We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Location......10/10 (tram stops, many restaurants and sights closeby)
Efficiency and helpfulness of staff .......10/10 (polite, friendly and always smiley)
Facilities in bedrooms.......10/10 (free mini bar,decanters of spirits and a huge bowlful of sweets for my birthday!)
Hotel amenities.........10/10 (help yourself all day drinks and coffee bar and cheese trolley from 5pm)
Breakfast.......10/10 (everything fresh, plentiful and tasty)

To sum up, this is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. All the little extras made for a memorable stay. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and The Banks Mansion.........we shall return without doubt.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tubs168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

What a wonderful review! This was a joy to read.

We always like to welcome guests again, so thank you for indicating that you will return to the Banks Mansion.

For the best personal service and always the best price available, please visit our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,751)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Loved this hotel. Ideally situated for where we wanted to see. Free help ypurself bar in the lobby and in your room. Cheese and biscuits served at 5pm every day and little titbits put out all day. The beds....... to die for ...... most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on (If you would like to share where you got them I would love to buy some)
Thoroughly recommended. Staff were amazing too. Arrived at 10am for a 3pm check in. Room ready and straight in! Fantastic!

Room Tip: We has a room at the front overlooking the canal and whilst you could hear the trams the noise was f...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carriemac36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, Eigenaar at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for a lovely review! We truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to write this review.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future, for hopefully again a wonderful stay.

For the best personal service and always the best price available, please visit our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our second stay att Banks Mansion and we are satisfied. Banks Mansion have a very welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious.. We like the hotels "living room" where the included bar is located. we enjoyed a glass of wine with cheeses in the afternoon. We can highly recommend Banks Mansion

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gothenburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this excellent review. So good to read that you not only enjoyed the Banks Mansion once, but also for the second time! Of course we hope we can welcome you for a third time in the future.

For the best personal service and always the best price available, please visit our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our stay at the Banks Mansion in November was excellent, the room was perfect, the bed mattress gave me the best nights sleep I've ever had, (i forgot to ask the staff the make of them) and the staff could not have been anymore helpful.. It is in an ideal spot for the tourist, been close to the centre..we will definitely book again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

You can email us about the brand of the bed and pillows (desk @ banksmansion.nl) They will gladly help you to sleep at home as well as you did at the Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, eventhough you have the same bed at home then.

For the best personal service and always the best price available, please visit our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have to agree with many of the previous post here regarding the Banks Mansion. This was one of the best hotel stays that I have experienced in quite some time. From the moment that I arrived I knew I had chosen the correct hotel. The lady who was working the reception desk could not have been more helpful. In addition to explaining the hotel amenities, she also provided me with a lot of additional information, including a walking map and other assorted information concerning the Amsterdam area.

At check in, I was upgraded to a canal room view, which was beautiful. The room was nicely appointed and I lacked for nothing. As others have noted, the hotel's all inclusive approach was a pleasant difference from many other hotels that charge for a number of items.

I stayed here for four nights, and wished that I could have stayed longer. The staff, the food and beverages and the facility itself were all excellent. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unheededwarning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that the Banks Mansion did not let you down and that you even wished you could stay longer.

I wish we can welcome you again in the future for another great stay. For a possible future stay I advice you to always book via our own website for the best rate and personal service.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly, knowledgeable staff. The hotel is located in the ideal position to explore the sights of Amsterdam. Our room was extremely comfortable with a lovely view over the canal. There was even a choice of pillows, robes and a steam room! The free mini-bar was a lovely touch and we looked forward to the wine and cheese evening in the lobby every night. All in all we could not fault this hotel, great service, fantastic location and all at a very reasonable price. Other hotels should take note!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the0thermrsgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

Heartwarming to hear that you found the Banks Mansion truly a home away from home! That is our goal to achieve!

We hope we can welcome you again for another great stay. The best way to book is always via our own website.

Again, thank you

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Banks Mansion for three nights mid-week and would thoroughly recommend it.

The hotel is in an excellent location, right at the junction of the Herengracht and Vijzelstraat, just a few minutes’ walk from the very heart of Amsterdam. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel, which can be reached in just five minutes on a direct line from the main railway station (Amsterdam Centraal).

Getting to attractions further out of the city centre couldn’t be easier. The Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Heineken Experience and Artis zoo (to name but a few) are minutes away by tram.

The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and professional and the standard of the accommodation was very good. The hotel operates a ‘full service’ concept, which means that the minibar, lounge drinks, snacks and breakfast are all included in the nightly rate. This gives it a real home-from-home feel: sitting in front of the roaring fire enjoying drinks and local cheese from the mini buffet is the perfect way to unwind after a day of sightseeing or meetings.

The rooms are a good size, comfortable and well equipped. We stayed in a canal-view room and the large French doors opened wide to reveal a lovely view of the Herengracht and the mayor’s official residence. Our room was peaceful and relaxing.

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional and always happy to help. Beyond their efficiency with the usual administrative duties of check-in and so forth, they were happy to offer advice on restaurants, tickets for attractions and the local area.

We will most likely stay at this hotel when we next visit Amsterdam and would recommend it to anyone, no matter how long or short your stay.

Room Tip: When purchasing trams tickets, unless you’re going to use public transport a lot, ignore the daily p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDW-TKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this gem of a review.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the hotel with its great location and team!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. The best way to book is always via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,956 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £184 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing