We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel in perfect location”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my daughter.Lovely room and bathroom.Great shower and separate bath.
Not a big spirit drinker so didn't avail of decanters in room.A few small bottles of wine would nice in the minibar as another option.Relaxing bar area with drinks was very welcome after a days sightseeing.
Breakfast was good,nice omelettes.
The hotel is in a good location in a nice area away from the rather tacky Dam square and close to several restaurants.
Memories of India just around the corner was fantastic with friendly staff.
All staff were pleasant and helpful.We really enjoyed our stay but it was quite expensive.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear guests,

How wonderful to read through your review! Thank you for that! It is good to read that you enjoyed our special concept, the “home, away from home” concept! With all its features, just to give you as a guest the feeling like you are at home; all the complementary drinks, as well in the room as in our Living, the cheese table, our live-cooking breakfast restaurant, free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel and the use of iPads!
How nice that you enjoyed one of the great restaurants in the proximity of our hotel. We are always more than happy to give you advice regarding your choice of diner locations.

We hope that we could welcome you again for a next visit at Banks Mansion!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,986
    454
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
292
1,490
137
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff of this hotel is super ! After a looong journey the hotel reception was very nice and helpful, Nicolet made it very easy. My room wasn't in the best location within the hotel, first floor right on the corner of the street, nice view but a bit noisy especially one night when there was some road repairs. The hotel room itself was good. I had the deluxe one and they did a nice setup within that ancient but well kept building. The hotel amenities were complete, especially with the little bar, free snacks and cheese in the late afternoon. The breakfast set up is the right way to start your day and the excellent staff will make you a super omelette. The hotel location is for me ideal, far enough from the noisy areas but close enough to quickly walk to key locations; from 2 mins (flower market to 35-40 min (Amsterdam centraal station). Also you can also easily reach the tram of boats. You are also close to different kind of restaurant from the fast food to the more expensive restaurants. Also there are all the types of stores very close from the souvenir ones to the pharmacy, grocery and shopping mall. Couple of main shopping streets are right next to the hotel too. I've been to one other hotel than this one in Amsterdam (2min from the Centraal station) and the Bank M was way better, for sure I'll come again on my next visit, maybe this year ?

Room Tip: The canal view could be a good idea but not required to enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear guest,

Only reading the heading of your review gives my colleagues and me a feeling like we have achieved a goal. We have made your stay one to remember! It is amazing that you have enjoyed all the features of our “home, away from home” concept; the complementary drinks, both in the room as in our Living, the use of iPads, Business Centre and the “Live-cooking” Breakfast restaurant! How great that you have enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to nice shops and the amazing hotspots of Amsterdam.

We will be looking forward to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel. Although not in the central area it was easy to get everywhere and staying on one of Amsterdam's lovely canals was a bonus! Close to a lot of great neighbourhoods for shopping, eating and just wandering. Also close to moat sites - I got to most places within a 15-20 minute walk. The rooms are smallish but really comfortable. The 'all inclusive' concept was wonderful - great breakfast, Internet and mini bar all in, so no nasty surprises at check out! The staff were also friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guests

We greatly appreciate the lovely review about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for all the compliments towards our staff and the many features of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept. It is nice to read that you also enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many of the great hotspots. Most museums are only a 10 minute walk away, so is the main square Dam square and the most known shopping street of the Netherlands, the Kalverstraat.

Again, great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to be welcoming you as our guest again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great hotel, great location. Staff are very polite and attentive. All inclusive concept of Ritz Carlton hotels is great. Very nice breakfast & adult beverage selections. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear guest,

How amazing only to read the heading of your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many of the aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept that enriches our hotel. Although I have to tell you that we are not part of Ritz Carlton, but we are part of the Carlton Hotel Collection, a family of hotel striving to create a ‘home, away from home’ feeling throughout the hotels. These hotels are located in The Netherlands, Belgium and the United Kingdom. Please let us know if we could assist you making a booking at one of our other hotels.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

excellent place. great location. added perks of free appetizers every afternoon in the lobby. free wine, beer and alcohol 24 hrs in lobby. wonderful cooked breakfast included. fabulous central location. truly added to our enjoyment of our stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the sincere and joyful review! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the complements about the wonderful breakfast. We are looking forward to your return at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

From the moment you lay your eyes on the wooden bicycles at the entrance you are charmed by this warm and quaint boutique hotel. The staff is remarkable and truly interested in making your stay a delight. We stayed at the end of March and my 11 year old daughter pointed out to Jacqueline at the front desk how enamored she was by tulips. She was afraid she wouldn't see any as it was quite a frigid March. To our absolute delight when we returned to our room that evening we found a lovely bouquet with a note. Jacqueline had taken the time to make sure our daughter did see tulips during her stay in Amsterdam.

Rooms are clean and comfortable offering the nice surprise of a night cap as you have 3 decanters with liquor in your room as well as a full mini bar with treats for you to enjoy at no additional charge. What a nice touch. We had friends staying nearby and our hotel became the meeting point before dinner and a nice place to enjoy the fireplace in the lobby while sipping an after dinner drink. Yummy Amaretto for me.

Breakfast was also plentiful and fresh, served in a cozy downstairs dining hall with a lovely attendant who prepared eggs to your liking along with a variety of breads and baked goods.

As others have mentioned the hotel is also very centrally located- we walked everywhere. Around the corner is the charming floating market, a 10 minute walk away from Dam Square, 10 minutes in the opposite direction you will find the Hermitage which now temporarily houses the Van Gogh Museum. The hotel is also next to a canal which adds to its romantic feel.

Absolute bliss and respite- great place for travelers who appreciate quality and details. Also wonderfully family friendly. Well done Banks Mansion- hope we get to return soon- loved the Netherlands and our stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Suite in the first floor it was roomy enough for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear guest and young guest,

Thank you for the great ‘ story’ about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is touching to read these kind of great words about our hotel and our staff. It is great to read that you enjoyed so many of the features of out ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept.

We will be looking forward yto welcome you again at Banks Mansion!\

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel lived up to our expectations after reading reviews and photographs in Tripadvisor.
My wife and I were there with our daughter and her husband celebrating her birthday. We were warmly welcomed by reception staff on our arrival with an introduction to all that the hotel has to offer. Our rooms overlooked the canal with a balcony window which would be ideal in warmer months. The first week of April was like the rest of Northern Europe rather cold, but the warm greetings by all the staff whenever we met more than made up for that. Information about Amsterdam and places to eat etc. was freely given in such a helpful friendly manner it would be easy to think that we were the first to ask these questions. The rooms and lounge area was very clean and comfortable, the staff clearing tables and restocking the bar in a very efficient manner.
To sum up a great place to stay and if this is your first visit to Amsterdam you will find the local people equalling welcoming everywhere you go, just watch out for the bikes they rule the road here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mullroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guests,

We are dazzled by your great review, thank you sincerely for taking the effort writing such great compliments about us! It is amazing that you have enjoyed all the great features of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the cozy Living room in Art Deco style, the complementary drinks, snacks and candies, the extensive breakfast, hi-speed wireless internet and the ability to use the iPads. We would also like to sinceley thank you for the great compliments towards all our staff, they appreciate this very much!

We hope we can welcome you again for another Total Hospitality experience at Banks Mansion. The next time hopefully with a little bit warmer weather!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing