is perfect for people like me who no longer feel the need or desire to be in the tourist-crowded and noisy city center at all hours. The hotel is located across the street from the convenient #9 Tram, which takes you quickly to the center (10 min.) and to Centraal Station (15 min.). Amsterdam is small, and completely walk-able/bike-able, so you're truly never too far from anything. The hotel faces a convenient neighborhood shopping street with the usual grocery, pharmacy, and even a street market, with a number of low-key bars and restaurants nearby.

That said, the NH Tropen Hotel itself provides a basic, clean, and safe stay. However, I found service to be minimal at best. This isn't the kind of place where staff greet you warmly as you walk around and come and go from the hotel. The staff are generally cold and, if you are unlucky, will occasionally omit or give incorrect information. For instance, when I brought my luggage down for check-out and day-storage with the intention of returning to my room to retrieve my jacket and handbag, the clerk neglected to tell me that my keycard would no longer work. After failing to re-enter the room and returning to the desk, another clerk supposedly corrected the problem and restored my keycard. However, when I returned to the room, it did not work! I had to return to the desk a third time, where a more experienced and friendlier clerk escorted me to my room to give me access. The same girl who failed to restore my keycard later gave me false information about the location of a nearby post office. I find it hard to believe that I am the only tourist who has ever asked the hotel where to find the nearest post office! She directed me to the main shopping street, saying that the grocery store (A. Heyn) and another store (Bruna) had postal desks and that there were no longer "big post offices" in Amsterdam. Well, the grocery does not have a postal desk and there is no Bruna on that street. Only after asking around and walking a bit further, I did find a real post office (shared with an ING bank) just two blocks away on the next major street!

Apart from these unfortunate interactions with staff, my room was ok. A bit on the small side (shower stall only), and for some reason the bathroom seemed to always be slightly redolent of urine -- although everything looked and seemed quite clean. My room had a useful hot water kettle, although the tea/coffee selections could have been nicer or at least included a decaf/herbal coffee or tea option. I have stayed at one other NH Hotel in the past (Frankfurt Airport), and I found the experience to be quite nice. (Although I really don't like NH bath products as they smell like Kool-Aid!) Sadly, the NH Tropen doesn't really compare. Despite NH Tropen's great location, I'm afraid I'll have to find another hotel for my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed in the hotel last winter when the snow attacked Amsterdam. Still the hotel was a warm and calling place. They time after time have good promotions so the price of the room was really good. It is not far from the city center, absolutely not far.

Room Tip: on the middle floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evaking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Not much from the outside but lovely inside. Very friendly and competent reception. Room reasonably spacious, adequate for two people. We had two twin beds which could be moved 2 inches apart. The mattresses were very comfortable and I slept well for 4 nights. Tea and coffee making facilities. Modern safe in the room. Wardrobe space a little on the small side for two people. Lovely view over the adjoining park and quiet on the 8th floor even with the windows open. We didn't hear the guests in the next room either. Bright and airy, the windows could be opened (leading out to a tiny balcony). The toilet is in a separate room (plus a wash basin) from the rest of the bathroom which was great. But that meant the bathroom itself (wash basin and shower) was very small. Not much space to put your toiletries, hang your towels etc. Plenty of hot water though day and night and water pressure was good even on the 8th floor. Bathroom was equipped with a hair dryer. Room was cleaned every day but the maid often forgot to do something or other like replace towels, tissues, note paper or coffee sachets, clean the cups etc. We tried the breakfast buffet one morning which offered a great range of food, all very tasty and fresh, but slightly overpriced at 18€ (15 if booked in advance).

As everyone else has written, the hotel is not in the centre but there's an abundance of public transport nearby. Tram no. 9 and bus 22 stop right outside. They come frequently and the ride on the 9 to the centre of town (called "Dam") is about 13 min. Tram no. 3 also stops not far from the hotel and goes directly to the Van Gough museum. The hotel can sell you museum tickets for 75 cent surcharge which saves a hugely long wait in line - definitely worth getting. Next door to the hotel is the Tropen museum and the zoo ("artis") is also not far. (Next to the zoo is Cafe Koosje that does nice inexpensive breakfast. The cafe "Coffee To Walk" opposite the zoo also does breakfast.) There are a few nice restaurants nearby (I particularly liked the food at "Spar 90" in the same street as the hotel) as well as a supermarket - very convenient. Beware that the hotel charges €20 a day for parking your car in their car park which I thought was rather steep. But they do free wifi in the lobby. Overall the 3 star rating is very fair and the Tropen is on the upper end of that.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzykrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#89 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Hotel Arena
#70 of 367 in Amsterdam
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing