We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find!!”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband I just returned from an extended trip in Europe, and our night at Banks Mansion was a highlight! We wished we had more time, was this was just a resting spot after a Rhine River cruise. The staff was great - making us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. There are many nice touches: the 24 hour coffee and cocktail bar in the lobby, the cognac waiting for us in our room, in a crystal decanter, the lovely breakfast. Oh, and the MOST comfortable bed in all of Europe!! All of that, and a location hard to beat! Minutes from Rembrandt Square and the floating flower market; short walk to Central Station; longer but easy walk to Van Gogh Museum. We WILL be back to this Amsterdam gem!!!

Room Tip: We had an Executive/Canal View room. Couldn't have been happier!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and the best available rate, please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is undoubtedly a popular hotel given the other reviews - Did we miss something?

Let's start with the positives, yes the hotel is in a great location, the bed was comfortable, you get a menu of pillows to choose from, the curtains keep out a fair amount of light and of course there's the 'free' refreshments. The lounge/bar where you consume your free drinks is a cool contemporary place to chill out after a hard day of sight seeing and the access to ipads and free Wifi very useful in helping you find local restaurant reviews.

However, the 'unparalleled luxury' and 'boutique' nature of this alleged 4 star hotel was somewhat lacking, the rooms were tired with stained carpets and the breakfast basement room (serving average fodder) reminded me of a work's canteen in the early 90s.

The 'customer service' was lacklustre and full of empty platitudes. I'm a light sleeper, see below if you need the detail, and despite expressing obvious distress about noise at no point did any member of staff try to present a solution or demonstrate any concern. Now for me one of the main deal breakers for a hotel is the sleep quality and I've stayed in many city centre hotels in London (and in Amsterdam) where noise isn't an issue.

The rest of the review elaborates on the problems encountered and for those of you who think I'm just having a good moan there's no reason to read on. I can say that all the restaurants we visited whilst on this trip were great and I'll be writing positive reviews about them.

The Sleep/Service Issue:
I'd had reservations about booking a hotel close to a main road, but had read about the rooms being sound proofed and had opted for a canal view just to be sure - Well as the receptionist put it 'All the canal rooms are noisy'. So do bear that in mind before you part with your extra cash. We could have moved to a smaller room at the back (note, they didn’t actually offer to show us any other room and said we’d have to pay an extra 50 Euros to cover the house keeping costs involved in changing rooms. Clearly the complaint was an inconvenience to them and this was my first of 4 in our 5 day stay), but our room was already fairly small, though bigger than other canal view rooms (we managed to sneak views). I braved it out and actually got used to the traffic, Saturday night (our first night) being obviously quite raucous. The problem was that the hotel's ventilation system, that permanent bathroom fan noise (in the bedroom) then kept me awake and at the Banks Mansion it's one of those hotel wide systems that they have no individual control over, so they do that routine where first they pretend they don't know what it is - Is it your air conditioning? (it never is), then they say 'Well it was like that before and it's like that all the time' I even complained that the system was so strong in it's drying out capacity that breathing was difficult. Nothing - The point is dear reception people that you are supposed to do something about your guest's discomfort, not offer lame excuses repeatedly.

In short this hotel is over rated both in accounts of splendour and service, unless of course you're the kind of traveller who can be charmed by as many free glasses of alcohol that you can manage, then you'll love it.

Room Tip: All canal view rooms are noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ketts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Of course we like to read positive reviews better than negative ones, but it is unavoidably. From critical reviews we always try to learn.

Thank you for pointing out that when a guest has discomfort the key factor is to solve the problem. This is our policy and our staff is trained to listen to the guest and offer a reasonable solution. I do hope you can agree that when damage is done, a solution not always feels satisfying but fact is that the staff is doing their utmost best. The staff remembers this case and feels truly sorry that the offerd solutions (a new room in the back of the hotel) was not sufficient. They felt like they understood your discomfort and were more than willing to help.

We do hope that you do have enjoyed the wonderful city of Amsterdam and will one day return.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an enjoyable 3 night break . Very happy with my choice of Banks Mansion- the reviews were spot on.
As others have mentioned it was very relaxing to come back to the lounge for drinks and cheese after a day of sightseeing. The cheese selection was very good and it was lovely to have a glass of prosecco. The iPads were very useful too. Also after going out for dinner in the evening it was good to come back for coffee and a Baileys or amaretto.
All members of staff were very helpful, we mainly dealt with Willem and Felicia who was cheerful and enthusiastic.
One excellent feature for me as a lady who needs to straighten her hair was an English plug socket right next to the mirror so I didn't even need an adaptor!
Breakfast was the usual buffet fare but it was good to have eggs cooked to order.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

It is good to read that you found earlier reviews on Tripadvisor spot on and that you now have taken the time to share your own experiences with us and possible future guests of Banks Mansion. Thank you for that!

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Banks Mansion for two days prior to a river cruise. The staff there is helpful and nice. The breakfasts were good, the room clean. Wonderful atmosphere in the lobby and the open bar for drinks and soft drinks a very nice addition. My husband forgot his sport jacket at the hotel when we checked out for our cruise. The front desk bagged the jacket and put it in a taxi to our ship when we called. The jacket arrived safe and sound within a half an hour. Thank you Banks Mansion.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms face the canal but the rooms are small by US standards.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleM516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

Truly good to hear that your husbands sportjacket arrived safe and sound before you departed on the river cruise. We where of course glad to be of help. Hopefully you had a wonderful cruise.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Banks Mansion in April 2014. We found the position of the hotel to be excellent - we were in easy walking distance to the Rijksmuseum and Museum Plein as well as to Dam square. A tram stop a very short distance away gave us full access to the whole city too.

The staff, without exception, gave excellent service and at all times made us feel as if meeting our needs was the only important thing that they had to do at the time. My husband was ill for a short period and nothing was too much trouble for them. Whatever we asked for was provided to us. Their restaurant recommendations were also spot on to our requirements.

The service is all inclusive. This means that we were able to help ourselves to tea, coffee, soft drinks, spirits, biscuits, etc in the lounge at any time of the day or night. At 4pm they serve a selection of wines and champagne and at 5pm they bring a selection of meats, cheeses, olives, etc to accompany the wine tasting. This made us really feel as though we were in a private home rather than a hotel trying to extract as much money from its patrons as possible. All drinks, both soft and spirits in our room were included too.

The free wi-if all through the hotel was also most appreciated and breakfasts had a full range of options including omelettes, etc cooked to order.

Whilst the rates may appear on the higher side, once you factor in the extras, we found Banks Mansion to be excellent value and would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We requested a canal view room which was noisy, but not so terrible that we couldn't sleep. In...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKA-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review and for pointing out that the staff made the difference for you. We would love to everybody experience our service, so it is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed it so much.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I shared my great experience at Banks Mansion hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. It was so amazing. The hotel was old-fashioned, historic and classic with light paint and luxury design. My room was spacious, warm with first class furniture and beautiful view. Although the bathroom was designed by white ceramic, it looked cold and little bit scary, but it was acceptable and clean.The hotel were also friendly, helpful and pleasant. I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review. It is a great pleasure to read that you found your stay amazing and found it a great experience.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here in the second week of April 2014 with my wife and parents and had an extremely pleasurable stay
1) the rooms are fantastic, comfortable luxurious and well sized
2) the location of the hotel is perfect. Central and next to a beautiful canal
3) the lobby area withe the wine and cheese in the evening is a great place to hang out, relax and socialize
4) the breakfasts are fabulous..not the standard run of the mill cereal and breads.. But with an omelette station

And the most fantastic thing... The staff of the hotel... I cannot appreciate enough their efficiency, willingness to help and pleasant demeanor.
Each of the staff members went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable; whether it was anything we needed in the room, calling a taxi or helping plan our day activities. I could tell that the staff was truly committed to making the guests as comfortable as possible...and to top it all they're all very smart and efficient....

Jacqueline , Willem and Laura in particular were super helpful..have not come across better professionals than them...Thanks a lot for making our stay comfortable... I look forward to retuning some day...
Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

Wauw! “Look no further!!! It doesn't get any better” what a great way to start your review. We are honored.

We are also looking forward to your return in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £183 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing