We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #138 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The overall experience was excellent. The hotel is very stylish and modern and the staff very helpful. It is conveniently located just opposit Amsterdam Centraal Train (rail) Station (which is 15 minutes fron Schipol Airport) and also a Tram Station. The location is very central which makes it easy to walk around Amsterdam centre. The rooms were cleaned daily and were generally in a very good condition. The beds were very relaxing. I would love to stay there again and would definitely reccomend it to people I know.

Room Tip: The rooms on the inside building must be quiter as they don't face the main road. But then you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Yiota K,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amasterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    1,327
    617
    254
    183
See reviews for
448
1,603
210
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked my reservation on hotels.com and based largely on mostly positive reviews and comments here on tripadvisor. We arrived into Central Station from Brussels one Sunday evening and rejoiced in the fact that all we had to do in order to check in was walk across the street; positively heavenly after a 3 hour train ride. The hotel is located right in the middle or should I say the top of the action as many attractions lead you South from the hotel entrance. We skipped the restaraunt services and I would suggest the same if part of your trip is to sample all the great foods Amsterdam has to offer. The Hotel from the street seems huge as it appears to have been several before a consolidation at some point. We were greeted with smiles and the check in process was speedy, efficient and got us into our room in no time at all. The room was small as expected for a European destination, who cares, you are there to explore the sites not the hotel room and was decorated nicely in a modern theme. The bathroom was clean and had an awesome shower with a turbo nozzle that made showering enjoyable plus the heated mirror made it possible to use it despite having used the shower. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have multiple English channels on the tv to fall asleep to; often that is not the case in European hotels in my experience. The concierge service was great, both gentleman that assisted us were pleasant and very helpful with good ideas on where to eat and what to see. Overall, I would suggest this hotel for any reason and would not hesitate to return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APP470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear APP470,

Thank you for your great review. Nice to read that you have enjoyed Amsterdam and that our hotel contributed in your positive experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when you visit Amsterdam again!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Travelling in Amsterdam for business and the location of this hotel opposite Centraal Station means it's very easy to get to, has all local transport types close by and has Amsterdam literally on your doorstep.

However, the quality of the hotel was very, very poor. The Spa/Pool was not open on the first day I arrived, TV and entertainment system did not work and the food in the restaurant was very poor. The staff appeared sorry for this, but juding by other reviews it is clear customer service is not high on the agenda. Very dissapointing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Neil R,

Thank you for your review. I am very dismayed to read that you encountered several points that did not meet your expectations. Your remarks concerning the food are shared with the restaurant manager and although a next visit does not rank high in your agenda, I hope that maybe for the future you mention the encountered issues with us immediately so we can act accordingly.
Our apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

What's Good?

Location only. Good things about the hotel: 1) The concierges are fabulous - pro active, hands on & make the hotel the success it is. They were wonderful. 2) Brasserie does a good range of value for money & delicious food. 3)The urban suite, we were eventually given, was lovely.

What's not so good?
1) Wrong room assignment After booking via booking.com I contacted the hotel direct to request an upgrade to the Urban Suite etc which was confirmed by email. Upon arrival - we were assigned one room - and told to come back in two hours to be given the key cards. I told them they were assigning the wrong room as I had upgraded to an Urban junior suite - They refused this - and told me I had originally booked a twin room and they had kindly upgraded it to a king double (twin beds to a king bed is an upgrade??). Upon returning after the 2 hours wait...we were assigned another room...despite my protests we were taken to the Victoria wing - and taken to an awful room! I immediately phoned reception & insisted there had been a mistake. Such a bad first impression of a hotel. 2) No early check in option We arrived at 10am - and had to wait for the full 2 hours to get to a room. 3) We were assigned 3 rooms in total (before we could settle in), 1 room upon arrival (which we never saw), another when we went back to collect the keys - and another when I complained it wasn't the room I had upgraded to and already paid for. The reception staff were reluctant to move us and I had to prove from a printed email - that I had a confirmed upgrade. It made me feel awful - as it was a birthday trip - and none of the careful pre arrangements had been carried out (e.g. birthday card, VIP treatment). 3) Reception staff were decidedly unfriendly & disbelieving to the point where we avoided the reception totally. 4) Hotel cards to door didnt work on several occasions - where we had been accidentally checked out several times (by the system??) before our booking was over (meaning the room hadn't been cleaned either). 5) Cleaning staff say 'House keeping...' and enter your room anyway (even if you call out to say you are there) ...we were caught in bed on several occasions (early in the morning)...felt our privacy was invaded and we were always listening for the door to open!
6) We were overcharged (on our credit card) and had already paid for the room via the hotel booking group before we arrived but were told we hadnt been charged and had to a room deposit - then had to pay again on departure - at a completely different rate.

We had to contact the hotel upon our return home and make a case for them to investigate their error and refund us the difference.

All in all - would not return here again...

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite...get everything in writing re your booking and price agreed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivecaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear VivecaSingapore,

Thank you for your review and the compliments in the beginning, to bad that these compliments are overshadowed by the negative points you have encountered during your stay. I am sorry that there was so much going on before the right room was allocated. All your comments are shared with the departments involved and also on behalf of them, our sincere apologies.
Although a return visit is not an option for you, I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I arrived today and was very happy to have the early checking ready. The room was very small, but not bad. However, I am here for 5 days on business and was going to just stay here the entire trip, but now I can't wait to leave. I paid for high speed wifi that is horrible and now I have been sitting at my dinner table for near 1.5 hours with no one saying anything to me. This is unacceptable service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmoondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Rabbitmoondancer,

Thank you for your comment. I am dismayed to read that the service is not meeting your expectations. Please contact the manager on duty or myself directly while you are still staying with us, so we can act accordingly instead of communicating via Tripadvisor.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here for one night in January. Stayed in a lovely room in the older part if the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful- couldn't fault it except the cooked items at breakfast were cold. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Lizbob77,

Thank you for sharing your review and compliments to our staff on Tripadvisor. Your comment regarding the cooked items on our breakfast buffet is forwarded to the Food & Beverage manager to take actions.Thank you for making us aware.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing