We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
1 review
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night city break. Cannot rave about this hotel enough.....amazing service, perfect location, brilliant staff, incredible experience. Would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!
The all inclusive set up is brilliant, iPads in lounge excellent and welcome from William was immense.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,

What an incredible review. To read that you have enjoyed Banks Mansion as much as you did, of course makes us proud.

The Banks Mansion experience is build around the location, the staff and the service given. Thank you for noticing this and enjoying it.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and the best available rate always visit our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,959
    448
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
289
1,469
134
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were little disappointed as we thought this would be very big one as it appeared in the photograph! However, we found nice room with a very good bathroom. Best part was excellent and very helpful staff. All drinks were free. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was centrally locates. What more could you expect? I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for something super luxurious!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biswajit-Calgary-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Banks Mansion is not that big in size, but we try to be big in other things :)

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our staff, free drinks and our extensive breakfast.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

For the best personal service and best available rate always check our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

A warm welcome awaits from the reception staff to the open fire in 'the living room'. We stayed for four days over the weekend at the end of January and beginning of February. During a phone call to verify a date, I mentioned that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary. Imagine our pleasure and delight to see that this conversation had been acted on when we entered our room! In the evening, wine and cheese and olives are served to guests which is a great aperitif moment before going out for dinner. On your return, there are liqueurs and coffee available to which you can help yourself. Should you prefer to go straight to your room, there is a Nespresso machine and decanters of spirits awaiting you. At reception, you can purchase tram tickets, canal tickets and for several of the museums. This is excellent since it can avoid queues. The hotel is situated on one of the main canals and on the tram route. Some of the more expensive rooms face directly onto the canal. This was an ideal hotel for our winter break.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the full Banks Mansion experience. This is our aim!

Again, thank you. We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate, please visit our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

It's been a few years since I visited this hotel (Christmas of 2006) but until now my husband and I still can't stop talking about what a wonderful time we had at the Banks Mansion. Although I'm sure many of the staff is gone from 2006, but they were all very kind and polite. They pointed us to some great recommendations for food. The room was ok and located on the lower level. It felt very dark and dingy but who spends much time in their rooms in Amsterdam? Also, you can just hang out in the lobby with the 24/7 free bar (wine, spirits, sodas and a cappuccino machine - which I LOVED). We were jet-lagged and it was our first international trip, and since we didn't know how to get over being jet-lagged we hung out in the lobby talking and reading by the fireplace and christmas tree while drinking either tea or espressos along with some wine until we got sleepy at night. The breakfast was also perfect and delicious. It had everything that you need. I loved the french toast. I would definitely return to this hotel when I get back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel_HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these kind words. Truly good to hear that the experience you had in 2006 is one that you will always remember.

We always try to make a stay at Banks Mansion a memorable one!

Again, thank you. We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate, please visit our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

my self and my partner stayed here for a long weekend and i have to say it was perfect the service from the staff was top marks from check in to the cook in the breakfast room you could not ask for more.William was so helpful telling us how to use the transport and where to eat..many thanks and i hope to visit you again ...i wish all places were like this

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We informed William and he was proud that he had made your stay even more enjoyable.

We try our best to find the best staff possible for Banks Mansion, so I am pleased to read that this is noticed by our guest.

Again, thank you. We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate, please visit our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was the most comfortable hotel that I have found in Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make your stay perfect. The cooked to order breakfast was great and I really appreciated the coffee machine and snack bar that was available 24/7. A great base for exploring Amsterdam and very close to everything. . The rooms were great with the pillow menu and the VERY comfortable bed. From now on, I will only stay here in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLunedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

What a honour that you found our hotel the perfect hotel in perfect location. With Banks Mansion in the city centre of Amsterdam it is a perfect resting place in the hustle and bustle of the city.

We hope to welcome you again soon. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to book direct via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We booked our 3 day trip based on a strong recommendation from a Dutch friend. How right he was. Everything is thought of, with the reception team all doing everything they can to help, especially, in our case, Willem. It may be a little more expensive, but it's worth every penny, just for all all the special touches.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review and thank you for listening to your Dutch friend.

We are very happy to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

For the best available rate and best personal service always book directly via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing