We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, loved it”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I'd stay here again any time.
Beautiful art deco hotel, with great staff (very friendly, willing to help)
Free use of iPad / internet in the hotel
Loved the 'full service' concept - all mini-bar and lounge bar drinks free, plus a delicious cheese trolley every evening
Breakfast included and was delicious - pancakes and syrup worth going back for!
Beautiful bathrooms with nice products, big bath, and drench shower

Only downside was the room was rather tiny, and had a very small window with no view.
Oh, and the lift makes a very scary noise!!

Room Tip: Canal side rooms would probably have a nice view, but cost more.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claire_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Good to see that you arrived safely back to Sydney. Banks Mansion is situated in one of the canal houses and marked as a historical building. The elevator is part of this history, but let me reinsure that the elevator is nothing to be worried about. The guest will always have the option to take the stairs. The rooms that the hotel offers are available in different sizes: from our Double Deluxe room up to the Suite.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,744)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Husband had business, so family tagged along. We got the corporate rate through the business colleagues, so that made it even better.

But specifically:
In looking for hotels in Amsterdam I saw many stories of horrible customer service by hotel desk staff. I was worried. I should not have been.

Other than telling me there was space in front of the hotel to unload our bags (I specifically called ahead and asked . . . "Sure," desk Dude said. "You can probably get a few minutes before the police chase you away." But there was not even room to double park.), the desk crew all went above and beyond the call of duty. Very, very helpful. Always cheerful. Always professional. Recommended a restaurant (and a good one, too--felt like we were locals). Showed me where the ice machine was. Explained how to park outside the city center and how to take the tram back.

Free minibar/snacks/ in the rooms and drinks in the lobby. As it should be.

Very nice breakfast with someone there to make to-order omelets or pancakes or French toast. (Note: a "Dutch" pancake is a crepe . . . I was expecting something like a popover.)

Great location for the walking tourist. We walked to Anne Frank's House, the Van Gogh museum, the Rijksmuseum . . . through the 9 Streets area. Tram stop right in front for easy tram-ing about town.

Husband was back in Amsterdam for work this week--stayed there again. I will definitely consider it on my next stay (unless we opt for a houseboat experience . . . but who wants to self-cater, really?)

Pillows were ample and good quality. And if you did not like them, there was a Pillow Menu!

Website said WiFi only in lobby, but this was not true--they recently changed to WiFi (free) throughout the hotel.

Again: this is what a hotel should be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheExpatresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. The location in the middle of the city centre is a big plus to Banks Mansion. Space in Amsterdam is important to a lot of people, consequence: less space to park a car in front of the hotel. To make this matter less of a problem we will be of complete service to help the guest with their luggage. Besides that the team of Banks Mansion is always willing to help with questions and suggestions. It is nice to see that you made good use of our full service concept. We hope that you are able to experience a houseboat, but of course we also wish to welcome you again as our returning guest.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Spent the new year at this hotel and was not dissapointed. It had everything you could need from friendly, attentive staff to superb facilities and lots of complementary stuff from a IPAD2 for use during our stay to drinks and snacks in your room or in the living area. The breakfast was great with as much as you could want to eat . Its location was ideal to explore the many delights of this lovely city.

Room Tip: It is nice to book a canal view room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review, secondly our best wishes for the new year. It is useful to Banks Mansion to receive remarks with experiences from the guests. To complete our concept even more we introduced the use of an Ipad2 during the stay of the guest. It is nice to see that you enjoyed this new gadget. We hope to welcome you again with maybe even more new gadgets to explore.


WIth kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, and there are a lot of nice amenities, including the finger food and drinks in the main lobby. We didn't have any problems in the hotel, although I didn't feel it was extremely exceptional either. The interior decorating of the hallways and rooms felt a little cheap, but that is really my main issue. Otherwise, I think it's a solid hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. As a hotel we are proud of our qualities like the full service concept, the location and the team of Banks Mansion. Every hotel will choose for a decoration style, the opinion for this particular style will be different for every person. We hope to welcome you again in the future so that we can do our best to give you that exceptional feeling that we try to achieve with every guest.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Very nice hotel with an exellent location in Amsterdam! Free minibar, free drinks and finger food in the lobby, nice, clean rooms, and a very helpful staff. What more do you need? :-)
A nice effect of the free drinks and food in the lobby is that its very social. People wind down in front of the fireplace, drink wine and share experiences and plans. Quickly you end up with new friends, having a ball in Amsterdam...:-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. These reviews are important to us. With these reviews we can compliment our team or place a note for the relevant department for improvement. It is enjoyable to see that the guests of Banks Mansion mix with one another. And especially nice when Banks Mansion is the cause of a new developed friendship. We hope to welcome you and your new made friends again to Banks Mansion, maybe as a reunion in the near future.. ;-).


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

If you like staying in a boutique hotel with fantastic personal service stay here! They offer an inclusive service which gives you complementary drinks and nibbles throughout the day with a complementary mini bar which is topped up daily - great if you fancy a coffee and liquour after being out all day or for a glass or two of wine before going out of an evening!
Breakfast was exceptional with a great choice of freshly cooked waffles or French toast.
The staff you couldn't fault, a credit to the charlton group. Personal touches which you don't get, even in many top hotels, like remembering your name as you left the hotel, wishing you an enjoyable evening at the restaurant we had reservations for - how do they remember!!
The only reason I haven't awarded 5 stars is that our room wasn't the best (312) - no view, small window, a leaking shower door which soaked the floor each time you used it and slightly crispy toilet tissue - not befitting of a quality hotel - change your provider Banks Mansion!!
Apart from those fussy points we would recommend any one to stay here, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. Secondly our thanks for the compliments to the qualities of the hotel. It is very important to the team of Banks Mansion to really get to know the guests and give them the service that they need and deserve. We will definitely keep your remarks in mind and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to award us with five stars after your next stay at Banks Mansion.


With kind regards

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel based on past reviews and what we wanted from our stay over Christmas. I can truly say that this was the best choice by far and was not disappointed! All the staff where very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was fantastic and was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and had a good selection of foods. The open bar was a fantastic and unique idea with lots of choice. Overall, very happy visit and will be coming back. Strongly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear guest,

We are very proud of all the comments that are written by the guests of Banks Mansion. Especially during Christmas time it is important to feel that Banks Mansion is your home away from home. We hope to welcome you again and try to achieve the exact same feeling that you felt during your last stay.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £181 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing