We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel, lots of local amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel, lots of local amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed two nights during mid July. We got a room on a higher floor overlooking the canal. The room was clean, comfortable with a French (Juliet) type balcony. A nice feature of the hotel is free drinks (including alcohol) along with cheese and other snacks at certain times.

Breakfast was superb - a large buffet with options for all.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you're a very light sleeper then perhaps a room on a higher floor (as with any city hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We would love to stay in contact with you. Hopefully you would like to like us on Facebook!
We are almost at 750 likes and at that moment we are planning on a beautiful give-away.

Hope to welcome you again in the future and to connect with you online.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,928
    443
    91
    35
    24
See reviews for
283
1,443
133
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Banks Mansion Hotel is situated next the canal and if you have the chance ask for a canal facing room. We had an inside facing one, but it did not affect our impression of the hotel or Amsterdam. Our room was on the smallish side with a large well equipped bathroom, which boasted a full sized bath as well as large separate shower. Everything was immaculately clean. Our bed was super comfy and the room boasted its own expresso machine as well as a good size TV. The minbar was free and there were decanters of whiskey and brandy which were replenished every day if necessary. Likewise the hotel has a free bar, which is open 24 hours, stocking any alcoholic or soft drink you require, including good quality wines. In the afternoon there is a great little spread consisting of pate, cheese etc. which is spread buffet style next to the fireplace.
The staff were excellent and made our stay memorable. They were courteous, helpful, efficient and above all down to earth and friendly. Very difficult to pick fault with this gem in Amsterdam. And by the way, if you have forgotten your IPad they have these available for your use in the bar area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GibraltarGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this great review. In my eyes it contains all the best parts of Banks Mansion. From its location in the centre of Amsterdam, the free amenities and unlimited service of our staff. Thank you for noticing this all.

We would love to stay in contact with you. Hopefully you would like to like us on Facebook!
We are almost at 750 likes and at that moment we are planning on a beautiful give-away.

Hope to welcome you again in the future and to connect with you online.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Very clean, close to everything. The staff were very pleasant, very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning to the hotel, we were greeted by Mariel and Albert, they were nice and cheerful, they informed us that the check in for the hotel is 3pm, they were very accommodating and they were able to give us our room at 11:00AM. If I ever go back to Amsterdam, I will only stay in this hotel, they also have very good quality breakfast. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to all Tripadvisor readers.

It is very good to read that you will always stay with us when returning to Amsterdam. To stay in touch with us maybe you want to connect with us on Facebook? Please like our page for all updates about the hotel and Amsterdam. We now have 700 likes and are planning on a give-away when we reacht 750!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband attended a conference in Amsterdam, and we find this hotel in Tripadvisor. I cant find a complain about it. The front desk is absolutly‎ amazing! They help you in any matter, restaurants, attractions, trams, taxis, etc. They show kindness in every situation. The breakfast is great!!!! The staff at the breakfast room is so nice....so helpful and the food is really good. The evening snacks with wine, is a great idea. Normally, we returned from sightseeing museums and the city and we are looking for a glass of wine and a little rest before dinner. So, at the lobby we find free wine, beers and evening snakcs with very nice cheeses, charcouterie and even more, one day, we found a terrific Tomate soup! :) . So, we go to the lobby and got relax!!!!!! At the end they were very kind to ask a shuttle to the airport. Banks Mansion is an expensive hotel (we got the 4 x 3 nights promotion) but service and quality is worth the money we have paid. The location is very good very near to Rembrandt Plase, and also we have a direct tram to VU University Amsterdam, where was the conference.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Wauw! What a wonderful review. This was a great pleasure to read.

We hope that we can welcome you and your husband again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service during booking I can advice you to always book via our own website. To reward loyal and direct booking customers we have a special discount code. Please use the discount code FEELHOME on our website and receive a 5% discount.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent hotel, very friendly and helpful staff.
The breakfast was OK but could do with a bit more choice.

One thing we did miss in the morning was tea in the room, there was only coffee available.

Overall this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Even before arriving the correspondence with the hotel regarding recommended restaurants and places to see was excellent. The hotel is deco inspired so sheer joy. Wonderful warm staff who couldn't do enough. Absolutely fabulous bed! Extra touches like the cheeseboard at five pm and the all inclusive facilities made this a fabulous stay. We walked the city for two days but couldn't wait to get back to our hotel! Thank you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Clare Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review on your stay.

Good to read that you have enjoyed the warm staff of our hotel. As the General Manager this of course makes me proud of my team.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service during booking and the best available rate (always!) I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Banks Mansion is pretty close to a perfect hotel. I’m a critical guy and I really can’t think of anything to complain about. My wife and I stayed here for five nights while attending a conference in Amsterdam and we encountered no problems in that time. The hotel is expensive but you really do get your money’s worth. The room rate includes all alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar as well decanters of cognac, whiskey, and gin. Wine and cheese is available in the lobby each evening and beer and other drinks are available throughout the day. The breakfast includes cooked to order eggs, pancakes, and French toast and a well-stocked buffet. One morning breakfast was accompanied by live music duet—something we had never experienced before as part of any hotel breakfast. We asked why and were told that it just seemed like a nice idea—and it was. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, and the hotel is within close walking distance to several cafes for lunch and more upscale restaurants for dinner. We’ve been to Amsterdam many times and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are truly honored that you found Banks Mansion by far the best hotel you have stayed in Amsterdam.

Banks Mansion always try to offer value for money. This is also why we have special deals on our website. Because we always reward direct bookings we offer a special discount code for when booking direct. Please visit our website and use the discount code FEELHOME.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing