We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for exploring Amsterdam”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great option for exploring Amsterdam”
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Lovely hotel in great location in Amsterdam. We spent most days out and about and would drop in to the hotel for 'lunch/afternoon' tea from the complimentary all day open bar (drinks and snacks plus internet access) and head back out again all afternoon until pre-dinner drinks at the hotel bar again! So we probably saved a bit of money on lunches and cocktails and it was very nice to have a sense of feeling 'at home' in the hotel without having to put our hands into our pockets for everything. Rooms are a little squeezy but clean and tasteful. If you are going to Amsterdam, hiring a bicycle for the duration is a great idea as you can cover lots of ground and even head on out to their lovely countryside in no time. This is a very nice hotel if you want a very comfortable and convenient stay in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Complimentary open bar
  • Disliked — Rooms on the smallish side
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,990
    454
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
292
1,494
137
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Got a great deal - the all inclusive drinks package was amazing
Rooms very stylish - all art deco
Breakfast was good - made to order eggs and pancakes
location near flower market - bit of a walk into the city centre but ok once you figured out the trams

  • Liked — the free bar !
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxypinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I will start by saying I found it hard in general to find a nice room in Amsterdam from the information you can find on the internet; just didn’t seem like allot of options out there for how I like to roll. Ok here’s the beef nobody seems to be talking about on this Thread; the rooms are VERY SMALL, maybe one of the smallest rooms for the $ I have ever stayed in. This next grievance might not matter for everybody, but I really like to use the Internet in my room on my computer, and they have this bogus scratch off card racket to use the Internet wirelessly; otherwise you can use the free computers downstairs. Ok. Ok. The final negative thing I will say is if you are the type of person who might want to sleep in one day and dial up some room service; not happening, instead they have three options. Noodles, Ice Cream and Champagne. Really weird combo but did make me laugh hysterically for about a hour when I saw it.
The upsides are great location, free minibar and open bar in the lobby , as well as a good free breakfast. the staff was helpful and nice . Overall we had a great time in Amsterdam and really enjoyed this location if nothing else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nolarolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Tripadvisor strikes again! We booked this hotel because of the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. Its in a great location in a nice part of Amsterdam close to all the major sights. We had a canal view room which was nice, but maybe not worth the extra money - depends on how highly you value these things I suppose. The rooms are also not that big, as other reviewers have said, although I don't think this is uncommon for Amsterdam.

It was clean and the staff were always really friendly. The hotel has a free bar downstairs in the lobby where you can help yourself to free drinks - tea, coffee, alcohol, soft drinks - all day. There are also small snacks available depending on the time of day. It was a really nice touch and gave the place some life - sometimes hotel bars can be a bit desolate but this one always had a good atmosphere.

There are no extra charges for most things - including minibar and breakfast. The breakfast was really good - lots of choice and nice quality food.

Overall we were really happy with our stay and felt we had excellent value for money given everything that was included. We'd stay here again if we were back in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location and extras included in price
  • Disliked — The lift was very slow - but we can't really complain about that in such an old building
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echternach, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Very central, so easy to nip back and change clothes, when weather changes, oh have a free cuppa or beer - yes all drinks and free and can be consumed in very comfy surroundings, swamped with newspapers. Should you need to use the Internet, thats free too, perfect for pre-booking the Rijksmuseum visit (a useful tip recommended by the extremely curteous reception staff).

We were upgraded to a double with canal view on the 3rd floor but rejected it because on the tiny English double sized bed - at these prices!!!
We were offered a king size but with no view, just a ventilation shaft. This bed was excellent and we took advantage of the pillow menu; now thats luxury.

Will stay there again, the reception staff are a delight! The breakfasts excellent.

Car parking 6 euros a day at the Olympic stadium, with free tram ride back, number 16, must get your ticket stamped or pay full prices!!! see other parking options:

http://www.amsterdam.info/parking/park-ride/

  • Liked — Central, free drinks, friendly & efficient staff
  • Disliked — Tiny English size double beds
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Stayed there for three nights in September'08.

Had a room overlooking the canal, even though the room was located at 4th floor and the window was such a small one that you couldn't actually see the canal other than standing right next to the window. Room was not the biggest possible, but good enough for myself. Small LCD TV and DVD player included.

Room had a free minibar (incl. Beck's beer) & 3 free additional bottles of booze. Bar in the lobby also included in the room price. Nice :-)

Generally speaking everything in the hotel was in good shape and clean. Breakfast was quite good with a variety of offerings.

Housekeeping didn't bother me once despite sleeping very late and also otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Weather in late September was absolutely awful, rain rain and more rain. But there's nothing the hotel can do about it, I guess :-)

Location was fine, walking distance from center station (20min though not with any heavy luggage) and lots of trams going just by the hotel.

Not a pure 5 star super-über-luxury hotel as such, though. So don't expect that and you'll be fine.

Would I return there? Yes, absolutely.

  • Liked — Overall concept, incl. free bar
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about. OK, maybe the elevator could have been faster (very minor issue)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Yes, it was indeed a nice hotel. Drinks and snacks in the room and lobby were entirely complementary.

As the reviews said, it was a very pleasant hotel, with friendly staff always looking to help.

Room was clean, and well looked after. bed was comfortable, and I had a view of the canal, and veranda doors that opened to them. Very nice.

Very close to the city centre, a 5-10 minute walk.

A small LCD TV attached to the wall was nice, and the shower and toilet was good too. Good pressure, and large sink.

Really no complaints at all, as it was very good, and nothing bad can really be said about this place. Perhaps the price could have been too much, but it was booked by our clients so I can't comment on that.

Lobby was very nice and 2 computers were down there for internet connection. Dont know if there was wireless in the rooms. But was very nice in the lobby just to relaz and read the paper.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank markwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing