We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #132 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went on a business trip for one night only. I got a room (505) in the Urban wing thinking it might be a bit more up to date. The room was large, but veeeerrry dated. Windows towards another wing in the hotel, ie no view and dark. Not cozy at all. Bathroom 3.5, bed 3. Breakfast was ok, 3.5. I will not come back to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bjorn_Haman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,905)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,273 - 2,279 of 3,905 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

They lost my reservation. They ignored the papers I brought with me, which showed that I paid for room in full. Hotel was completely sold out. They kept me waiting almost two hours until they found my reservation. Then they gave me a room that smelled. There were not other rooms plus I was too tired to deal with any more issues. We had to air out the room every night to get rid of smell. Rooms were dated. Lobby, food and service were great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clacdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night/3 day break at this hotel. We were a bit concerned after so many different conflicting reviews, however we are glad we booked this hotel. Ideally situated for all public transport (which was excellent) and very frequent and value for money. The hotel itself was fab, all the staff were very helpful, breakfast was delicious and catered for everyone's desire's, we had an executive room on the 4th floor 409 over looking the canal and Central station, we found the room very large, clean and with an enormous comfortable bed. Would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 941TRACEYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated just in front of the amsterdam central station. The entrance is just what you expect clean and efficient - the front desk people were efficient and friendly - the room was clean, spacious and well designed. The breakfast was international with hot and cold + beverage (automatic machine but very good results)
If I have to find something wrong I will point out the price for the minibar (i.e 6,5 euro for a bottle of water)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_expert_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

booked this hotel as a surprise weekend break for my bfs birthday and it didnt disappoint. Staff were fab, friendly and approachable. hotel and rooms were beautiful and they gave us a free upgrade as it was my partners birthday! beds are amazingly comfortable, best couple of nights sleep ive had in a long time! only down fall i had was showers struggled to get to and stay and a warm enough temperature...
would still definatly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca_blundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose the hotel due to its proximity to the Centraal Station. It was our first time in the city, so we did not want to drag our suitcase too far. The hotel is just over 100m from the main exit of the station. Its location is also perfect for the trams, buses and canal cruises; they are just across the road.

We stayed in the older part, rather than the minimalist "urban" wing.

The hotel consists of 2 parts. The oldest I assume was built in the late 19th Century and the other during the 1970/80's. Each part has its own distinct flavour.
The reception area and breakfast restaurant are from the modern era. Whereas the main restaurant is themed for the older era.

Sadly I started off by being a guest that reception staff find hard to cope with; polite, logical but virtually find fault as soon as they arrive. Our receptionist was friendly and efficient, but probably thought "what were we going to find next". We booked a "Superior" room via an online agent. When we checked in and got to our room it was far from our definition of "Superior". Smallish, dark and overlooking a brick wall. When I telephoned reception I discovered from them that "their Superior" equals Standard in normal terms. I was then offered an upgrade at the bargain rate of E20 (normally E30) to a Executive room (nb. in some other European countries I have come across the tactic of being given a small room as a ruse to get guests to upgrade). Anyway, our upgrade room 427 was all but perfect apart from the guest safe not being anchored, you could lift it up and take it away.
So I called reception and was offered another Executive room on the third floor, directly below 427. I was allowed to check this other room, but discovered that it was 2/3 the size of room 427 and the room smelt of drains. On returning to reception it was agreed we stayed in 427, but maintenance would fix the safe the next day. The hotel kept their word.

Our air conditioned room had a king sized bed, writing desk, chest of draws and a large wardrobe. I would say our room was more of a junior suite as it also had a couch and 2 armchairs. The room had double glazed windows which were efficient enough to keep out most road noise, but once opened you discovered how noisy the outside environment was. We slept well each night.

Breakfast - the hotel provided an excellent buffet breakfast. This ranged from items from what I would call an "English Breakfast", to cold meat platters and smoked salmon. There was everything to give you a good start for the day.

Evening meal - the food was of a good quality, but I would recommend only eating there once. The food presentation tended to be "samey". We eat in the restaurant twice. For the first meal I had guinea fowl, served on a bed of mixed vegetables with a sweet / savoury jus garnished with crispy root vegetables. For the second meal I had a sirloin steak with fries and mushrooms with a sweet / savoury jus garnished with crispy root vegetables. Both dishes tasted similar. For the week we stayed the restaurant did not change its menu, neither did it offer a special dish for the day.

We had a good stay and would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor. Due to road noise and the possibility of the scent of drains...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrythePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £165 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing