We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect !!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The hotel looks great inside and out. Wonderful staff, Lovely clean rooms. Free drinks in rooms and also drinks and snacks in the lobby plus free internet access. The breakfast is worth having, again staff are frienly and plenty of choice and all taste good. The hotel is based in a quiet part of city but still close to everything. plenty of resturants and bars about.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizzieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    457
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
295
1,520
137
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We just returned from a long weekend at the Banks Mansion and once again, the reviewers on Tripadvisor had it spot on. The location of the hotel is perfect and all the main spots within easy reach.

We were received very well by very professional receptionists, in fact the service throughout our stay was exceptionally well, especially in a city not renowned for the friendliness of the service in general.

We had a room on the first floor with canal view. The room was not particularly large and for our taste a little too crowded with furniture, but I guess for Amsterdam it was acceptable. We were however told that the street view rooms, though cheaper, were larger but decided not to bother. I think if I went back to the Banks Mansion, I would go for a larger and less expensive street view room. The bed was ok, aircondition was appreciated in the heat of the summer.

I agree with comments on the bathroom, nice but on the small side as well, the tabs were not user friendly.

The principle of including all side costs in the hotel price is attractive, the minibar was well equipped with drinks, the lobby bar came with an excellent coffee machine and snacks.

Breakfast selection was not enormous, but what was on offer was of excellent quality.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Outside Banks Mansion is a very classical building but well situated to visit Amsterdam. All main attractions can be reach even by foot even if i advice to rent a bike to get better fun. That was perfect .
Inside the reception is friendly with a desk, a open bar all long day, a saloon to met your friends or to take some rest, a corner with a fire and an other place with 2 PC for a free access to Internet. i appreciated to be able to look at my mails very easily.
My room (207) was nice too, enough large for 2 two people, well decorated, good bed, flat screen, open mini bar (all included), nice bathroom. All is clean and the stuff dont disturb your stay.
The breakfast was in the same way, well appreciated, you can be fat very quicky !!
All the stuff is young with good skills and like to help you if needed. A special thank to Nancy for her smile !
Just 2 remarks for me :
- TV device was a bit old (4/3 flat screen) and doesn t work very well, some issues to switch on and change the channel.
- there are 2 separeted taps in the bathroom for hot and cold water..good quality but it was uneasy to fine ajust the temperature especially because the tap for hot tap was in the wrong direction (turn left to stop water). it was made for purpose but not a good idea in fact because unusual.
As a conclusion Banks Mansion is a very good hotel as we should like to find everywhere in the world. Excellent in its category

  • Liked — all included - open bar in the room
  • Disliked — the tap in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fredo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut grove, ca
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We loved it! As stated in the other reviews cocktails and snacks were included. The only thing I did not care for was that we had no coffee maker in the room, but they had a great coffee machine in the lobby. We had a quiet room overlooking the canal.
The rooms were small by American standards but comfy. I loved the slippers, Japanese in style, darling.
We stayed at the Marriott the last trip to Amsterdam and were disappointed, but the Banks mansion was great! We would stay again in a heartbeat. Staff was attentive and breakfast was very good , consistent with much more expensive hotels.
The little restaurant across the street had great indonesian food and was good after a long flight from California.
We stayed for two nights before a cruise and will most likely stay
there again on our next trip over.

  • Liked — cozy, clean and comfy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gottogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

If you have a 5 star reservation in any hotel in amsterdam, cancel it! This is the place for you. Let's start with the staff. I was greeted by the front desk as if they knew me. Check in was quick. I was given a room key. Before being escorted to my room I was given a tour of the "Living area". This is where drinks and snacks are placed during the day for you to enjoy. It's free! I'm talkin' bottled water (gas or no gas), beer, soda, wine, champagne, juice and coffee. I was then shown to my room by a wonderful hostess who explained all the room goodies. Mini bar items. Free. beer, soda, fruit drinks and water. The bed was neat. A flat screen TV. DVD player. Movies are in the hotel video library. Free. Is this for real? I am then shown the bathroom. Wow! If you have traveled Europe, you know baths are not large. That is not true here. The Rain shower head was different along with a hand held body sprayer. The sink was modern and big. The towels big and fluffy. There are speakers in the bathroom cieling from the media center. I brought some cd's to play in the dvd player. It was nice to hear music in the bathroom insted of TV. My tour came to an end with my guide telling me about the great breakfast served every morning. Pastries, cereals, meats and made to order eggs and omlets. Free again.

Bed was great, breakfast outstanding (free newspapers). Hotel is on the 16 or 24 tram line. Get off after the floating flower market (fourth stop from central station. Go in oposite direction of tram. Half block, right hand side.

I would go on tours, museums and shopping, but I would always come back to hotel for water or a beer and a snack. Just to get off your feet in the Living area is worth the price.

Be sure to meet Kevin at the front desk, he knows just about everything concerning your stay in AMS.

I really should not be telling you all this stuff. The hotel could be sold out once word gets around about this great hotel. I have stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam, the Renaisance and the Golden tulip. This hotel beats them all.

  • Liked — all inclusive
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bbigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed in the hotel for 2 days in early April. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. Very friendly staff and the lounge area downstairs has free drinks and nibblies and free access to the Internet.

  • Liked — Lounge with free drinks and nibblies
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We were given a recommendation to the Banks Mansion by our hotel clerk in the Hague. The big plus was that every service within the hotel is free. There was a lovely breakfast, in the dedicated room downstairs, with station for omelets, pancakes, etc., delicious breads, cold meats, salmon. In the late afternoon, the cocktail hour offerings included wine, beer, soda and little snacks (nuts, olives, chips). There were also copies of many
international newspapers, which along with the food, insured that there was a friendly busy quality to the confortably appointed hotel lobby in the late afternoon. The internet was also free access, including two computer stations.
The entire hotel, which is small, a boutique hotel, four floors,
is decorated in the style of Frank Lloyd Wright's decorative stained glass, and geometric patterns. Many design details have been thoughtfully incorporated (an under sink night light in the bathroom, for example; lighted cabinets). The room rate was slightly higher than our normal budget (229 Euros per/night), but we found the extra offerings plus the desk hospitality and advice about the city well worth the higher rate. We were given a corner room which overlooked the street, with an oblique view toward the famous Herengracht canal. Great peaceful location! Given the many warnings about the difficulties of finding a good hotel in Amsterdam, this one was a quiet and comforting place to land at the end of much walking and museum visits in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The free breakfast and other services in the hotel and the location
  • Disliked — Hotel desk wanted to send us to expensive restaurants (which we resisted)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank downhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing