We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #120 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is located opposite the central station where trains run every 10 minutes to the airport. It is also close to the hop on/off bus and boat tours and all other major attractions are within walking distance.
The hotel reception and bar areas appear to have been refurbished to give the hotel a more modern look and feel.
Our bedroom was fine and very quite. There was a full selection of English channels on the television. Hotel clients have use of the spa and indoor swimming pool facilities.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were particularly impressed with the concierge who seemed to know everything about Amsterdam.
We stayed on a room only basis as we did feel the cost of breakfast rather expensive and there are plenty of cafes to visit for a coffee and snack along the canals as you stroll around Amsterdam.
There are also an abundance and variety of restaurants close by for evening dining.
The hotel has a pleasant bar area and drinks were reasonably priced.
At the time of our stay the hotel was busy but the check in and out was very quick.
The only problem we had was the Wi-Fi signal was poor but I understand the hotel are taking steps to rectify this.
Overall a good quality hotel and would certainly use it again if in Amsterdam. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the front facing the busy main road could be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the GM at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

We appreciate you taking the time to review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is always very motivating to receive a positive note.It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,224 - 2,230 of 4,011 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very good location and great breakfast even though the bathroom was small it still has all facilities. For me would have liked that the bed side lamp will be near the bed on each side. The mattress was not that comfortable you can feel the springs. I recommend this hotel highly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank MaltaRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. I would love to hear which room number you stayed in so that we can check the matrass. If you have a chance to let me know, it would be much appreciated. My direct e-mail address is aadan@pphe.com. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Angelique on the from desk got us our room as soon as possible for an early check in. Our daughter was ill and we really appreciated the effort she made to get us a bed as soon as she did for us - exceptional service. The Urban Wing was beautiful and we were surprised at how much space was in the room. The lounge on the main floor was excellent - lovely cocktails and perfect service. Great restaurant recommendations from the concierge. We loved Santinis and the Van Steyk, appreciated the reservations they made for us. On the flip side,the internet service in the rooms was horrible, almost non existent. We tried to pay the extra 5 Euro to upgrade and it wasn't available. It would be nice if there was a fruit basket or vending machine where guests could get a snack in the middle of the night, as everything is closed then. We flew from Canada and our stomaches were jet lagged as well. Our bed was VERY firm. We like a firm bed but this was a bit much. A great hotel - just a bit busy for us, although in August I am sure this is hard to avoid. In the end we could tell your staff cared greatly about your guests - even during hectic peak season - and this is a very satisfying feeling, when there are so many hotels who don't.

Room Tip: Stay in the Urban Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FynnGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We appreciate you taking the time to review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is always very motivating to receive a positive note. We thank you for expressing your compliments to Angelique, which we already passed on to her. We definitely cherish employees such as her and are happy to work with her. Your comments are of great importance to all of us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve the standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated. Hopefully your daughter has revovered by now?

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is the best choice. For a stay in amsterdam as you are close to train station, tram, and boat tours.
You will avoid taxis staying here.
The breakfast is well presented and all very fresh.
Staff are caring and friendly. The concierge staff are great snd smiling.
But......
The old part of the hotel should be classified as a 3 star. We stayed in the urban side. Do not stay in a room with interleading door if you are without family staying in the other room....as you can hear every sinlge word from the door.
Carpets need to be cleaned.
In my opinion a good 3.5 star.

Room Tip: High up, 6 or 7th floor rooms with stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you for expressing your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are of great importance to all of us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve the standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

location of this hotel is biggest attraction.
Just in front amsterdam central station , this hotel has walking access to canal cruise, madame tussads and city square. Even Hop on Hop off bus stops in front of hotel. Hotel is old fashioned and room is not very spacious. However Bath rooms and amenities are adequate. Hotel was considerate enough to arrange a separate bed for my 8 year old boy. Breakfast was just about ok and there was no live counter. It came at 230 Euro price which is definitely on expensive side. Front office people were slow and little irritating. But the valet was a great gentleman and helped us with luggage etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mallik0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent stay. We have taken your remarks very seriously and we have discussed them with Department Heads to prevent re-occurrence. Your feedback allows us to improve our product and services offered and is therefore very much appreciated. We kindly inform you that our breakfast is served at €23 per person.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam or one of our affiliated hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We decided after looking at lots of other hotels in Amsterdam to stay at the Victoria for our 1st anniversary and what a brilliant choice it was.
We stayed for 3 nights and arrived late on the first day, we were given an upgrade to a suite at no extra charge, this obviously got our mini break off to a great start. The room was in the new modern side of the hotel and was spacious and had a fantastic view of the station.
We were in walking distance of everything but if you wanted to get the public transport it was all right on your door step.
The concierge were very helpful and gave us a map and directions to the Anne Frank house on the first morning of our stay.
Breakfast was included and didn't disappoint.
Overall I can't say a bad word about this hotel as we had a lovely anniversary made all the better by our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

We appreciate you taking the time to review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel August 1-4, 2014. It was very nice. No complaints. We had two adjoining rooms, double beds. The hotel is very conveniently located a short walk directly across from the central train station. The staff was courteous, helpful and very friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. What more could you ask for.

The decor of the rooms was very contemporary. I was exited by the upscale look and feel of the rooms. The location is great for exploring the rest of the city. There was an ATM located just outside the hotel. It was a very nice place to stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteAdan, PA to the General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bill, Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent stay. It is very good to hear you have enjoyed your stay and that you have appreciated the service given by our staff. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,547 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#90 of 373 in Amsterdam
851 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £139 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing