We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Unlimited Alcohol - Cannot get better!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice clean hotel. Excellent location. Fantastic staff!

All drinks (both non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages) were totally free flowing - you have an help yourself open bar in the lobby, and 3 full decanters in your room! you also have free snacks in the room, plus free supper in the afternoon of cold meats and cheese cuts.
reception is also full of tablets and laptops free to use.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank in-na2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for indicating you would definitely return to the Banks Mansion.

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 2,822 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our second stay at this hotel and we are glad we returned. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for the guests; the hotel is very conveniently situated, near to the city centre and some very good restaurants. There is a friendly atmosphere helped by a well stocked, comfortable guest lounge. All drinks, snacks etc. are included in the price as is the mini-bar and decanters of spirits in the room. A good variety of breakfast choices with any variation of eggs cooked to order. Our room overlooked a canal with a "picture postcard" view of the beautiful houses along the banks. We fully intend to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shropshirelad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Two stays at the Banks Mansion and both were excellent. That is a great compliment.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and best available rate, please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from a short break with my wife. The Banks hotel was perfectly positioned for all sights, but also far enough away to get a restful nights sleep. It was about a 20 minute walk to the Anne Frank museum, 10 mins to Dam sq, 15 mins to De Pijp. Williem and Nancy on the front desk we're excellent, really welcoming. Free bar service worked well after a long day of sightseeing. We'd recommend one of the cycle tours and would certainly stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lifes_a_beach84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

The recommandation for a cycle tour we definetely share with you. All the highlights of Amsterdam are within walking distance of the hotel, but a bicyle ride to Amsterdam is a highlight on its own.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and the best available rate I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just completed an 7 night stay at this fine hotel. We went as a family of 4 and I can say that the staff here is like family. We were treated very, very well. The front desk staff was very patient and informative. They were eager to help you at any time. Willem and Jacqueline were fabulous as were the rest of the staff.

The room was perfect. The hotel was very well located. The breakfast was superior and fast and easy. The numerous snacks and little bonuses kept us well fed, happy and ready to explore this great city.

I am ready to go back asap..

Room Tip: Canal view was very nice. Take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We are honored to hear that after a 7 night stay the staff of Banks Mansion felt like family. The Banks Mansion hotel is supposed a home away from home, with the staff as a 'substitute family'.

We hope to welcome you soon again and indeed, it is always best to book directly via us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

In the case of this hotel, you not only get what you pay for, you get more than what you pay for. With a gracious staff, complimentary drinks of all kinds at all hours, late afternoon snacks, a full breakfast, comfortable rooms, and nice amenities, this hotel can't be beat. It's a little far from the museum area, but the streetcar is right outside the door. I've never stayed in another hotel that came even close to providing the comfort and service of the Banks Mansion. This is a perfect vacation hotel. A++++++

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, but I think some might face the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hblanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this very kind review. We found it a A++++++ review!

It is flattering to read that you never stayed in another hotel that came even close to providing the comfort and service of the Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very comfortable rooms in a convenient location for exploring Amsterdam. The buffet breakfast is superb with omlettes cooked to order but what really sets this place apart is the 'full service' offering of drinks and snacks all day long. How nice to come back to the hotel and help yourself to water, coffee and even alcoholic beverages. Added to this the friendly staff means we weould return if needing a hotel in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMCandFMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is much appreciated!

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at Banks Mansion for 3 nights at the beginning of April to celebrate my 50th birthday. It is situated in a brilliant central position close to all attractions, you can walk to all of them however as the weather was quite unpredictable we used the trams quite a lot, number 24 goes from virtually outside the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and well decorated, lovely shower too. Complimentary coffee and a mini bar all included. The staff are polite and helpful. At 4pm everyday the wine, beer and spirits are available to drink in the lounge area, wine is lovely not the usual stuff you get included in your price. Cheese and meat are available from 5pm, this is great if you want a quick snack before your evening meal. Breakfast is delicious, something for everyone and although I didn't have a cooked breakfast my other half assured me it was also delicious, freshly cooked while you wait. There are lots of lovely restaurants around catering for all tastes.

I would recommend a canal cruise and a visit to Anne Franke House.

All in all a great first time in Amsterdam, a lovely city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the ammenities and the staff.

We hope we can welcome you once again to enjoy the hotel and the city. For the best personal service and best available rate I can advise you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £173 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing