We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel & Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

THE best hotel in Amsterdam! The location cannot be beat. It's central to the center of Amsterdam - museums, RLD, canal tours, Dam Square, Rembrandt Square, just to name a few. If it wasn't nearby, then you're only a short tram ride away (the stops were very close by). The hotel room and ammentities were very nice. Thoroughly enjoyed the drinks and cheese laid out nightly at 5 pm. The staff was attentive and answered all our questions. They even recommended a nice nearby Italian restaurant and arranged a reservation on short notice. The included breakfast was also greatly enjoyed - large variety even though it's a small hotel.
As many people have already said, the rooms on the canal side were quieter and had a nicer view. (I hope the mayor liked his view too! ;) )

The only bad side was that we didn't have more time to spend in Amsterdam. We would definitely stay at the Banks Mansion again.

Room Tip: Can't beat the rooms on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,

What a wonderful review, thank you!

Also truly thank you for recommending us to other travellers. To make sure everybody receives the best available rate the solution is simple: our own website!
Here you always find the best available rate and special offers you will not find on other websites.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    449
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
291
1,471
135
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just got back from a wonderful vacation in Amsterdam, due in large part to the fine accommodations and location of the Banks Mansion Hotel. Starting with the warm reception from those behind the front desk, to the fine breakfast, comfortable lodging and enjoyable wine and cheese in the afternoon, my stay at the Banks Mansion was 5 star. Getting around the Amsterdam was easy, as the hotel is perfectly located in the city. The banks Mansion would be my choice if I were to visit Amsterdam again. Steve Gershman

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this warm and wonderful review.

We would love to keep in touch with you via our Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach 750 and we are already at 723.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This review is very late in coming but we stayed here over the Kings Day weekend. What an amazing event to witness. It's like St Patricks Day on steroids! Anyway the staff were brilliant and contended well with a few complainers who didn't like the music and partying going on. The location is right on the canal and very central - hence on days like Kings Day you are going to be in the thick of it. Which suited us just fine! But hats off to the staff for the respectful way they handled everyone - they certainly had some interesting challenges (including a gentleman who had visited a coffee shop and now his wife was very concerned and suggesting calling an ambulance!!!)
Anyway the hotel is classic, the rooms a little small but well thought out and everything fitted in fine. Bed was very comfy and we enjoyed the 'all inclusive' aspect of the stay. Breakfast was great, the omelettes the best of my Europe trip!
The Rijks Museum is close by and requires at least half a day. Buy your Anne Franks Haus tickets on line if you can....

Room Tip: A view of the canal is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this superb and wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to read.

Kingsday is always a special day in Amsterdam and next to being great fun it is also always a challenge for a hotel with such a great location as us. Thank you for complimenting our staff.

By the way do you already like us on Facebook? On Facebook we try to share all inspiration we get from the city. We believe it is truly an added value for guest who stayed with us and for the ones who are planning a trip to Amsterdam. Next to that we are planning on a give-away when we reach 750 likes (we are now at 720).

We hope to welcome you again in the future and to meet you on Facebook.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXETER UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is already a favourite of Tripadvisor reporters - and deservedly so. It is well situated, well appointed and well run. The staff are exceptionally good, not just on arrival but throughout the stay - and of course we take it for granted that they all speak impeccable english. The only criticisms in various reviews seem to be (a) that the breakfasts are dull (b) that the rooms are small; (c) that the lounge/reception area is often full and (d) that the minibars are not better stocked. As to (a) there are an equal number of plaudits and for myself I have to say I have had very many worse hotel breakfasts, more often than not alas in the USA; as to (b) perhaps I was fortunate to have a spacious room with good views; as to (c) the free drinks, cheese, newspapers on offer in this area mean that it is inevitably popular and (d) is simply nitpicking since the wide choice of beverages downstairs more than compensates for the limitations upstairs. If I had a concern at all it would be that one opens a bedroom window at ones peril since the mosquitoes from the canal are vicious - but one can hardly blame the hotel for that!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor overlooking the canal seems the obvious choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review which describes everything that makes us a special hotel.

If I could add one thing it would be our special offers that we offer exclusively on our own website. This way you always have the best value for money.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and would love to connect with you on Facebook. This way you do not have to miss anything from Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey/Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I recently returned from a family vacation in Amsterdam. The five of us stayed in two adjacent rooms at the Banks Mansion. Our experience was uniformly positive and I doubt I will even look at another hotel when planning my next trip to Amsterdam.

Location: Very central on Herengracht at Vijzelgracht. 10 minutes walk to major museums, Jewish quarter, Nautical Museum, De Pijp. 15 minutes walk to Central Station. 20 minutes walk to Anne Frank House. In a week we never needed to use public transportation - we walked everywhere.

Physical plant: The property is immaculate. It appears recently renovated and has art nouveau touches that enhance the look and feel of the place without showing off. The hotel calls its lobby a "living room" and it really does emulate an apartment living room. It's not large and there is no conventional lobby bar, so this is a great use of public space. The guest rooms are generous in size, especially by European standards. The bathrooms are not large but are intelligently laid out. They would not look out of place in an apartment. Fixtures are high end and both towels and bath products are plentiful and of high quality. The decor of the rooms and baths is modern and tasteful. A/C blows as cold as you can stand. Although the hotel is a screaming bargain there are no cut corners to be found anywhere.

Amenities: The hotel is unique among city hotels I have visited (or even heard of) in that virtually everything is included in the room rate. Not just wi-fi and breakfast but in-room movies, snacks and drinks (including beer, wine and spirits) in the well stocked lobby and even the minibar. Each room even has glass decanters with Scotch, Gin and Cognac, which housekeeping tops up as needed. Breakfast is very good and includes an egg/pancake station as well as the usual breads, meats and cheeses. There is a Nespresso Pixie in every room.

Service: I was able to query availability by email and received a prompt response in excellent English. I had a further question and spoke with a manager on the phone. She not only addressed my concern, she emailed me screen caps of her reservation system to show that the problem was resolved. At the hotel, service was uniformly helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The morning of our departure one of the desk staff reminded us of the time window for our airport shuttle (it could leave 15 minutes before or after the time we booked). When we started to approach the end of the window he volunteered to call the shuttle company to make sure they were on their way.

Value: Unbelievable value. Our trip came together at the last minute and only a few hotels had two rooms available. Our choice came down to the Banks or the nearby Ambassade, which is another 4* that looked great and has a very responsive reservations team. However, the Ambassade's room rates were considerably higher than the Banks' and did not include breakfast (@ EUR 15 pp). No knock at all on the Ambassade, but I am very glad we chose the Banks.

Things to improve: The only thing I can think of is that it would be nice to have more than two Nespresso capsules in the room. I'm sure they would have provided more if I had asked but it would be great to have a few more on hand. If that sounds like a minor criticism, it is. This is a really excellent hotel.

Overall: Top marks in every category. The "full service" concept just makes a good hotel better. I don't see the point of a 5* hotel when traveling with my kids, but I can't imagine the additional star could greatly improve on what the Banks provides. I realize that standards are high in Amsterdam and that many hotels offer high quality property, service and amenities. Nevertheless, this was an outstanding hotel experience and an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street have larger windows than those in back. Street noise not an issue except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequent_flyer_ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I believe your review is a must read for everybody who is interested in staying at Banks Mansion.

We are a unique hotel and we offer a unique experience for everybody who wants to stay in Amsterdam and have a worry free time. I tought your review was perfect, but if I could one thing it would be our special offers on our own website exclusive. These deals even make a stay at Banks Mansion more beneficial.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. May you want to stay with us again always check our website for the best available rates and special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Esther the hotel manager - well done job by you....we got in at midday and had a room ready for us within 10 minutes.

the free drinks including alcohol and reasonable wine and spirits in the room and at the lobby in a great service, as is the great breakfast. Fantastic Wi Fi

the rooms are good clean and newly renovated in Art Deco style.

we would return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliment, but of course I could not have done it without my team!

We would love to stay in contact with you via our Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the lucky winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had a lovely stay at Banks Mansion in August 2014. They staff were very friendly and welcoming as soon as we arrived, and they were helpful with any queries we had re: where to eat, directions etc. The hotel itself was great, and the room was a decent size with a lovely bathroom. The bar area has a selection of guide books available, a computer and ipads for use. The cheese at 5 o'clock each evening was a nice touch and the breakfasts were great- especially the omelettes made to order. The hotel is in a great location by the canal, and within walking distance to bars and restaurants, and Dam Square. If I return to Amsterdam I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Lovely stay, Highly recommended! The title of you review is already a pleasure to read. Thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Did you know that we offer special-deals on our website and we always reward direct bookings. Please take a look on our website when you consider booking at us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing