We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First Class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Brilliant hotel- has free bar, complimentary food, free mini bar, helpful staff, cooked while you watch breakfast,excellent location, free internet,
100% recommend it.
Not cheap at £240 a night but totally worth it

Will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,928
    443
    91
    35
    24
See reviews for
283
1,443
133
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Had a tremendous weekend in Amsterdam and one of the highlights was of course staying at Banks Mansion. From the minute we entered the doors we felt like home. Arrived late friday evening and were greeted with a smile from the staff in the reception. Checkin went smooth where we were informed of the free minibar, breakfast in the Kitchen, bar in the Living etc etc.

First night we stayed in a standard room that was surprisingly large (the rooms are individually sized so I guess we were lucky) and nice furnished. Very quiet (not facing the road/canals) so we slept like babies. :)

Next two nights we stayed in the suite, that was brilliant. Very large room, with separate sitting area. Huge kingsize-bed, coffee-machine, jacuzzi etc. Good view over the streets/canal, but therefore also a little bit noisy (especially saturday night), but not worse that one could fall asleep.

Breakfast was superb. Maybe not the biggest buffet Ive seen, but everything was fresh and the room had - as the whole hotel - a tranquil atmosphere. Far from some large hotel buffet-restaurants that sometimes have felt like a school-kitchen.

And we should not forget the lobby..called the Living. An excellent spot and somewhat the heart of the hotel where you could relax with a drink and a magazine before going out. During the whole day you could serve yourself a nice cup of coffee, a soda, juice or a cold beer. In the afternoon there was wine (red/white/rose/sparkling) and some cheese/salamis to enjoy.

All in all we couldnt ask for more. The only complaint I can come up with is that the floor in the bathroom was partially flooded when taking a shower with the nice rainshower..but that is really a very minor detail.

Yes, the hotel is at the expensive side..but the friendly service, the ambience and the extras really makes it worth every penny!
Would I stay here again? Absolutely! The sooner the better! :)
Would I then choose to stay in the suite again? No, I dont think so. Its really nice, but so was the normal room as well and as you dont spend that much time in the room I guess its not worth the extra money spent.

Room Tip: 312 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tono1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

For our one night in Amsterdam before our Tulip Time cruise, we picked Banks Mansion based on reviews here on Trip Advisor, and we were totally pleased with our selection. Friendly staff; nice lobby with free wine/beer/cappuccino/etc, newspapers, two PCs with free internet; free mini-bar in the room; free caraffes of whiskey, gin and cognac in the rooms; close to the tram lines (and they will give you an excellent map); nice free breakfast. When I added up the value of all the freebies, it made the Banks Mansion very competitive with the other hotels. We were told that if we called the hotel directly, they will equal or beat any other price (such as Expedia). When we go back to Amsterdam, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWR1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

It is not cheap to stay at the Banks Mansion but once you've paid, everything is included.
By everything, that doesn't just mean breakfast and some soft drinks, it means a huge breakfast with a very varied choice (and eggs cooked to order), the mini bar in your room (with 3 decanters of cognac, gin and whisky), wine, beer, soft drinks and juice, chocolates, snacks, a range of coffees, and more spirits by the bottle. There's even a cheese board later on and this was absolutely brilliant.
We first stayed at the Banks Mansion in 2008 for my 40th birthday and this was a return visit with friends who were new to Amsterdam. We were welcomed BY NAME when we arrived, a simple touch but started our stay off by being made to feel really welcome.
There was even a hand written note in our room to welcome us back.
The receptionist made sure our friends were well aware of "The Living", the area in the hotel where the drinks and snacks were available.
We received a phone call after a few minutes to make sure all was OK with our room (which it was)
The receptionist even made an excellent restaurant recommendation for our evening meal, one which we would never have found or even tried to find.
Our friends loved the hotel and have vowed to visit again. I am sure that we will go again too when we next visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC&JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam , highly recommend for people wanting a great location but a little away from the crowds. Staff very friendly and efficient. The "extras" are great : comfortable lobby with round the clock free service - coffee, wine and cheese bar etc, etc. Great place to relax in the evening after a busy day , opportunity to meet other guests or just read a book next to the fireplace! . We thought the rooms were of good size for amsterdam, very comfortable bed, pillows the best ( and you had a "menu" of options) . Bathroom was large, with a bath and shower ! Loved the style and feeling. Worth the expense , we got a good deal through shopping around the tripadvisor links .

Room Tip: Inside rooms are cheaper and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danTA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pac NW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Due to it's locaton, we were able to stop at the hotel in the middle of the day to drop stuff off, and because drinks/snacks were included in the price, had beer and cheese, crackers & salami after a long sightseeing day. Also able to purchase from the front desk all-day tram passes for the tram system, of which one line traveled right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Hotel, Very Comfortable & Room very cosy. Staff, outstanding. Perfect Location. Free Minibar, choose your ideal pillow from the pillow menu - You'll feel looked after here - will I stay here again, YES, 100%. Highly recommended. Go for it and enjoy !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEGA_MARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing