We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We just checked in, but i must say everything has exceded our expectations. The staff could not be more accamodating. The location is perfect. The amenities included in the room price are on par with a five star hotel. Thrilled we chose the Banks Mansion

1  Thank jcmg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear thrilled guests,

We are delighted to hear that you already wrote a review just after checking in! Thank you for your great compliments regarding your exceeded expectations, the staff, all the amenities included in our ‘full service concept’ and for rating us a five star hotel!

We hope you have enjoyed the continuation of your stay, and we would be happy to be of your service once again!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,751)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

My first visit to Amsterdam and I ended up getting to stay in this amazing hotel with the canal right beside the hotel. So charming. The location is perfect. Totally central just around the corner from the floating flower market. You can easily walk to the major museums. Lots of cafe's within walking distance. The staff is excellent. Breakfast is included both cold and hot items. Also beer, pop, wine and hard liquor available in room and in the lobby at no charge :) coffee maker in the room for when you first wake up. Also appy's served in the lobby starting at 5pm. The hotel even has a DVD library that you can borrow from and watch in your room on the DVD player which is provided. The hotel is expensive but comparable to hotel prices in Europe and well worth the cost.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TJA-RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear enthusiastic guest,

What a wonderful review! You just made our day! This review totally explains our full-service concept; we are absolutely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all the aspects of it!

We are truly looking forward to your next stay at Banks Mansion.

With warm & kind regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it

The hotel is gorgeous, rooms are fantastic and the service is amazing.

All drinks are inclusive (which is a welcome addition)

I would love to stay here again, but it is a bit more pricey than our normal hotels for weekends away

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Honeymoon guests,

Just a few words made us smile from ear to ear! Thank you for this great short and snappy review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your honeymoon at Banks Mansion. We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future – maybe for an anniversary!

With warm regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Banks Mansion hotel is well located in the city canter at Herengracht. You can explore all the hot spots from there walking in no more than 20 minutes.
I is a corner building at a lively area with quite some traffic, but the windows are well isolated so the noise is not disturbing. The problem is to find a parking. Probably like anywhere else in Amsterdam parking is really an expensive issue. For one day you spend 45 € for parking in the street and it is the same on weekends. The hotel doesnt offer any reserved parking or any help.
Inside the hotel is charming, the lobby is equipped with comfy seating and a bar that is at self service and without extra payment and it offers all brands of liquors as well as wine and coffee and tee. No cheap junk as you would expect in a inclusive one but really good stuff. In the afternoon they offer a variation of cheeses and sausages with bread, a good starter before going out for dinner.
The service is friendly and fast. The rooms are absolutely 4 star, nothing to complain. Even the minibar is included and you find a plate with Gin, Whiskey and Cognac in your room, as well for free. we didnt even touch it, by the way...
One minus i the breakfast room in the basement which is for sure due to the small building sizes in Amsterdam. But this has been neutralized by the lady preparing any kind of eggs in the front cooking. It is really a pleasure to watch her cooking...and the result is gratd.

All in all a great place, a bit pricey but thats everywhere in Amsterdam...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher floor and possibly not towards the main street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very, very much for taking the time to write this review. It gives us happiness to read that you have enjoyed all the different features which are part of our full-service and “home-away-from-home” concept; the high quality brands liquors included. Parking in Amsterdam indeed is expensive, but we would be happy to order a less expensive ‘Valet Parking’ for you next time you will be in Amsterdam, or we can show you the P&R parking places just outside the city centre, where you can park your car for just a few euros, including a ticket for the public transport to come back to the centre. Thank you for the nice compliment for our ‘lady’ in the kitchen preparing your fresh eggs every day, we will share your kind words with her!

We hope to be of service to you again during a next visit! We are looking forward to it!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed in the same room as Regina F and would agree with majority of what she says. However the hotel may well have taken note of her comments about healthy breakfast options as there was a plentiful supply of muesli, yoghourt, fresh fruit salad and pieces of fruit. They also cook fresh omlettes, scrambled or fried eggs and french toast all of which is very tasty. The view over the Herengracht from our room was delightful especially as trees were shedding their blossom onto the canal. The hotel is situated on the so-called Golden section of the canals and they are indeed worth strolling along just to marvel at the different styles of houses. Look out for the old houses that lean forward to allow goods to be lifted to upper floors via the hooks at the top as the staircases are too narrow to use for this. The hotel is also literally a couple of minutes form Rembrandstplein with the wonderful sculptures in the middle and the flower market.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear guests,

It is very enjoyable to read that you really have experienced Amsterdam – you know about the Golden section of the Herengracht, the old houses with the hooks at the tops, you have seen the wonderful sculptures at the Rembrandt square – it gives us great joy to hear you have had such great time! And of course we are also delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We indeed listen to our guests, to get to know what they like about Banks Mansion, but also to hear what they would like to add to our service; we always are working on improvements!

Thanks again for your great review. We would be happy to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Banks Mansion's way of differentiating itself is what they call all-inclusive. What this actually means is no charge for Internet, a very full breakfast, mini-bar, coffee in the room or lobby, or drinks in the room or lobby. This includes wine, beer, and hard liquor. We have never seen this before, nothing even close in an urban, upscale boutique hotel. To put this in context, I worked most of my career in the resort industry and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels in dozens of countries. The lobby area is set up as a living room to encourage guests to hang out. A nice appetizer serving in the late afternoon reinforces the concept. All in all a great concept, more like a cruise than a hotel. The room was spacious and nicely finished. The bed and linens were comfy and top quality. The service standard was truly exceptional: the very hard to achieve combination of high efficiency with warmth and friendliness. My hat is off to the manager. Almost forgot to mention that the location is fabulous. It is on the most upscale Amsterdam canal within walking distance of major sites and tons of restaurants and shopping. All in all, you could spend a lot more and get a lot less in a hotel. Hard to imagine a better choice in Amsterdam. We spent five nights and it was not long enough.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank franklinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guests,

What an enormous treat to read you review. Nothing but positive notes on your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you very much for taking the effort of writing this. How great that you have enjoyed all the great features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept, which you have never experienced before in any of the hotels in the world you have worked for or stayed in.
How relaxing to read that you agree the beds and linen are comfortable and of top quality, for a perfect night sleep.
Overall a big ‘thank you’ from all the staff of Banks Mansion for all the great compliments toward them; we are delighted to hear that you believe we achieved in the combination of high efficiency with warmth and friendliness. These words make us love our jobs even more!

We are already looking forward to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a 5 nights stay at this hotel. Room was a bit small and was a deluxe room (#104) but had everything we needed. Despite being in a corner, we didn't have problems with noise. The all inclusive system was very pleasant and convenient. There is an ice machine in the floor which we used a lot to cold the beers. If you prefer, you can have other types of drinks, such as prosecco, wines, brandy, whisky, cokes.... either on the ground floor or in your own room. All drinks are freely served with choices of cheeses and other kind of apetizers. The front desk people are very nice and helpfull. The location is magnific, close to everything. The hotel is right in the middle of the Dam plein and Van Gogh Museum, so you can go to everywhere just walking. There is several trams very close to the hotel and a fantastic japanese restaurant crossing the street. The weak point is the breakfast. At least for brazilians, who are not used to eat bacon, mushroom, sausage, smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast, there are few healthy options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginaf693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Brazilian guests,

It is fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay so much and that you have written this fantastic review about it! Thank you for taking this effort. We are happy to have given you this great hospitality experience. It is also great that your enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many great restaurants, museums and many other world renown hotspots of Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed all the complementary drinks and appetizers in the Living, as well as in your canal view room. We hope you have enjoyed our daily fresh fruit for breakfast!

We are looking forward to be of service again during your next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With warm & kind regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,956 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £184 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing