We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with things included!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel with things included!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Banks Mansion is a great hotel with helpful staff. It is located around the corner from Rembrandtplein, only few minutes away from the Van Gough Museum and within walking distances to all the major attractions in Amsterdam. The staff proved knowledgeable and helpful.

The complimentary snacks, coffee, and good range of drinks, both in the lobby and in your room, only add more value! Breakfast is excellent and also included in the price.

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear guest,

It is good to read that you have made good use of the location of Banks Mansion. Al major tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel.
Thank you for rating our breakfast as "excellent", my colleagues serving breakfast will be happy to read your review!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    454
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
292
1,492
137
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A wonderful Hotel. It is not just the 'full service' aspect that is great, everything is great ! Having free drinks, alcoholic, soft, tea, coffee etc is a marvellous idea, but it is not just this that makes this hotel excellent. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean, as are the bathrooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is tremendous. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We even had a great deal which made our stay even better. Go see for yourself, and enjoy.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room on the street, but considering we were in the centre of a major city the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soprano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear guest,

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Banks Mansion! Furthermore I like the fact that you have enjoyed the facilities offered by the hotel, but even more the service received from the staff! I will make sure that these wonderful words are passed on to my colleagues of the Banks Mansion Team!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We were a party of 5 split between two rooms when we visited Amsterdam in early fall. We had a nice stay at this hotel. We had all been traveling for a long time before we reached Banks Mansion so the ability to relax in the lobby before heading out for sightseeing or dinner was appreciated. We all enjoyed the snacks and drinks provided by the hotel. This was very refreshing after being "nickled and dimed" to death by some of the chain hotels we used. The rooms are on the small side by American standards but they were nicely furnished and well equipped. We did have one canal view room and it was fun to open the doors and watch the boats. We would stay here again and will try other hotels that are a part of this group.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OKFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here in early fall! It is heartwarming to read that you have made good use of the Living, the drinks and snacks offered there. With all tourist attractions within in walking distance of the hotel it is always very easy to drop in for a quick break!

We are looking forward to welcome you again here at Banks Mansion for your next visit.

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Myself and a good friend stayed at this stunning Hotel this last weekend ....& I'm now at home, suffering withdrawl symptoms ..this hotel is the one thing I will miss most from the entire journey !!! The staff were exceptional, the welcome we recieved was unforgetable ...from the smiling faces to the" pillow Menu", complimentary bath robes, Cheese / Tapas free buffet, the free bar and Liquers, the comfy chairs...I could go on and on....needless to say, in Arnie's words....I'll be back :)))))))

Room Tip: Even though we didn't pay for a canal view, we were on the road side corner with a three quarter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerB135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear guest,

It brings great joy to read that your stay here in Banks Mansion is one of the things you will miss most from your entire journey! I think it is great to read that your welcome has been unforgetable! A warm welcome is what the Banks Mansion Team strives for!

It is ofcourse our intention to give you such a warm welcome again if you choose to visit us again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This really is a lovely hotel, because it manages to pull off one of the most difficult tricks, which is to make its guests feel properly at home. I have stayed in nice hotels all over the world, and some of them have been a lot plusher and a lot more expensive, but the Banks Mansion still wins over them. All the staff really are superb. We were a group of 10 people, in Amsterdam for our Christmas party, and all of us noticed that nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The hotel location is excellent, and very central, on the edge of a pretty canal. The rooms are all very clean and well kitted out. The lounge bar on the ground floor is a brilliant touch, with complimentary drinks and snacks, with a lovely cheese trolley in the afternoon. The breakfast is excellent, with lots of choice. The hard-working lady on the omlette section is seriously busy, but is always smiling!

The Banks Mansion is a relaxed, but professional home from home. Thank you to Paul, Jacqueline, Kirstin and everyone else for making our stay so enjoyable. I will definitely stay here next time I’m in Amsterdam!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Geoff

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Geoff,

A very big smile appears on all faces of the Banks Mansion Team when such a review as yours is written! This is exactly what we strive for here at Banks Mansions. The biggest compliment that our guests can give is telling us that they have "felt properly at home"! In addition it is good to read that you have enjoyed all facilities offered by Banks Mansion!

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends in the near future!

Wit warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

By far, one of the most wonderful hotels I ever stay. Since the time of arrival the attention is very special. The personal is very helpful (one time they took us to the tranvia station). The location is wonderful, close to all the touristic areas and with a wonderful view. The breakfast was very nice and the amenities were very appropriate! The mini bar and the liquor (with cheese) choices were a nice complement from the hotel.
You will have a good time here. I would recommend this place for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueGomezLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear guest,

Here at Banks Mansion it is our goal to make each stay of our guests to be one to remember. Therefore we are very happy to see that you feel that you have received the right attention and that you have made good use of the ammenities offered in the hotel.

I am looking forward to welcome you again so you can enjoy the wonderful view from your room once more!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of November 2012, it's a brilliant hotel. The staff are very helpful, and its all the little touches that make it unique:
A coffee machine and decanters with alcohol in your room
Branded alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks in the lobby that you help yourself too whenever you wish
Nibbles at tea time again you just help yourself
Use of an iPad during yr stay free of charge to have in your room

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I next visit Amsterdam. Everything is within walking distance, yes it maybe a little more expensive than other hotels but worth every penny.

Breakfast is good, there's a nice selection of food, including pastries,eggs,sausages, bacon, cold meat, fresh breads, coffee, fruit juices, yoghurts.

The rooms are great we had a free upgrade as there was a problem with our room so we were put in a suite...what a shame! Absolutely super.

:0)

Room Tip: The suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Melly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear guest,

What a wonderful review which you have put here on Tripadvisor! It puts a smile on the faces of the Banks Mansion Team to read such a nice review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your free upgrade to the Suite and the location of the hotel! Amsterdam is a city to be best explored by foot.
We are looking forward to welcome you to Banks Mansion in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing