We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hidden charge!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #132 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend in November everything was lovely so I thought I would return with my friend in Febuary. Checked in the same as last time, then was told we were told we had to put a €75 euro deposit on the room on a credit card wich I didnt have to do before then when we checked out we only got back €68 euros back in cash and was told it was down to a local tax not receiving the full amout back??? Then by the time i changed it back into sterling I was very out of pocket. Very dissapointed as the room was lovely and paid for before hand and I was not going to use the mini bar etc and thought it was a way for them to con extra money out of me. I dont appreciate being ripped off!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jev_jevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Jev_jevio,

Thank you for your review. I can inform you that we always ask a deposit for incidentals upon check-in. When you book it will be shown on the confirmation that the city tax is not included in the room price. I can assure you that we had the same procedure in November but I am sorry for the fact that this was not communicated to you in a clear way. I have forwarded your message to the reservations- and front office department to make sure every guest is informed as they should be.
Thank you for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,904)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,941 - 2,947 of 3,905 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

I only have great things to say about this hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it for anyone visiting Amsterdam.
This was my first time visiting and so I wasnt sure which hotel to go for and this hotel was recommended to me.
When I arrived I was pleased with how nice and clean it was. Also for the price it wasnt what I expected... It was better than I expected!
The service from the staff in reception was fantastic, they will help in any way they can and are really pleasant and friendly.
The room (I didnt stay in the urban wing) was really clean and modern.
The location was perfect, literally all the places you would want to visit as a tourist are in walking distance.
10 out of 10 from us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JoJo_5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear JoJo_5666,

“Excellent hotel”, we could not wish for a better compliment! Thank you for your nice words. On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!
Best regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stay at Park Plaza Victoria Hotel i february 2012.
We got a room in the old part of the hotel, where they about to renovated the outside of the hotel. The room was very small and there was no space around the bed. You could only get in and out of bed from one side or from the end of the bed.
The bed was a small dobbeltbed, the bathroom was almost bigger than the rest of the room.
The bathroom was nice, it has a bathtub and nice appliences.
There was noise from the streets wich might have been prevented with soundprooved windows.
We found the bed to small and we asked the staff for a different room, wich they gave us the next day.
We were mooved with no trouble, they even mooved our luggage for us.
We were mooved to the new part of the hotel, where the room are bigger and newly renovated.
The new room was very nice, the decour was great and the bed was bigger and cosy.
Brand new bathroom without a bathtub and they have a huge shower.
Short period af free internet, otherwise You must pay for more.
Breakfast - they charge 24 euro for breakfast wich is a bit much.
If You choose breakfast, order Your eggs freshly cooked.
All in all a nice stay.
Thanks to the friendly staff...!

Room Tip: Choose the newly renovated rooms in the new building. They cost a bit more, but they are worth it...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnTjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear UnTjus,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for the compliments regarding the staff. To bad that the first room did not meet your expectations, but I am glad to read that the team did their utmost to allocate another room.
I hope to welcome you back soon to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for a mid-week break with our 5 month old son and we loved the hotel. It is so central and everything is within walking distance. Staff were lovely and breakfast was good but very expensive for what you got, we ate here one morning but found it cheaper to go to the cafes in the main street which is a 5 minute walk away. There is lots to do and see in Amsterdam and we really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are lovely, modern and very spacious!
We would recommend this hotel and the price is good too...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazperth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Cazperth30,

Thank you for recommending Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam on Tripadvisor and for your compliments towards the staff.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you back when your travel brings you back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) and were totally happy. The room was booked through a comparison site, so we knew we had a good deal, and it reached expectations. We arrived early and way before check in (around 11:30) and was pleasantly surprised when told our room was ready. They kindly gave us an upgrade without asking (thank you), although we did book 3 or 4 weeks earlier. The male receptionist was very polite, helpful and welcoming.

The room (Executive double) was lovely. It was very clean, well furnished and had everything we expect from a 4 star hotel (except no bath robes). The TV already had a welcome message on it and had enough English channels should you wish to watch TV. They provided a nice range of toiletries and the small toothbrushes and paste was an unusual extra touch. Despite being on the front it was quiet with very light noise heard from outside

The hotel is ideally located as only a 5 minute or less walk from Central Station. The outside currently has some work being done on it so it does not look as good as it is inside.

We paid £130 per night for the 2 nights and it was good value for money, although breakfast was not included and was expensive at over 20 euros.

Overall, a lovely stay, I would certainly return if a good deal was available and the Park Plaza Victoria, Amsterdam, is fully recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and first 2 floors appear to have a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeep69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Mikeep69,

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor. I am glad we have met your expectations and that you would return in the future! Thank you for recommending and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very well maintained hotel, with excellent facilities. Conveniently situated opposite the central station, and within easy walking distance to most of Amsterdam's main attractions.
Be careful when you order breakfast though, ours was £20 per head - although very tasty and plenty of it. £20 each for breakfast is expensive!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Thank you for your review and your compliments. Just to inform you and future travelers, we also serve an à la carte breakfast in our Brasserie that is lower in price.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with 2 teenagers in adjoining rooms in the urban wing. The rooms were deceptively spacious by clever use of a mirrored wall and the bed very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. I am surprised to read the recent negative reviews as these do not equate with our experience. The room was cleaned but late in the day. The location is ideal for sightseeing - most well known landmarks were within walking distance save for the Museumplein which was an easy tram ride from outside the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel save for a mouthwatering walnut ice cream in the lounge! but noticed that the Brasserie served breakfasts of varying reasonably cheap prices (for those who have criticised the hotel restaurant breakfast prices). The car parking service was excellent - the car being taken away from outside the hotel and returned at the appointed time. Two criticisms - firstly arriving late in the day we went to a Chinese restaurant recommended by the conceirge who booked us a table. It was very bland meal in a dull restaurant and we discovered the next day that it was only a few hundred yards further to Chinatown with a number of interesting and highly reviewed restaurants. Secondly, the swimming pool in the hotel was an asset travelling with teenagers. It was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. The pool was fine but there was an extra charge per person of 10 euros for use every time of the sauna and steam room. This was a highly expensive extra and in my view unwarranted - a great pity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Hilarytravel,

Thank you for your review and for pointing out the fact that the previous bad comments are not a standard in our hotel. The unfortunate fact that these are also posted on Tripadvisor is made better to digest when reading your review afterwards.
Thank you for the compliments and for making us aware of the improvements points. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £166 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing