We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and beautiful hotel”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have just got back from a two night stay at the Banks Mansion and I have to say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The room was amazing - clean, spacious with views over the canal. We were worried about being in the centre of Amsterdam that the noise would keep us awake, but with the triple glazing we didn't hear a thing. We loved all the little extras in the room, the decanters with spirits in and a fully stocked mini bar all complimentary. Downstairs in the lounge area there was a help yourself bar which also provided food through out the day, again complimentary. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, and they were friendly and cheerful at all times. The breakfast was also wonderful with an extensive range of everything you could imagine and eggs etc cooked to order. We will definately stay there again, hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,127 - 2,133 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

my husband and i stayed here for 4 nights and we thought this hotel was awesome. the room is on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom big. location is perfect - we walked everywhere - museums, shopping.. the staff members were great - breakfast is also included as well as drinks in the hotel room and downstairs at the lobby are.. soda, water, alcohol.. will definitely stay at this hotel again. we totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudberkeleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

All the reviews I read about the Banks Mansion were positive and I understand why. The hotel was fantastic. The "concept" is unique in that they offer an open bar (which is well stocked with licquor, sodas, waters, etc.) that's in the lobby and that guests can access themselves without any charge. It's part of the hotel/room price. And it's available 24/7. Newspapers in both English and Dutch available for guests in the main lobby along with two computers which were for guests to access without any charge. Free wireless internet as well is available through out the hotel and rooms. Chairs and sofas with a fire place all in the main lobby. The rooms themselves are comfortable, clean, with flat screen TVs, and large bathrooms. Bed is comfortable. There was free bottles of cognac, whiskey,a dn other alcohol in your room that costs nothing extra. A mini bar is also fully stocked in your room and free of charge (part of your room rate). Comfortable robes and slippers. One minor problem. When we checked in, we paid in advance for a room with a view of the canal. We were given a nice room but no canal view (which cost extra). I mentioned this to the front desk, they saw my copy of the reservation, and they looked in their system. They saw the error and admitted it was there fault but no canal room was available. They offered a discount on the room which is what they should have done. They advised if I wanted ... to call the next morning and they would switch us to a canal room for the remainder of the stay. I took them up on that and called the next day. The hotel offered to give us a canal view in an upgraded room with extra perks in order to not have to offer a discount for the first night foul up. That was reasonable and I took them up on that offer. All in all ... mistakes happen and the hotel acknowledged it and did everything they should to rectify it without any attitude. Breakfast is served in the morning and offers a wide variety of food....again a plus. No fitness center or real restaurant in hotel, but the hotel was just such a great place that these negatives don't even rank against the hotel. One block walk to the flower market and two block walk to canal boat tours. Easy walk to train station, but don't walk it with luggage people ... pay for a cab. It's not that close to the train station and don't struggle on the cobblestone streets with the madness of bicycles and tons of people on the street. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything, but also in a good location in that the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam eases up at night near it so its not loud. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we arrived early at about 7am and it was great that they had a room avaliable for us without charging us extra. however the room was quite small. the room was pretty dark even with all the lights on. the room felt like it needed a lick of paint. however the bathroom was excellent. it is very big almost as big as the living quarters! big tub and a shower. floor tiles looked new with no cracks. bathroom looked new and very bright. such a contrast against the living area

breakfast, wifi and minibar were included. breakfast was ok. not a great selection with other breakfast deals we had before. wifi was speedy and worked unlike some other hotels we stayed in. minibar was good. nice selection of drinks including whisky and gin and tonic!

also in lobby you can have free drinks and snacks! looked very cosy and even had a fireplace!

staff were very friendly and helpful. during our 4 nights in holland we found the dutch people very friendly and helpful and have excellent english!

the location is a bit away from red light district and the dam. the dam is walkable or you can get the excellent tram service. just buy tickets on board and they give you change! the hotel is very close to the flower market and is nearer the van gogh museum. the hotel is in a quieter part of town. taxi from amsterdam central station to hotel cost 15euros but from hotel to rail station 9euros (weird)

without the breakfast, wifi, minibar and excellent staff we would give this a 3 as the living room was disappointing or average i guess. we were expecting a larger brighter living area especially after reading the positive reviews and staying in other 4 star hotels. however a good 4

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel was rated a 5 Star and deservedly so. Although the rooms were your basic hotel room the bed was extremely comfortable. You have the pillow choice available to you. The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly. The room rate has an 'all inclusive' package including a free mini bar. Don't get to excited the fridge was small and had only one beer, soft drinks and water, no wine but they did have 3 large decanters with Gin, Whiskey and I think the other was Brandy. That is if you are into that.
The foyer down stairs has a lounge which has an open bar at no cost. The only issue we had here was the fridge was not always re-stocked when getting low and the bar area was always messy. It needed someone to keep an eye out and keep it clean. The breakfast downstairs was sufficient to start your day. They do not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner but you can walk to many restuarants close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just returned home from a stay at this hotel and definitely want to stay there again if we return to Amsterdam. The staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly - always wanting to do their best for guests. Really nice room, fantastic concept of 'living' making the visit so relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast a real treat. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMR186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Banks Mansion is in a great location for discovering Amsterdam, making most of the city easily accessable by walking.
The lobby provided a great area to relax after seeing the city, good internet access with snacks and beverages included.
There were some signs of wear and tear in the room (carpet & footstool). I was not a fan of open decanter bottles of liquor in the room, I would not touch those.
Front desk staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are quieter than street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunninAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,111 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £177 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing