We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Ranked #133 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great little hotel. Was everything we really needed for a 4 nights stay in Amsterdam. We only really slept in there so didn't spend much time in the room. We were on the 10th floor as requested, so had a good view. Staff were friendly and helpful. It only takes 15mins on the no:9 tram to get into the main square which was handy. Would stay there again if we return to Amsterdam which I am sure we will....once fully recovered ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni_1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    392
    146
    46
    21
See reviews for
70
374
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great staff. A little out of the way but the tram was right there and very reasonable. You could buy your tickets at the hotel which was nice. Thought the breakfast was a little pricy so didn't try it. Loved Amsterdam, would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I Really enjoyed my stay. Room facing park was quiet and comfortable. Staff was helpful. From this hotel , I had easy access to the city and then could go back to a quieter hotel. The 48 hour multi pass and knowledge of tram stop right outside hotel allowed seamless travel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed recently on a weekend break to amsterdam. The hotel is in a reasonable location jsut far enough away from teh center of the city but close enough to make it an easy tram journey. 10 mins on the tram will take you directly to the main tourist area. The room was small, however it was clean and well presented. We was there to do the tourist thing for a few days so it wasnt essential to spend a lot of time in the room. The reception staff were most helpfull when asking for directions. Overall a really pleasant 3* offering good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel as a couple and once again, Tripadvisor reviewers have got this one spot-on ... it has a good location, outside the main bustle of the city centre but only a short tram ride away (€7.50 on the tram buys you a 24h tram pass, its great value). Its adjacent to the Oosterpark so its quiet, serene, and very green. We also went to the botanic gardens, 10 minutes walk away. The hotel is just a bit run-down, and is having some refurbishment, but its like a grand old lady rather than a run-down facility. I wouldn't rave about the breakfast though, it is OK, what I would expect from a hotel of this rating and price.

Would I go back ? Only if I was working in the area but if it was a quick business trip to Amsterdam I'd stay nearer the airport or in the centre of the city, but if I wanted a more leisurely trip then this place I would re-visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the park, and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business conference. Good free wifi. Tasty breakfast. Not in center but easy access to tram 9 and 3/7. Accommodating staff and well kept property. De biertun pub across street very tasty. Would highly recommend and good value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank doctorfungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a week in this hotel. It is a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, with excellent breakfast. (Well worth the money). It is located just next to the beautiful Tropen Institute and the Tropen Museum, both are worth visited, along the side of the Oosterpark and close to the zoo. The location is great - Trams stops 9,3, 7 and 10 are very close. So it is very easy to get around with the Tram service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#100 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing