We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost nirvana”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location is very central. Easy walking to all the main attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel adds little touches like free drinks in room, a free self-serve bar with snacks, coffee, soft drinks, beer and wine in the lobby. Free cheese and selection of sausages at tea time in the lobby. Several iPads to use in lobby. Breakfast is included, with omlette/pancake chef and excellent fresh breads, cheeses, fruit, and meats. Rooms are a little small but OK for a central historic hotel. No bath - we like a soak after a day walking, but no big deal really. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Deserves high Tripadvisor rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for writing all these kind words.

We are looking forward to welcome you again. To make sure you will receive the best available rate and best personal service please book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,822 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I to Amsterdam for business and stayed at the Banks Hotel. The location is great - right on the water. The hotel is clean but the sheets smelled of smoke. The staff was helpful and nice to deal with. They clearly try hard and want you to be happy. I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is good to read that you enjoyed staying at the Banks Mansion.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This beautifully run boutique hotel lived up to all it's publicity and reviews. After a warm welcome we were shown to a modern, well appointed room facing the canal. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the air conditioning worked perfectly. All consumables in the room, including wine and hard liquor, are on the house. In the lobby there is, also gratis, an extensive cheese offering at 5 pm as well as other drink and snack service throughout the day. Breakfast, also included, is ample and delicious. The staff was always ready to assist with dinner reservations, directions, and recommendations. To sum it up, this is about as good a small hotel as any we've enjoyed in many years of travel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this beautiful review. It is much appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you again at the Banks Mansion in the future.
For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We just completed our second stay at the Banks Mansion in Amsterdam (4 nights).

This hotel is just great! From the friendly staff, to the clean comfortable rooms, to the "living room' (aka lobby), to the fast Wifi, this hotel "gets it." The staff is very friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful. And the lobby is stocked with free wine, beer, coffee, soft drinks and juices.

We just love staying at this hotel, and look forward to a future return visit.

To everyone at the Banks Mansion: Thank you!!!

Room Tip: A great choice for Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your second stay at Banks Mansion.

We of course enjoy having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked the night before with booking.com and it had 1 available double room left so we booked it. On arrival we found out sadly that another couple had booked it at the same time. We were greeted by Willem who was very welcoming and told us the problem. The great thing was rather than being left disappointed the hotel had arranged for us to stay in the Albus hotel 3 doors away and had upgraded our room to a suite. We still could use all the facilities at the Banks Mansion and have breakfast there. The booking error was well handled and we had a lovely overnight stay. Willem catered for all our needs as did all the people at the Albus, there are many city hotels out there that could learn a lot from these teams they were all super.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We find it a great compliment that you experienced a inconvience solved properly. We have passed on the compliments to our neighbours.

We would love to welcome you in the future so that you can also experience a night in the Banks Mansion. For the best service and best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website or call the hotel.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This well located hotel is a few minutes walk from EVERYTHING you will wish to do. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom, dear me, a real shower that my six foot frame easily fits under. The people are wonderful, cheese and wine in the afternoon, drinks at bar included, snacks out and sleek iPads out to browse today's adventures. All around spectacular.

A few blocks from the Rijk and Museums, 8 minute walk to Anne Frank House, restaurants galore around the corner in the Rembrandt square, even a short walk to Ballet. Get here by walk or easier a short ride on tram 16 or 24 via tram stop A at central station.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LouisianaHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here three nights last week and needed to come back for one more night (tonight). When I checked out, I asked clearly and specifically if I could please reserve the EXACT same room and I was told absolutely yes.

I just checked in and the same woman I booked the room with said that my room was already taken and I'd have to accept a different room on a lower floor. She said it was exactly the same. Apparently she has never been in this room because it is very different. It is noisier and there is are no balcony doors. Same price. I honestly feel very tricked. If I wasn't so travel weary, I would check out of here this instant. For what I am paying, I think they could, and should, do much better than this. Such a shame. Look elsewhere if you are looking for reliability and integrity.

Room Tip: It's very noisy, so look for an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogaboy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

We find it very sadly to read this review. During the first three nights we had the feeling that you were enjoying your stay and that there was a relation between yourself and our staff.

Whe are a small hotel with only three executive rooms. This is why we can not promise the exact same room and this is something what should not happen.

Thank you for writing this review as it helps us to make our service even better. We hope that at the end you will look back on a nice stay in the great city of Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
839 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £174 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing