We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great service great location”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel great service great location”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for anniversary weekend. Had room in 4th floor which overlooked the street and canal. Very quiet. Room was small but well appointed. Excellent bed and linens. Bathroom was fine and did the trick. Full service was a bonus and saved us some money! Breakfast was very good. Eggs bacon and sausages were well cooked and decent quality. Bar area in reception was comfortable especially by the fire. Only downside was there was no soap supplied the second day and there is a hardcore porn channel on the tv so parents take note! Also would have been nice to stock Dutch beer in the bar not German but I'm probably being picky!
Overall a great stay in a lovely hotel. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonSeagullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is good to read that you found it overall a great stay in a lovely hotel. Would thoroughly recommend!

Reading reviews like yours always makes us happy and proud.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,986
    454
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
292
1,490
137
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Very well priced hotel for such an excellent location. The linens are top notch and the mattresses are excellent for the business traveler looking to get some quality sleep. The Nespresso machine in each room is an excellent bonus as is the coffee machine downstairs that actually grinds the beans for you. Travelers staying over the weekend will definitely appreciate the open minibar downstairs ;-)
Pity that there's no gym, but you can't have everything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OrdMandrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We love to hear you found our hotel well located and well priced. It sounds like you are a coffee-enthousiast, so we are pleased to hear you have enjoyed the nespresso-machine and the freshly grinded coffee beans.

Altough we have no gym, we do cooperate with a closeby gymcentre. Maybe a good idea for a possible next stay?

Again thank you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in November and the staff was wonderfully helpful as well as cheerful in the midst of a rude guest (he was cursing at the staff person and a taxi driver as we walked into the lobby to check in) and later, a caller wanting a refund on a non-refundable reservation (get trip insurance, people!). The all-inclusive amenities were a welcome change from the usual nickel and diming of corporate hotels. It was also great to buy tickets to the museums at the hotel instead of standing in lines.

We stayed in 408. Because of the mansard roof, the wall near the window slants. The bed is very close to this slanted wall and I had to be very careful when getting in and out of bed. I only banged my head once so I'm thankful for that! Even though the room faced the commercial street (with a slight view of the canal) it was quiet.

We'd stay here again, but in a lower floor room with vertical walls! In retrospect we should have asked if one was available but it didn't occur to us at the time.

We were originally going to stay for 3 nights but found that we needed to leave before breakfast was served to get to the airport for our 10 am flight. As we made the change more than 24 hours ahead there was no charge and the staff was very understanding. They were even going to help me make the reservation at the airport hotel if need be.

Room Tip: Watch out for the 4th floor slanted walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is flattering to read that you found our staff wonderful, even in more difficult situations. This is always a challenge, but also something we value very much.
The advice to take a trip insurance when booking a non-refundable reservation is a useful tip. This is also something we always tell our guests, but not all of them take the advice.

Luckely you were able to cancel your reservations without any charges.

Again thank you for this review. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future (and in a room with vertical walls).

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel and could not fault it. The staff are brilliant, always ready to greet you and to help in whatever way you wish. As other reviewers have written, the complimentary drinks, snacks and cheese are a lovely way to start the evening. Stayed in room 12 on the ground floor - no views, but a great size, quiet and stylishly furnished. highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review. It is much appreciated.

Good to read you have enjoyed your birthday break in Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion. We are very fond on our complimentary drinks, snacks and cheeses, so we are pleased to hear that you found it a great way to start the evening.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Think this has to be one of the best hotels I have visited around the world ! Clean , homely , excellent service free drink n nibbles. Room excellent size and in a great location. Staff polite and attentive to your every need. Will defo be returning to this top class hotel !!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ripley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,

We are truly honored that you say Banks Mansion is one of the best hotels you have visited around the world. As a team this is of course what we work hard for.

It is also good to hear that you will return to our hotel, because we are more than happy to welcome you once again in the future. We are looking forward to your next visit!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

PS we loved you review so much, that we shared it on our Twitter (@banksmansion519)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay. Courteous staff. Plenty of available drinks and light snacks.
Breakfast reasonable. Very central.
Bedroom heating was a little hot requiring air con. in November. Opening the windows wasn't an option due to lively traffic.
However we would return.
Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a great hotel in Amsterdam. I particularly liked the location, the friendly welcome I received from reception, and the complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby bar. My room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfy. Breakfast and WiFi were apparently included in the price but I didn't have time to check either.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing